The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Mechanics Question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/49767-mechanics-question.html)

AtlUmpSteve Wed Nov 12, 2008 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by vcblue (Post 550044)
Reading your post and I must wonder why you ruled dead ball and awarded second in the first place. This was the wrong call. Once the BR got up and returned to first the Obs was off per book rule.

Let say second makes a horrible throw to the pitcher to return the ball. The 1st base coach sees this and yells "run-run" (you did say 12U), however the catcher is on top of things and throws the ball to second and the runner is tagged out. Do you now rule Obs? No.. you have an out.

The ONLY variation of this that would be remotely true is if 1) you judged first the base you would award, and 2) the defense made a play on another runner as an interim play.

Otherwise, you have obstruction from the time of the obstruction until the end of ALL play; and this is when the ball becomes dead by rule, or declared dead by an umpire. Then, the calling umpire announces the base he is awarding. If 2nd was his judgment at the time, 2nd is proper award, no matter how many interim plays. Again, only overrunning the protections of 1) BOTH the intended award AND the two bases between which the obstruction occurred, or 2) the intended award with an interim play made on another player, or 3) a baserunning violation by the obstructed runner can end the obstruction sequence to protection and award at the end of all play.

MNBlue Wed Nov 12, 2008 01:16pm

I read the OP as this: B/R had an easy double. Rounding 1B, F3 obstructed her and she was knocked to the ground. BU signalled DDB and stated obstruction. B/R returned to 1B.

BU ruled that B/R would have achieved 2B and awarded her such.

ASA 8.5.B

I can't find anywhere in my ASA rulebook that states if the obstructed runner returns to a base, the obstruction is ignored. Please provide a rule cite when you can get at your rulebook.

BTW - I would have waited until the ball was in the circle to kill it as well.

vcblue Wed Nov 12, 2008 01:19pm

I'll have to get in to my book tonight, but that is why these discussion are good. The bottom line is I could have been interpreting the rule wrong for the past 2 years.

JefferMC Wed Nov 12, 2008 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by vcblue (Post 550052)
ASA changed the rule 2 or 3 years ago (I wish I had my book on me). But it does state that the obs is off if the BR returns to the original base. Your OP states the BR rounded 1st, which to me means she had tagged 1st base, then was obs, then returned. Once she return the obs is off. Did I read your OP wrong?

The latest book I have handy is the ASA 2007, and I can't find anything like what you're saying in the book, or anything that could be misinterpreted as saying this.

Dakota Wed Nov 12, 2008 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JefferMC (Post 550063)
The latest book I have handy is the ASA 2007, and I can't find anything like what you're saying in the book, or anything that could be misinterpreted as saying this.

My guess is he is "misremembering" (thank you Roger Clemens for that great addition to the language...) the change regarding the intervening play.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Nov 12, 2008 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JefferMC (Post 550063)
The latest book I have handy is the ASA 2007, and I can't find anything like what you're saying in the book, or anything that could be misinterpreted as saying this.

As Steve stated, the OBS would be cancelled is if 1B was the base the umpire had determined would be the award and there was a subsequent play on another runner. (ASA 8.5.B.1.Exceptions.a)

JefferMC Thu Nov 13, 2008 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 550072)
As Steve stated, the OBS would be cancelled is if 1B was the base the umpire had determined would be the award and there was a subsequent play on another runner. (ASA 8.5.B.1.Exceptions.a)

Steve posted after I'd hit reply and was peering through the book to double check. However, this is a specific situation, not the generalization that I was getting from VC's posts that if the runner returns to the original post, he always looses OBS protection.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1