The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NFHS Play (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/52055-nfhs-play.html)

AtlUmpSteve Wed Mar 04, 2009 08:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 585490)
ok, im sort of with ya.... BUT, how do i justify by rule calling the trail runner out for being on the bag that she legally obtained? when by rule the lead runner has not actually obtained third but home by judgment and error by the defense?
( i am not awarding her home, i am giving her home that she would have legally obtained had the OBS not occurred)

When we see (and call) the OBS, we are judging where the obstructed runner should be protected. At the same time, we also have to be mindful of other runners at the time of OBS, and of subsequent play.

So, if you are telling us that at the time of OBS, you say to yourself "lead runner scores, trail runner gets third", then your preferred ruling is justified, since NOT reaching third safely is the result of the OBS. But, and I think this is what many of us are visualizing, if trail only gets to third because of the rundown occupying the defense, then trail isn't entitled to be dragged into the award, and if put out during live play there, then the out should stand.

Remember, you are trying to say trail legally aquired third, but that isn't correct; trail isn't entitled to third if lead hasn't already touched the next base, and when lead returns, trail is in jeopardy.

Might be a tough sell, but that's the way the rule is to be applied.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 04, 2009 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 585490)
ok, im sort of with ya.... BUT, how do i justify by rule calling the trail runner out for being on the bag that she legally obtained?

As I said, other rules are not suspended. The ball is still live and you have two active runners. The rule clearly states the trail runner would be out in this situation. The lead runner ALWAYS owns a base until they have been retired or forced by a trailing runner.

Quote:

when by rule the lead runner has not actually obtained third but home by judgment and error by the defense?
( i am not awarding her home, i am giving her home that she would have legally obtained had the OBS not occurred)
It is an award (and to the best of my knowledge, cannot be effected until the ball is killed), she is still a live runner and subject to being retired between 3B & Home if there is a subsequent rule violation.

I'll stick with a DMR, go get your glove.

CajunNewBlue Thu Mar 05, 2009 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 585523)
As I said, other rules are not suspended. The ball is still live and you have two active runners. The rule clearly states the trail runner would be out in this situation. The lead runner ALWAYS owns a base until they have been retired or forced by a trailing runner.



It is an award (and to the best of my knowledge, cannot be effected until the ball is killed), she is still a live runner and subject to being retired between 3B & Home if there is a subsequent rule violation.

I'll stick with a DMR, go get your glove.

good food for thought.. .thanks you guys.

CecilOne Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 585521)
Remember, you are trying to say trail legally aquired third, but that isn't correct; trail isn't entitled to third if lead hasn't already touched the next base, and when lead returns, trail is in jeopardy.

I think this is the key, 3rd belongs to the lead runner until reaching home and that did not occur until after the tag of the trail runner.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1