The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NFHS Play (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/52055-nfhs-play.html)

FredFan7 Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:50am

NFHS Play
 
Newer umpire here. Here's the play, NFHS Rules please.

Two outs, runner on second. Batter hits a line drive to the outfield. Runner from second is obstructed by the third baseman. The runner is caught in a rundown between third and home. Runner dives back safely into third. Then batter is tagged out sliding into third for the third out. So you have the obstructed runner safe at third, and the batter out at third.

The umpire deems that the original runner who was obstructed would have made it home.

What happens next?

CajunNewBlue Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FredFan7 (Post 585338)
Newer umpire here. Here's the play, NFHS Rules please.

Two outs, runner on second. Batter hits a line drive to the outfield. Runner from second is obstructed by the third baseman. The runner is caught in a rundown between third and home. Runner dives back safely into third. Then batter is tagged out sliding into third for the third out. So you have the obstructed runner safe at third, and the batter out at third.

The umpire deems that the original runner who was obstructed would have made it home.

What happens next?

Time is called... award OB'd runner home, count the run (provided that she would have made it home before the third out "timed play") and call runner out at third out for the 3rd out... and change sides.

Dakota Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 585345)
... and change sides.

Well, you missed a step. The conversation with the DC.

CajunNewBlue Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 585351)
Well, you missed a step. The conversation with the DC.

lol..true. but my coaches know better than that ... ok im my dreams, but it could happen. :rolleyes:

tcblue13 Wed Mar 04, 2009 01:10pm

Ahh but the obs led to the rundown which led the BR to believe that she could make it to third. No obs on the play and you may not get a throw home to initiate the rundown and BR might have just stopped at 2B

CajunNewBlue Wed Mar 04, 2009 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13 (Post 585379)
Ahh but the obs led to the rundown which led the BR to believe that she could make it to third. No obs on the play and you may not get a throw home to initiate the rundown and BR might have just stopped at 2B

cannot guess that. at least im not. I only judge them on their actions. (personally i would think it was kind of stupid for the BR to force two players into one base, especially with the ball being right there.) but thats just me.

tcblue13 Wed Mar 04, 2009 01:19pm

I am not saying that's how I would call it. Just chucking something out there to think about. OC probably figured that with the ball tied up in the rundown she could make it and by some stroke of luck (or an OBS call) the run would score.

Something else - The OP says that the BR was tagged out sliding into third. What if she would have reached safely then F5 tagged her on the base since R1 was entitled to the base. Then you call dead ball and award the OBS but what about Naomi on third base? Is she still the third out?

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 04, 2009 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13 (Post 585379)
Ahh but the obs led to the rundown which led the BR to believe that she could make it to third. No obs on the play and you may not get a throw home to initiate the rundown and BR might have just stopped at 2B

Nope, ain't buying into that one. I would be willing to bet the rundown was initiated long before the BR/R reached 2B. So, between the runner's eyes and the base coaches, the attempt shouldn't even have thought about.

IMO, simply a DMR.

OC: But there was obstruction!
Umpire: Yes, there was and the obstructed runner was awarded home because of it.
OC: But you called my other player out!
Umpire: Yep, sure did coach. Did your base coach send him?
OC: But there was obstruction!
........

Dakota Wed Mar 04, 2009 01:38pm

I think you meant "OC". Anyway...

OC = rock12 by any chance? :D

CajunNewBlue Wed Mar 04, 2009 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13 (Post 585384)
I am not saying that's how I would call it. Just chucking something out there to think about. OC probably figured that with the ball tied up in the rundown she could make it and by some stroke of luck (or an OBS call) the run would score.

Something else - The OP says that the BR was tagged out sliding into third. What if she would have reached safely then F5 tagged her on the base since R1 was entitled to the base. Then you call dead ball and award the OBS but what about Naomi on third base? Is she still the third out?

nope. because the lead runner's actual place is at home plate. and by the defense's error she wasn't at home but stuck at third.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 04, 2009 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 585403)
I think you meant "OC". Anyway...

OC = rock12 by any chance? :D

That's what I typed :rolleyes:

youngump Wed Mar 04, 2009 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 585420)
nope. because the lead runner's actual place is at home plate. and by the defense's error she wasn't at home but stuck at third.

Sorry, I'm not following. You would not call a runner out if two runners were on the same base solely because you intend to award that runner another base later?
________
properties Pattaya

CajunNewBlue Wed Mar 04, 2009 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 585473)
Sorry, I'm not following. You would not call a runner out if two runners were on the same base solely because you intend to award that runner another base later?

FED play goes like this... obs rounding third on lead runner (and i judge that she would have made home without the OBS) ... lead runner is in rundown between third and home...goes into third safely....trail runner is standing on third also... fielder tags trail runner (for the appeal). I call time, point lead runner to home... turn to trail runner and throw the safe sign.
then take a deep breath, because DC is for sure coming to see me.

anyone see anything wrong with this? :)

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 04, 2009 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 585475)
FED play goes like this... obs rounding third on lead runner (and i judge that she would have made home without the OBS) ... lead runner is in rundown between third and home...goes into third safely....trail runner is standing on third also... fielder tags trail runner (for the appeal). I call time, point lead runner to home... turn to trail runner and throw the safe sign.
then take a deep breath, because DC is for sure coming to see me.

anyone see anything wrong with this? :)

I don't see where the BR/R was affected by the OBS. Other rules are not suspended because of an OBS and protection is only applied to the runner obstructed.

Now, if the BR/R stopped at 2B and, IMJ, believed the player would have reached 3B had the OBS not occurred, then I may chose to award that player 3B.

CajunNewBlue Wed Mar 04, 2009 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 585477)
I don't see where the BR/R was affected by the OBS. Other rules are not suspended because of an OBS and protection is only applied to the runner obstructed.

Now, if the BR/R stopped at 2B and, IMJ, believed the player would have reached 3B had the OBS not occurred, then I may chose to award that player 3B.

ok, im sort of with ya.... BUT, how do i justify by rule calling the trail runner out for being on the bag that she legally obtained? when by rule the lead runner has not actually obtained third but home by judgment and error by the defense?
( i am not awarding her home, i am giving her home that she would have legally obtained had the OBS not occurred)

AtlUmpSteve Wed Mar 04, 2009 08:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 585490)
ok, im sort of with ya.... BUT, how do i justify by rule calling the trail runner out for being on the bag that she legally obtained? when by rule the lead runner has not actually obtained third but home by judgment and error by the defense?
( i am not awarding her home, i am giving her home that she would have legally obtained had the OBS not occurred)

When we see (and call) the OBS, we are judging where the obstructed runner should be protected. At the same time, we also have to be mindful of other runners at the time of OBS, and of subsequent play.

So, if you are telling us that at the time of OBS, you say to yourself "lead runner scores, trail runner gets third", then your preferred ruling is justified, since NOT reaching third safely is the result of the OBS. But, and I think this is what many of us are visualizing, if trail only gets to third because of the rundown occupying the defense, then trail isn't entitled to be dragged into the award, and if put out during live play there, then the out should stand.

Remember, you are trying to say trail legally aquired third, but that isn't correct; trail isn't entitled to third if lead hasn't already touched the next base, and when lead returns, trail is in jeopardy.

Might be a tough sell, but that's the way the rule is to be applied.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 04, 2009 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 585490)
ok, im sort of with ya.... BUT, how do i justify by rule calling the trail runner out for being on the bag that she legally obtained?

As I said, other rules are not suspended. The ball is still live and you have two active runners. The rule clearly states the trail runner would be out in this situation. The lead runner ALWAYS owns a base until they have been retired or forced by a trailing runner.

Quote:

when by rule the lead runner has not actually obtained third but home by judgment and error by the defense?
( i am not awarding her home, i am giving her home that she would have legally obtained had the OBS not occurred)
It is an award (and to the best of my knowledge, cannot be effected until the ball is killed), she is still a live runner and subject to being retired between 3B & Home if there is a subsequent rule violation.

I'll stick with a DMR, go get your glove.

CajunNewBlue Thu Mar 05, 2009 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 585523)
As I said, other rules are not suspended. The ball is still live and you have two active runners. The rule clearly states the trail runner would be out in this situation. The lead runner ALWAYS owns a base until they have been retired or forced by a trailing runner.



It is an award (and to the best of my knowledge, cannot be effected until the ball is killed), she is still a live runner and subject to being retired between 3B & Home if there is a subsequent rule violation.

I'll stick with a DMR, go get your glove.

good food for thought.. .thanks you guys.

CecilOne Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 585521)
Remember, you are trying to say trail legally aquired third, but that isn't correct; trail isn't entitled to third if lead hasn't already touched the next base, and when lead returns, trail is in jeopardy.

I think this is the key, 3rd belongs to the lead runner until reaching home and that did not occur until after the tag of the trail runner.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1