The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Did anybody see...

...the guy behind the plate in the WS make a move that would get him crucified here, or for that matter, anywhere?

Rings up the Rays' batter and while his right hand is in the air, points to U1 who promptly give a safe signal.

On top of that, the pitch looked damn good without the swing.

BTW, I'm convinced the Fox pitch locator is showing where the ball is caught.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 503
Posts: 785
I didn't see this, but....whaaaat???

I have no idea what that mechanic would be about. Then again, MLB guys have the job security of a Supreme Court justice, so they basically get to signal however they want (but we all know that).

The umpire, BTW, is Kerwin Danley, and it's good to see he's recovered nicely from taking that pitch off the jaw earlier this year.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 09:22pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
I saw it and am still not really sure what he did!

In one way it seemed he rang up the strike, or was in the process of doing so, then "pointed" the BR to first.

But it also looked as if he asked for a check of his strike call.

Not only did the pitch look good to me, I had a swing by the batter!

Must be a lot of nerves running wild while plating a WS game. That's all I can figure.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Absolutely horrible! There is no doubt in my mind what his original signal conveyed: STRIKE. Nerves cannot, and should not be a factor at this level. Inexplicable!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEL View Post
In one way it seemed he rang up the strike, or was in the process of doing so, then "pointed" the BR to first.

But it also looked as if he asked for a check of his strike call.
And I could buy that IF he didn't raise his right hand by his right ear before coming up and then after standing pointed to first like an afterthought when the batter began to head that way.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 10:00pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
And I could buy that IF he didn't raise his right hand by his right ear before coming up and then after standing pointed to first like an afterthought when the batter began to head that way.
Yeah, but something else that is confusing is (haven't seen him do a called third strike) when he does his "normal" strike signal he looks as if he is punching the catchers back! What he did on this call was definitely strange.

I imagine replays are already posted somewhere on the net!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 10:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 109
Holy ****.....could he have possibly been human......and had an afterthought...made a mistake??

Heaven forbid!!

"We are expected to be perfect and then get better after that!!"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 10:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalumps View Post
Holy ****.....could he have possibly been human......and had an afterthought...made a mistake??

Heaven forbid!!

"We are expected to be perfect and then get better after that!!"
LOL! No kidding, Willie. He sure did. But something just dosn't seem right. This guy also likes to check his indicator often. And he does use a regular hammer on a swinging strike. When was the last time you checked with your partner on a called swinging strike?

This is Kerwin Danley who was the same guy who was run into by a fielder while watching a foul ball in the ALCS.

Ouch! And not he just missed a HBP. Yeah, this guy is human, but too human for what someone in a group that some believe are the best in the world.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
LOL! No kidding, Willie. He sure did. But something just dosn't seem right. This guy also likes to check his indicator often. And he does use a regular hammer on a swinging strike. When was the last time you checked with your partner on a called swinging strike?

This is Kerwin Danley who was the same guy who was run into by a fielder while watching a foul ball in the ALCS.

Ouch! And not he just missed a HBP. Yeah, this guy is human, but too human for what someone in a group that some believe are the best in the world.
The best in the world are not human willie. What are they then??

But I agree...it looked like on slow mo instant replay that the ball hit Rollins Jersey!!

I would take his assignments!!! lol

Last edited by socalumps; Thu Oct 23, 2008 at 10:55pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 12:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Holy Sheepdip Batman! Must be a good reason why he worked MLB for something like 12 years before getting his first World Serious...

Like changing his mind on K3. I almost messed myself when I saw that. At least it was only on worldwide television -- and now available on the 'net.

Just think: if they started their positions so the crew chief, Tim Welke, was the best umpire, and Danley is second best, then that sixth game HP umpire must be one of our SP umps with a one-foot-long leash on his leg.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 04:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
I agree with all that say it was terrible. Then later missed the HBP.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 07:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Yes, he is human and he is making mistakes like we all have. So are we, yet we routinely critique each other's interpretations or mechanics and occassional performance.

Just because this guy umpires in the major league does not exempt him from criticism. If anything, with his contract and financial demands, his performance should be scrutinized even more so. Do you think that if he watches the game he isn't going to critique his own work? Do you think he may not have already had a discussion with someone concerning last night's game?

We all know when we screw up and the better umpires work to insure that mistake does not occur again. I just hope Danley doesn't take the attitude that he made a mistake and it is no big deal. It should be a big deal, but to the umpire more than anyone else.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 503
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones View Post
Holy Sheepdip Batman! Must be a good reason why he worked MLB for something like 12 years before getting his first World Serious...

Like changing his mind on K3. I almost messed myself when I saw that. At least it was only on worldwide television -- and now available on the 'net.

Just think: if they started their positions so the crew chief, Tim Welke, was the best umpire, and Danley is second best, then that sixth game HP umpire must be one of our SP umps with a one-foot-long leash on his leg.
Not so. Tim Tschida would have the dish in Game 6, is a crew chief during the season, and has been to the Series before. For the postseason MLB sets the rotation so that a regular season crew chief would work the plate in Game 6 because it will always be an elimination game. And of course, the series crew chief would have the plate for a possible Game 7.

I know you were kidding around a little; just wanted to explain it to those who might not know.

You are on to something, though: With a crew of 6 the SP umpire you mentioned could get by with his mobility.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 06:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by SethPDX View Post
Not so. Tim Tschida would have the dish in Game 6, is a crew chief during the season, and has been to the Series before. For the postseason MLB sets the rotation so that a regular season crew chief would work the plate in Game 6 because it will always be an elimination game. And of course, the series crew chief would have the plate for a possible Game 7.

I know you were kidding around a little; just wanted to explain it to those who might not know.

You are on to something, though: With a crew of 6 the SP umpire you mentioned could get by with his mobility.
The hardest working guy on a 6-man crew is usually whoever is working 2B provided the crew chief wants him to go out on fly balls to CF.

I was hoping we'd see a crew working the playoffs that included Gorman, Wendelstedt, DiMuro and Welke. Maybe sometime soon.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
...the guy behind the plate in the WS make a move that would get him crucified here, or for that matter, anywhere?

Rings up the Rays' batter and while his right hand is in the air, points to U1 who promptly give a safe signal.

On top of that, the pitch looked damn good without the swing..
Yes. And I was embarrassed for him. You could tell by the look on his face when he took that his helmask off that he knew he had effed up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
...BTW, I'm convinced the Fox pitch locator is showing where the ball is caught.
Ehh...you may be right....I don't know. The pitch looked like it could go either way on the outside. However, I was suprised at just how far out the locator showed it.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1