![]() |
Scoring question
2 outs and a runner on third. Pitcher throws a strike 3 looking pitch, the catcher cannot hold onto the ball and the runner scores from 3rd. Runner advances to 1st.
How is that scored as an earned or unearned run? According to the explanation I got the dropped strike 3 should have been the end of the inning and an error charged to E2. It cannot be considered a wild pitch or passed ball due to the pitch being a strike 3 looking. The run should be considered unearned as well as any run after that because the inning should have been over. What are your thoughts on this? Thanks |
Quote:
;) |
? whats your post suppose to mean? I ask a serious question and I get this????????
|
It means...
Although there are a few umpires who give a flying crap about score keeping.. most do not. You would do better and be sure of the advice you are getting from a scorekeeping site or a fan site. Your question is for mommy's in straw hats, not umpires. The run scored robbing us of an well earned easy out. We can just hope it did not tie the game. |
Guys, guys... C'mon, let's not be rude here...
What ruleset are you asking about? |
LOL
"what ruleset" Thats a good one. |
Quote:
Someone at least throw an answer out there... |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
You need to understand this is an umpire board. As umpires, we really don't care how anything is scored. You may get an answer from someone who dips into that side of the pool, but, in general, many umpires just don't care. You may want to ask your question on a site/board that is more team-oriented. |
Quote:
If the ball should have been caught, it is a passed ball, and the run scored is unearned. If the pitch was one that missed the target, or bounced, so that it isn't really the catcher's fault, it is a wild pitch and an earned run. Answered only to close the thread, not because it belongs in an officials' site. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
That said, Quote:
|
First of all I am on official, I spend my time on the BB thread b/c that is the sport I officiate. I came on here b/c my DD is the pitcher and I needed an explanation, not a bunch of smart *** LL umpire cute remarks.
If this part of the forum has turned into a self gratification dear abby column, then maybe I should be going to the straw hat mommy. The question was posed as a serious question b/c it affects her ERA and she is wanting to go to college and pitch. There is a dispute in the ruling and I needed information from the experts. So unlike the Basketball thread I see that this SB thread is for basically rec league and LL umpires that think a smart *** answer is gonna make their buddies snicker. |
I am on official too. :rolleyes:
ROFL... this board cracks me up. |
Relax, archer... I think you just touched a button with a number of the umpires here by asking a question that clearly sounded like a parent asking for a clarification that impacted their DD.
You see, we get these questions all the time, and we hate getting dragged into a fight that's not ours. It's kind of like the mechanic (or, in my case, computer tech) who always gets asked "what's wrong with this?" In the end, we get dragged into it, and it kind of gets old. So take my apology for what it's worth, and take all of this with a grain of salt. We're not a bad bunch, really! :) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52am. |