The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 01, 2009, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASA 2009 Casebook and Play 1-57J
[I
R1 should know their coach's voice and instruction. (1-OBSTRUCTION-B)[/I]
So, if the OC yelled "GO", but then the DC yelled, "DEAD BALL..." causing the runner to stop and then be tagged out, is the runner supposed to know the difference between the DC and Umpire's voice?
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 01, 2009, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo View Post
So, if the OC yelled "GO", but then the DC yelled, "DEAD BALL..." causing the runner to stop and then be tagged out, is the runner supposed to know the difference between the DC and Umpire's voice?
Stop and think about that for a minute, Tony.
In the casebook, the defense - player and/or coach - yells an instruction to the runner that the runner's own base coach normally yells. The runner is expected to know their coach's voice.
In your variation - it's entirely different - you have the defense yelling something that an umpire would normally yell. I do not see the casebook as saying that.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 01, 2009, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
What you write makes some sense. . .
a.) the ruling is specific to the play specified in the case book
b.) my question would be a different play
c.) players certainly recognize their coaches voice

. . . but there are a number of variables that make this ruling retarded, especially from a JO perspective.

a.) players are instructed to react, not to think and analyze and turn to the coach and ask "Gee, was that you coach? I wasn't 100% sure."
b.) in the heat of the moment, confusion is much easier to create.
c.) I can think of numerous cases where the coach is the dad and the runner is the daughter and the runner would get confused if it came from another coach
d.) new coach
e.) new player
f.) player doesn't normally make it to 3B
g.) early in the season

It is a deliberate attempt at confusing and hindering a runner.
Often it is quite effective, although considered quite bush.
However, this ruling validates bush, rather than attempting to raise the bar for professionalism by the adult participants.

By putting the responsibility on youth players, ASA has given free license to unethical adults to mis-behave without penalty which many would consider condoning bush league antics.

Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 01, 2009, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Lots of things are considered "bush" that are perfectly legal...

The umpire could always go with USC if he judged it to be that bad.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference in ruling on same casebook play? ronny mulkey Basketball 24 Mon Mar 02, 2009 01:03pm
New Correctable error casebook play 2.10.1 - NCAA treatment CallMeMrRef Basketball 7 Wed Feb 18, 2009 02:42pm
NFHS 2008-09 Casebook Play 2.10.1 Situation D Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 4 Fri Dec 05, 2008 01:17pm
2009 NCAA Rulebook and Casebook dahoopref Basketball 4 Sun Oct 05, 2008 08:56am
1st year confusion about plays in Casebook cdoug Football 3 Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1