The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Down one player (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/52460-down-one-player.html)

Rita C Sat Mar 21, 2009 03:55pm

Down one player
 
High School Rules

3-3-8 gives instructions of what to do when an offensive player reaches base and cannot continue and there are no available substitutes.

Then in (c) it says: When the half-inning ends and the team assumes a defensive position, refer to 4-3-1g.

I'm assuming that 4-3-1g allows the game to continue with 8 on defense, but there isn't anything specific.

Rita

bluezebra Sat Mar 21, 2009 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 590231)
High School Rules

3-3-8 gives instructions of what to do when an offensive player reaches base and cannot continue and there are no available substitutes.

Then in (c) it says: When the half-inning ends and the team assumes a defensive position, refer to 4-3-1g.

I'm assuming that 4-3-1g allows the game to continue with 8 on defense, but there isn't anything specific.

Rita

The game continues with eight (8) players on defense.

Bob

Chess Ref Sun Mar 22, 2009 07:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 590231)
High School Rules

3-3-8 gives instructions of what to do when an offensive player reaches base and cannot continue and there are no available substitutes.

Then in (c) it says: When the half-inning ends and the team assumes a defensive position, refer to 4-3-1g.

I'm assuming that 4-3-1g allows the game to continue with 8 on defense, but there isn't anything specific.

Rita

I actually had that on Friday. Somewhere I must have read that in a thread cause I nailed it. Last player, short-handed , all of it. I was impressed that the coach of the opposing team knew it too. :)

IRISHMAFIA Sun Mar 22, 2009 08:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 590231)
High School Rules

3-3-8 gives instructions of what to do when an offensive player reaches base and cannot continue and there are no available substitutes.

Then in (c) it says: When the half-inning ends and the team assumes a defensive position, refer to 4-3-1g.

I'm assuming that 4-3-1g allows the game to continue with 8 on defense, but there isn't anything specific.

Rita,

I am happy to see someone making an effort to understand different rules.

One thing you need to understand is that rarely does any one sentence/paragraph of a rule (in any book) stand alone. There is often a complimentary entry which supports and/or offers direction in regards to the situation created by the enforcement of the original rule in question.

In this case, it was a shorthanded rule (which allows teams to continue play with less than the required number of players) which allowed the team that was on offense at the time to continue with the game instead of forfeiting.

A shorthanded rule applies to the teams, not a specific portion of the game (offense or defense).

Rita C Sun Mar 22, 2009 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 590348)
Rita,

I am happy to see someone making an effort to understand different rules.

One thing you need to understand is that rarely does any one sentence/paragraph of a rule (in any book) stand alone. There is often a complimentary entry which supports and/or offers direction in regards to the situation created by the enforcement of the original rule in question.

In this case, it was a shorthanded rule (which allows teams to continue play with less than the required number of players) which allowed the team that was on offense at the time to continue with the game instead of forfeiting.

A shorthanded rule applies to the teams, not a specific portion of the game (offense or defense).

I've been an umpire for 10 years but am renewing my acquaintence with high school softball. Knowing that no rule stands alone, I will be coming here to ask questions because I have already found the softball index to be lacking. :rolleyes:

I wanted to make sure there wasn't more to the story.

Rita

NCASAUmp Sun Mar 22, 2009 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 590441)
I've been an umpire for 10 years but am renewing my acquaintence with high school softball. Knowing that no rule stands alone, I will be coming here to ask questions because I have already found the softball index to be lacking. :rolleyes:

I wanted to make sure there wasn't more to the story.

Rita

Well, you've definitely come to the right place!

Dakota Sun Mar 22, 2009 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 590457)
Well, you've definitely come to the right place!

Yeah, we'll add more to the story whether it should be there or not! :D

topper Mon Mar 23, 2009 12:52am

Does Fed allow a team to play shorthanded even after a player ejection? Got a call from a fellow official with this question and could not find mention of it in either the rule or case book. Told him I would check with the guys/gals on here. If it's indeed there, where is it?

JefferMC Mon Mar 23, 2009 07:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 590462)
Yeah, we'll add more to the story whether it should be there or not! :D

Ain't that the truth. :rolleyes:

Dakota Mon Mar 23, 2009 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by topper (Post 590568)
Does Fed allow a team to play shorthanded even after a player ejection? ...

Yes.

CecilOne Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by topper (Post 590568)
Does Fed allow a team to play shorthanded even after a player ejection? Got a call from a fellow official with this question and could not find mention of it in either the rule or case book. Told him I would check with the guys/gals on here. If it's indeed there, where is it?

It's one of those invisible rules, allowed because it is not prohibited.

topper Mon Mar 23, 2009 11:24am

Thanks. I will let him know. He will hate to hear it since he forfeited the game, with the offending team ahead by 4 in the bottom of the 6th no less. Unfortunately Texas HS does not have a protest procedure beyond checking the rule book on the field, which was not done in this case. Umpire sold it and coach bought it. One more unfortunate HS umpire story.

CecilOne Mon Mar 23, 2009 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 590441)
I've been an umpire for 10 years but am renewing my acquaintence with high school softball. Knowing that no rule stands alone, I will be coming here to ask questions because I have already found the softball index to be lacking. :rolleyes:

I wanted to make sure there wasn't more to the story.

Rita

Also try
NFHS Forum: Softball
if you want strictly HS rules. :cool:

Skahtboi Mon Mar 23, 2009 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by topper (Post 590692)
Unfortunately Texas HS does not have a protest procedure beyond checking the rule book on the field...

Au contraire The UIL has a system of protests that can be found on their website. Here is a short snippet:

"A participant school may protest an act or omission that is a violation of the Constitution and/or Contest Rules, but may not protest a contest judge’s, referee’s or other official’s decision."

It goes on to detail various types of protests and what steps are to be taken.

Skahtboi Mon Mar 23, 2009 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by topper (Post 590692)
Thanks. I will let him know. He will hate to hear it since he forfeited the game, with the offending team ahead by 4 in the bottom of the 6th no less. Unfortunately Texas HS does not have a protest procedure beyond checking the rule book on the field, which was not done in this case. Umpire sold it and coach bought it. One more unfortunate HS umpire story.

As a matter of fact, as an officer in the local association, I have already had to handle a protest this year!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1