The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Whats the call? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/50049-whats-call.html)

SRW Thu Dec 04, 2008 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texasbock (Post 555439)
Are you sure about that? :eek:

Yep.

youngump Thu Dec 04, 2008 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW (Post 555456)
Yep.

So, I think the case is fairly convincing as well because in the OP there is no attempt to make a play. What about in the case where the ball is slightly foul, headed fair and the fielder is trying to play it in fair territory? Then you did meet the definition of a play, no?
________
Colorado medical marijuana dispensaries

Skahtboi Thu Dec 04, 2008 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 555459)
So, I think the case is fairly convincing as well because in the OP there is no attempt to make a play. What about in the case where the ball is slightly foul, headed fair and the fielder is trying to play it in fair territory? Then you did meet the definition of a play, no?

It is either foul or it isn't. If it is foul, that is what it is. Period. No play can be made with a foul ball.

Texasbock Thu Dec 04, 2008 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 555466)
It is either foul or it isn't. If it is foul, that is what it is. Period. No play can be made with a foul ball.

No play can be made with a "grounded" foul ball.

Right? Or is that implied?

youngump Thu Dec 04, 2008 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 555466)
It is either foul or it isn't. If it is foul, that is what it is. Period. No play can be made with a foul ball.

Sure it can. Terrible bunt hits a rock in foul territory and is now flying back toward the catcher. Batter had given up on it so she is standing in the box and the catcher has moved forward. Realizing the ball is about to go fair the catcher positions to make the catch and tag. That is a play. The batter runs through the catcher. I've met the definitions of interference have I not?
________
Lenya

NCASAUmp Thu Dec 04, 2008 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 555476)
Sure it can. Terrible bunt hits a rock in foul territory and is now flying back toward the catcher. Batter had given up on it so she is standing in the box and the catcher has moved forward. Realizing the ball is about to go fair the catcher positions to make the catch and tag. That is a play. The batter runs through the catcher. I've met the definitions of interference have I not?

Depends... Was the ball fair when the catcher first touched it? If so, then yes. If not, then no. The ball is foul, and no play can be made.

Dakota Thu Dec 04, 2008 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 555476)
Sure it can.

No, it can't.
Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 555476)
Terrible bunt hits a rock in foul territory and is now flying back toward the catcher. Batter had given up on it so she is standing in the box and the catcher has moved forward. Realizing the ball is about to go fair the catcher positions to make the catch and tag. That is a play.

And, assuming the catcher first touched the ball in fair territory, that is a fair ball. Don't try to predict the future (unless you are making base awards after an obstruction call, that is...;))

IRISHMAFIA Thu Dec 04, 2008 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texasbock (Post 555439)
Are you sure about that? :eek:

Why? Do you still think it may have been too close to the line? ;):D

Dakota Thu Dec 04, 2008 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texasbock (Post 555471)
No play can be made with a "grounded" foul ball.

Right? Or is that implied?

I know the rule book uses the phrase "foul fly ball" or similar wording, but in reality there is no such thing. A fly ball is neither fair nor foul until something happens to define its status. A "caught foul fly" is actually a caught fly ball in foul territory, and it is live, and for all rules intents and purposes, a fair ball.

A foul ball has had its status defined - it is foul.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Dec 04, 2008 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 555485)
Depends... Was the ball fair when the catcher first touched it? If so, then yes. If not, then no. The ball is foul, and no play can be made.

Or the location of the ball when the B/BR ran through the catcher. If over foul territory........

IRISHMAFIA Thu Dec 04, 2008 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texasbock (Post 555471)
No play can be made with a "grounded" foul ball.

Right? Or is that implied?

As opposed to what other type of foul ball? A ball in flight may be a ball over foul territory, but it is not a foul ball until it is no longer in flight and not caught.

Texasbock Thu Dec 04, 2008 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 555492)
As opposed to what other type of foul ball? A ball in flight may be a ball over foul territory, but it is not a foul ball until it is no longer in flight and not caught.

I see said the blind man. I was not thinking it through obviously. Thank you sir.;)

youngump Thu Dec 04, 2008 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 555486)
No, it can't. And, assuming the catcher first touched the ball in fair territory, that is a fair ball. Don't try to predict the future (unless you are making base awards after an obstruction call, that is...;))

No, the catcher was in fair ground and the ball was travelling in the air toward the catchers glove. In what way is this not a play? It is an attempt by a fielder to retire an offensive player.
As for predicting the future, you do it all the time in calling interference. Ball hit toward F5. Runner coming hard from 2nd to 3rd runs in to F5. No one covering third. Out for interference because I saw that in the future the 3rd baseman was making a tag or throwing to first.
________
KarlaXXX

IRISHMAFIA Thu Dec 04, 2008 06:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 555503)
No, the catcher was in fair ground and the ball was travelling in the air toward the catchers glove. In what way is this not a play? It is an attempt by a fielder to retire an offensive player.

You can try to justify it any way you want, it doesn't wash. You do not have interference by present definition or rules.

Quote:

As for predicting the future, you do it all the time in calling interference. Ball hit toward F5. Runner coming hard from 2nd to 3rd runs in to F5. No one covering third. Out for interference because I saw that in the future the 3rd baseman was making a tag or throwing to first.
No, F1 is out for interfering with the fielder's opportunity to field a fair batted ball which is specifically covered in the rules. You are not predicting anything.

SRW Thu Dec 04, 2008 07:24pm

youngump:
What they said. No play. Can't predict future. Remember priorities: Fair/Foul status first.

:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1