The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Does the run score or is it a timming play? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/52192-does-run-score-timming-play.html)

CelticNHBlue Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:10pm

If memory serves me correctly, the NCAA issue came up due to it occurring a game (shocker).

But there was one small difference between the game situation and the original post. In the game, it was a game ending bases loaded walk where runners reached their base and began the game winning celebration by rounding thier bag and heading for home. A headsy defense tagged one of the runners prior to the run scoring and hence the question.

The NCAA interpretation started with this scenario, where the game is over when the run scores and whether or not the other runners were still in jeopardy. Agree or disagree, the NCAA determined that they did not want to interject themselves in this situation and, in their mind, over officiate the situation. Then, in lieu of consistency, they applied that to the op situation where the run still counts and the inning ending out is recorded.

marvin Wed Mar 11, 2009 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 587324)
Want to be picky? Where does it state anywhere that a player must run to 1B, 2B, 3B & home, in that order

In NFHS it is in rule 8-1-1 and 9-1-1.

In NCAA it is 12.29

SRW Wed Mar 11, 2009 02:36pm

Why is this hard to comprehend?

Pretend the colored base wasn't there. If the ball hit the corner of the white base or bounded over it, you'd call a fair ball, right? Why does it matter if there's some safety bag there? It doesn't.

Rulebook right, ballfield wrong. Don't let it be you.

rwest Wed Mar 11, 2009 02:39pm

He understands the rule....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW (Post 587401)
Why is this hard to comprehend?

Pretend the colored base wasn't there. If the ball hit the corner of the white base or bounded over it, you'd call a fair ball, right? Why does it matter if there's some safety bag there? It doesn't.

Rulebook right, ballfield wrong. Don't let it be you.

He is just saying that the rule book doesn't word it the way we all understand it and enforce it. He gets the rule. Just doesn't like the wording.

Skahtboi Wed Mar 11, 2009 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by marvin (Post 587389)
In NFHS it is in rule 8-1-1 and 9-1-1.

In NCAA it is 12.29

And if ASA would just add the words "in the order listed" to 5.5.A.1, they would have it covered as well. :D

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 11, 2009 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 587403)
And if ASA would just add the words "in the order listed" to 5.5.A.1, they would have it covered as well. :D

Yes, it is that simple. Apparently, it is believed that ASA umpires are intelligent enough to know better :cool:

WES_CT_UMP Wed Mar 11, 2009 05:40pm

This straight from the NCAA Umpires exam. Run scores.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1