The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Arizona/Stanford game last night. (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53333-arizona-stanford-game-last-night.html)

Jerry Blum Fri May 22, 2009 08:35am

Arizona/Stanford game last night.
 
Anyone watch the game see the play in I think the bottom of the 4th. Stanford had runners on 1st and 2nd and I think there was 0 outs. Ground ball hit to F3 batter-runner instead of running into tag stops then takes 2 small steps backward and is then tagged out. Batter is out and runners that advanced to 2nd and 3rd returned to original bases.

Is this an NCAA rule or is it an ASA rule? I had never heard of this before.

NCASAUmp Fri May 22, 2009 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry Blum (Post 603982)
Anyone watch the game see the play in I think the bottom of the 4th. Stanford had runners on 1st and 2nd and I think there was 0 outs. Ground ball hit to F3 batter-runner instead of running into tag stops then takes 2 small steps backward and is then tagged out. Batter is out and runners that advanced to 2nd and 3rd returned to original bases.

Is this an NCAA rule or is it an ASA rule? I had never heard of this before.

Didn't see it. I was calling games last night, but got to watch the game starting in the bottom of the 5th. Saw Stanford spank Arizona in the 5th with 6 runs. :cool:

Dakota Fri May 22, 2009 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry Blum (Post 603982)
Anyone watch the game see the play in I think the bottom of the 4th. Stanford had runners on 1st and 2nd and I think there was 0 outs. Ground ball hit to F3 batter-runner instead of running into tag stops then takes 2 small steps backward and is then tagged out. Batter is out and runners that advanced to 2nd and 3rd returned to original bases.

Is this an NCAA rule or is it an ASA rule? I had never heard of this before.

Well, it is certainly an ASA rule.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rule 8-2 The Batter-Runner is Out
H. When the batter-runner steps back toward home plate to avoid or delay a tag by a fielder.
EFFECT - Section 2D-H: The ball is dead and runner(s) must return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference.


Skahtboi Fri May 22, 2009 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 603986)
Well, it is certainly an ASA rule.


I think it is an everybody rule!

MNBlue Fri May 22, 2009 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry Blum (Post 603982)
Anyone watch the game see the play in I think the bottom of the 4th. Stanford had runners on 1st and 2nd and I think there was 0 outs. Ground ball hit to F3 batter-runner instead of running into tag stops then takes 2 small steps backward and is then tagged out. Batter is out and runners that advanced to 2nd and 3rd returned to original bases.

Is this an NCAA rule or is it an ASA rule? I had never heard of this before.

That was my friend Kevin Davis and he nailed it!

12.4 Batter-Runner Is Out
The batter-runner is out:
12.4.11 When she steps back toward home plate to avoid or delay a tag by a
fielder.
EFFECT—The ball is dead. Each runner must return to the last base
legally touched at the time of the pitch.

NCASAUmp Fri May 22, 2009 09:11am

So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.

MNBlue Fri May 22, 2009 09:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 603995)
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.

Once, a long time ago in a Men's SP league and was he loaded! Didn't even know I had called him out.

wadeintothem Fri May 22, 2009 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 603995)
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.

A couple of times at lower levels. I'm really suprised that it happended at such a high level. Thats a rec league move.

MNBlue Fri May 22, 2009 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem (Post 604001)
Thats a rec league move.

The talking heads thought she didn't know the rule. I was of the belief that she just reacted without thinking.

Didn't hurt the team in the end, but it wasn't the best time to pull a Chris Webber.

Skahtboi Fri May 22, 2009 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 603995)
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.

I have, more than a few times. But, as wade noted, rarely at the higher levels!

wadeintothem Fri May 22, 2009 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue (Post 604008)
The talking heads thought she didn't know the rule. I was of the belief that she just reacted without thinking.

Didn't hurt the team in the end, but it wasn't the best time to pull a Chris Webber.


I have no idea what pulling a Chris Webber is... :cool:

vcblue Fri May 22, 2009 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 604009)
I have, more than a few times. But, as wade noted, rarely at the higher levels!

It is what to UCLA out of the WS 5 or 6 years ago

Dakota Fri May 22, 2009 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem (Post 604010)
I have no idea what pulling a Chris Webber is... :cool:

ask.com / wiki challenged?

Quote:

On April 5, 1993, at Michigan's second consecutive NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Championship game, Webber infamously called a time-out with 11 seconds left in the game when his team, down 73-71, did not have any remaining, resulting in a technical foul that effectively clinched the game for North Carolina.

wadeintothem Fri May 22, 2009 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 604018)
ask.com / wiki challenged?

"Pulling a chris webber" did not bring that up on google :cool:

ncaaumpdj Fri May 22, 2009 11:28am

Kevin Davis is an amazing official!! And yes he did nail it!!
Runners return to the last base touched at the time of the pitch. So correct ruling was applied. Mark how did your regional go? And how is Ken doing?
DJ

MNBlue Fri May 22, 2009 11:34am

Since I'm kinda still in someone's doghouse, I don't get recommended for any regionals. I did, however, get the plate on the MIAC conference tourney final between St. Thomas and Gustavus.

Ken is doing a little better. They are trying to find a way to fly him home. I think they have a service that is going to help. Do you visit his caring bridge site?

ncaaumpdj Fri May 22, 2009 11:40am

I thought i saw your name on a regional list but i ve been wrong before. Congrats on your plate! All in due time the creator of the doghouse will be in his own...lol Whats the link to Kens site? Have not been there since i signed the guest book after the accident.

MNBlue Fri May 22, 2009 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ncaaumpdj (Post 604049)
I thought i saw your name on a regional list but i ve been wrong before. Congrats on your plate! All in due time the creator of the doghouse will be in his own...lol Whats the link to Kens site? Have not been there since i signed the guest book after the accident.

Exactly - I think the walls are already built. Just waiting for the sign above the opening.

CaringBridge / comicdude / Welcome

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 22, 2009 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry Blum (Post 603982)
Anyone watch the game see the play in I think the bottom of the 4th. Stanford had runners on 1st and 2nd and I think there was 0 outs. Ground ball hit to F3 batter-runner instead of running into tag stops then takes 2 small steps backward and is then tagged out. Batter is out and runners that advanced to 2nd and 3rd returned to original bases.

Is this an NCAA rule or is it an ASA rule? I had never heard of this before.

I saw it. Damn good call and you know when the talking heads get it right, even the 8 yo in the stands knew what happened. Everyone by the BR knew what happened. From the coach's reaction, I think he expected the BR to know better.

The talking heads, of course, couldn't leave it alone and analyzed the **** out of the play to the point of idiocy, but we should not be surprised by that.

I am a firm believer that every network should assign an asst. producer to every booth with a queue card for the announcers that simply states, "Shut the **** up!"

Welpe Fri May 22, 2009 12:22pm

Mike, admit it, you're secretly hoping that John Kruk will be on hand to provide color commentary again in this years WCWS. :D

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 22, 2009 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 604064)
Mike, admit it, you're secretly hoping that John Kruk will be on hand to provide color commentary again in this years WCWS. :D

The sad part is that even with his little ball-based analogies, he was still closer to the target then the softball "experts".

ronald Fri May 22, 2009 01:04pm

You could twitter them and tell them what you think. Imagine the talking heads getting 20-30 twitters about a play. They might learn something and share it with the public.

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 22, 2009 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 604084)
You could twitter them and tell them what you think. Imagine the talking heads getting 20-30 twitters about a play. They might learn something and share it with the public.

There are enough twits involved already, don't need to add to it.

NCASAUmp Fri May 22, 2009 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 604084)
You could twitter them and tell them what you think. Imagine the talking heads getting 20-30 twitters about a play. They might learn something and share it with the public.

What are their twitter names?

For anyone else on Twitter, I'm @macguyinnc.

Welpe Fri May 22, 2009 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 604084)
You could twitter them and tell them what you think. Imagine the talking heads getting 20-30 twitters about a play. They might learn something and share it with the public.

Heaven forbid they know the rules of the game they're being paid to discuss on TV. :(

NCASAUmp Fri May 22, 2009 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 604091)
Heaven forbid they know the rules of the game they're being paid to discuss on TV. :(

They're not paid to know the rules. They're there to fill up dead air with hot air.

azbigdawg Fri May 22, 2009 01:59pm

Great call...bonehead play....

Ive only enforced it in adult SP and 10u ASA.....

Like someone said..everyone over 8 knew it...just a bonehead move by the runner...

Skahtboi Fri May 22, 2009 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 604087)
What are their twitter names?

For anyone else on Twitter, I'm @macguyinnc.

I have never had a burning desire to be THAT connected!

NCASAUmp Fri May 22, 2009 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 604114)
I have never had a burning desire to be THAT connected!

I'm a geek. It's my job. :)

tcblue13 Fri May 22, 2009 05:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 604087)
What are their twitter names?

For anyone else on Twitter, I'm @macguyinnc.

@sandbflag

SC Ump Sat May 23, 2009 06:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 603988)
I think it is an everybody rule!

Not that it matters on this board, but I think it's an everybody SB rule, however, I seem to remember it is not the same in BB.

argodad Sat May 23, 2009 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 603995)
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.

Yes, in an ASA 16U qualifier. And I let R1 from 2B stay on 3rd, as she reached it before the step back. I sent R2 back to 1st (she was slow). OC questioned, but was fairly easily convinced.

BTW, the rule IS different in NCAA. College runners return to the bases occupied at TOP.

Dholloway1962 Sat May 23, 2009 07:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by argodad (Post 604252)
Yes, in an ASA 16U qualifier. And I let R1 from 2B stay on 3rd, as she reached it before the step back. I sent R2 back to 1st (she was slow). OC questioned, but was fairly easily convinced.

BTW, the rule IS different in NCAA. College runners return to the bases occupied at TOP.

ASA needs to change it to TOP, by allowing base at time she stepped back they still allow a benefit to it. Personally, I will always send them back to TOP. Yes a rule I will not enforce properly in ASA, shame on me.

IRISHMAFIA Sat May 23, 2009 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962 (Post 604297)
ASA needs to change it to TOP, by allowing base at time she stepped back they still allow a benefit to it. Personally, I will always send them back to TOP. Yes a rule I will not enforce properly in ASA, shame on me.

Why should ASA change it, because you disagree?

How about the NCAA changing it to where it has been for at least the past 73 years when the ball is put into play, at the time of the INT.

Skahtboi Sun May 24, 2009 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Ump (Post 604219)
Not that it matters on this board, but I think it's an everybody SB rule, however, I seem to remember it is not the same in BB.

And on a softball board I have absolutely no concern about a game that isn't being discussed.

Dholloway1962 Sun May 24, 2009 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 604309)
Why should ASA change it

Because I disagree is the best reason I can think of :cool: But another reason is that if you don't send them back to TOP there is really no realpenalty attached to it (other than BR being out, which she will be anyway).

Didn't mean to get you all riled up Irish! :D

IRISHMAFIA Sun May 24, 2009 07:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962 (Post 604373)
Because I disagree is the best reason I can think of :cool: But another reason is that if you don't send them back to TOP there is really no realpenalty attached to it (other than BR being out, which she will be anyway).

Didn't mean to get you all riled up Irish! :D

The penalty is an automatic out attained by the defense without actually executing a tag.

Just because the defense fields the batted ball doesn't mean the BR is automatically out. Why should the runners NOT be allowed to advance while the defense is attempting to execute the play?

This is a rule which exists merely for the purpose of protecting defense players from their own stupidity. The delay is a voluntary action by the defense just like a 2B chasing a runner forced to 2B back to 1B instead of just flipping the ball to F6. The only reason the BR is out and the runner isn't for this action is because s/he has no base to achieve safely at home plate.

So, why should the team not making the stupid moves be overly penalized for the opponent's ineptness?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1