The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Call at First (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53012-call-first.html)

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 29, 2009 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 598706)
Overrun means to run beyond or past. They don't have to stay on their feet but to be entitled to the overrunning exception they do have to run past the base.

Citations please.

Quote:

If they ran to 1st and stepped on it and fell forward, I'd go with what you're saying as well, though as written a runner tripping over 1st base is liable to be put out.
Where do you get this ****? Again, citations please.

Az.Ump Wed Apr 29, 2009 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 598703)
What is the average wing beat of an unladened swallow?

What do you mean? African or European?
Paul

SethPDX Wed Apr 29, 2009 03:02pm

Citation: Rule 3.14159-common sense-"When a runner falls off 1B because she was going around F3, who obstructed her, don't call her out."

Do you really think she meant to advance in the OP? Because if I see this, I will judge she did not.

wadeintothem Wed Apr 29, 2009 03:13pm

A runner tripping over falling over 1B is liable to be put out.....hmmm

Interesting.

The rule as to when a BR is liable to be put out is so very clear, I'm very suprised that this view is taken.

As the OP is written, I could probably agree with either call if you had your reasoning correct - but the reasoning or just bold face statements being pushed by some wants.

Boys and girls... even for the rule book challenged, there is a rules supplement for guidence.. RS 37



- They gotta make an attempt to advance

or

- LBR

Now if you want to call the runner out - please make a reasoning in accordance with the rules. Otherwise, the runner is safe. And as a side note, we could use a little less BS about wanting citations about things not being said and that are additionally and obviously not in the rule book.

bniu Wed Apr 29, 2009 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Badamk (Post 598612)
Batter/Runner hits the ball to second baseman. Throw to first is dropped by first baseman near the foul line in the path of the batter/runner. Batter/runner steps into fair territory around the first baseman tags the base and falls about three feet towards second base off of first base. First baseman turns and tags the runner off the bag.

The call?

as soon as the F3 loses control of the ball, she is in jeopardy of committing obstruction. I would call obstruction anyways and send the runner back to 1st. If the runner on her own initiative decides to run to 2nd, then I wave off the obstruction...

i once had obstruction on F4 on a runner sliding into 2nd, ball arrived a hair late. I signaled obstruction, the runner thought I was sending her to 3rd and just walked to 3rd and F4 just stood there watching the runner walk to 3rd!

wadeintothem Wed Apr 29, 2009 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bniu (Post 598729)
as soon as the F3 loses control of the ball, she is in jeopardy of committing obstruction. I would call obstruction anyways and send the runner back to 1st. If the runner on her own initiative decides to run to 2nd, then I wave off the obstruction...

i once had obstruction on F4 on a runner sliding into 2nd, ball arrived a hair late. I signaled obstruction, the runner thought I was sending her to 3rd and just walked to 3rd and F4 just stood there watching the runner walk to 3rd!

I actually had a coach protest a call this past weekend and stop my whole game while we waited for the UIC (who moved none to fast I'll tell you) because he contended that a runner "running on their own to 2nd" negates OBS. Because he is a self proclaimed rules expert (as affirmed by his crowd) I did let him know that I was a little irritated that we were wasting time with this useless protest. I was able to save some time by advising the other team of the pending result of the protest before the UIC was even there.

I'm hoping that some of you are here to partake in the abundance of actual rules knowledge available to you as a resource on this forum.

What part of "a runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed" (aside from a few very specific instances) is confusing you?

We'll try to help you out.

bkbjones Wed Apr 29, 2009 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 598643)
Why did she fall off?

Gravity stopped working for an instant in that one particular less than an iota's iota of the universe.

In case gravity WAS still working, and I was the uic/site coordinator for that particular field, we'd be placing her back on first base and let's play ball.

HugoTafurst Wed Apr 29, 2009 05:21pm

How young is Youngump?

Jes wondern

Tru_in_Blu Wed Apr 29, 2009 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 598746)
How young is Youngump?

Jes wondern

Perhaps not young at all. I thought it was Forrest's Asian offspring. :rolleyes:

youngump Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 598707)
being obstructed at first base negates any put out at first. but one could always try.

If you're responding to my post, I was suggesting a runner tripping on the base. The base can't be guilty of obstruction.

If you're responding to the general thread, I agree in principal. But by rule, obstruction before the runner reaches first affords no protection on the far side of the bag.
________
Prilosec Lawsuit

bniu Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem (Post 598733)
I actually had a coach protest a call this past weekend and stop my whole game while we waited for the UIC (who moved none to fast I'll tell you) because he contended that a runner "running on their own to 2nd" negates OBS. Because he is a self proclaimed rules expert (as affirmed by his crowd) I did let him know that I was a little irritated that we were wasting time with this useless protest. I was able to save some time by advising the other team of the pending result of the protest before the UIC was even there.

I'm hoping that some of you are here to partake in the abundance of actual rules knowledge available to you as a resource on this forum.

What part of "a runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed" (aside from a few very specific instances) is confusing you?

We'll try to help you out.


cuz she was obstructed between home and 1st. I treat it like F3 flipped her over even though she managed to physically come in contact with 1st base, I'm still protecting her until she has gained solid control of 1st base. If she wants to go for 2nd on her own, that's at her own peril. If the fielder tackles her between 1st and 2nd, i'll give her 2nd and eject the fielder.

youngump Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 598710)
Citations please.

Dictionary.com. Though I suspect about any dictionary will do it.

Where do you get this ****? Again, citations please.

The rule is clear as a bell. A runner tagged off a base is out, except that a runner overruning first base is not out.
________
Avandia Class Action Lawsuit

youngump Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem (Post 598722)
A runner tripping over falling over 1B is liable to be put out.....hmmm

Interesting.

The rule as to when a BR is liable to be put out is so very clear, I'm very suprised that this view is taken.

As the OP is written, I could probably agree with either call if you had your reasoning correct - but the reasoning or just bold face statements being pushed by some wants.

Boys and girls... even for the rule book challenged, there is a rules supplement for guidence.. RS 37



- They gotta make an attempt to advance

or

- LBR

Now if you want to call the runner out - please make a reasoning in accordance with the rules. Otherwise, the runner is safe. And as a side note, we could use a little less BS about wanting citations about things not being said and that are additionally and obviously not in the rule book.

RS 37 is about overrunning 1st base. If a runner doesn't overrun the base then nothing in that supplement applies. They are not entitled to the exception.
________
2SexyPussy live

youngump Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SethPDX (Post 598719)
Citation: Rule 3.14159-common sense-"When a runner falls off 1B because she was going around F3, who obstructed her, don't call her out."

Do you really think she meant to advance in the OP? Because if I see this, I will judge she did not.

I agree with your common sense approach. I think it matches the intent of the obstruction rule. It does not match either the intent or the wording of the overrunning rule. If it happened with no obstruction, the safe call would be totally unwarranted.
________
Laurell

wadeintothem Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 598820)
RS 37 is about overrunning 1st base. If a runner doesn't overrun the base then nothing in that supplement applies. They are not entitled to the exception.

Forget the OP and forget OBS for a second ---

So I'm clear - your contention is that a BR running to 1B who then trips over it and who lands on the other side of it, would not be considered overrunning first base and they are then eligible to be put out... (even with no attempt to advance - just merely based on the fact they tripped over 1b instead of staying on their feet).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1