![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I'd have to say that this (overthrow) rule
is the most misunderstood or misconstrued "ordinary" rule in the book. Over the 20 or so years that I've been playing organized softball, it has been botched up more times (by players AND umpires alike) than any other common occuring rule and I just don't understand why. It SHOULD be quite simple; 2 bases ALWAYS on an overthrown, out of play/blocked ball, from the last established base, at the the point of the release, regardless of which FIELDER (infielder or outfielder)threw it, or which direction the runner is running (returning to a base) or when the ball goes out of play. It amazes me when it does occur how many people start saying "1 base from the infield/ 2 from the outfield" or "the base your going to + 1" (which doesn't work when you're returning to a base on a fly ball) or being awarded 2 bases from WHEN it goes out of play. I've had so many "discussions" with umpires and players over this that I carry a rulebook with me with the rule HIGHLIGHTED and marked for quick access. Sorry for the rant, but this has been in my craw for quite some time and I figured this was my opportunity to vent to the "softball world." Thanks, I feel better now.
__________________
JW NJ |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|