The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Batter/Runner question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/49414-batter-runner-question.html)

kfrisbee Sun Oct 19, 2008 06:40am

Batter/Runner question
 
ASA fastpitch 12U

1 out, batter gets base on balls, rounds first and stops for a split second and returns to first. R1 is on 3rd base no other runners, if that makes a difference.

Is the runner out?

It is my understanding that as soon as the batter has the right to first base, she is now considered a "runner" and has all the same rights to advance as a batter/runner who just hit a base hit.

See rule 8.8.x NSA rules in notes

Thanks!

3afan Sun Oct 19, 2008 07:16am

assume you're asking is the batter-runner out ... no, she can round first base, find the ball then "immediately" decide what to do ... you are correct, she has the same right to stop once in between bases just as any other runner

IRISHMAFIA Sun Oct 19, 2008 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 3afan (Post 543938)
assume you're asking is the batter-runner out ... no, she can round first base, find the ball then "immediately" decide what to do ... you are correct, she has the same right to stop once in between bases just as any other runner

Agree, but what does an NSA rule have to do with an ASA game?

MichaelVA2000 Mon Oct 20, 2008 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 543959)
Agree, but what does an NSA rule have to do with an ASA game?

I was wondering the same thing.:confused:

kfrisbee Tue Oct 21, 2008 06:49am

Sorry, it was an NSA game - typo:eek:

kfrisbee Wed Oct 22, 2008 07:14am

OK, since the team plays ASA, NSA and USSSA is this rule the same in all three?

There are way too many rulebooks...

argodad Wed Oct 22, 2008 08:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kfrisbee (Post 544709)
OK, since the team plays ASA, NSA and USSSA is this rule the same in all three?

There are way too many rulebooks...

In this situation, the effect and enforcement are the same in all codes. (Except maybe LL -- I don't do LL either.)

Edited to reflect Dakota's post below.

Dakota Wed Oct 22, 2008 09:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by argodad (Post 544737)
In this situation, the effect and enforcement are the same in all codes.

I seem to recall from previous discussions that LL has a bit of a different take on this kind of play... but I could be wrong (I don't do LL).

kfrisbee Wed Oct 22, 2008 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 544744)
I seem to recall from previous discussions that LL has a bit of a different take on this kind of play... but I could be wrong (I don't do LL).

We don't do LL either.

Thank you all for the input!

bellnier Thu Oct 23, 2008 08:37am

My DD was stuck with the LL rule set for a time...if I recall correctly, the LB rule is essentially same as most others with one exception: there is no requirement that B-R reach 1B before triggering rule for other runners.

dmore Thu Nov 06, 2008 03:57pm

Ll lbr
 
There is not much to this rule, which provides no end to the debates:
7.08 Any runner is out when -
(5) The runner fails to keep contact with the base to which that runner is entitled until the ball has been batter or reaches the batter or in Junior/Senior/Big League the runner fails to keep contact with the base to which the runner is entitled untill the ball is released by the pitcher. Note 1: (redacted dropped ball idiocy),When a runner is off a base after a pitch or as a result of a batter completing a turn at bat, and while the pitcher has the ball within the eight (8) foot radius circle, the runner must immediately attempt to advance to the next base or return to the base the runner is entitled. Note 2: If the pitcher has possession of the ball within the pitcher's circle, and is not making a play (a fake throw is considered a play), runners not in contact with their bases must immediately attempt to advance or return to base. Penalty: The ball is dead. "No Pioch" is declared and the runner is out. Eight (8) foot radius circle must be properly marked. (redacted dropped third strike APPROVED RULING).

SO none of the stuff that deals with player stopping once and making a decision is there, LBR is not on until a walked batter makes it to first.

Good thing is though that most of these coaches have never read the rulebook and LBR is pretty mysterious so it is not hard to convince them they you know what you are talking about and that they don't.

Paul L Thu Nov 06, 2008 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dmore (Post 548913)
7.08 Any runner is out when -
(5) . . . When a runner is off a base after a pitch or as a result of a batter completing a turn at bat, and while the pitcher has the ball within the eight (8) foot radius circle, the runner must immediately attempt to advance to the next base or return to the base the runner is entitled.

SO none of the stuff that deals with player stopping once and making a decision is there, LBR is not on until a walked batter makes it to first.

Emphasis added.

Wrong, I think. What is also not present in the LL softball rule is the provision (present in ASA and Fed) that the LBR does not go into effect until the batter reaches first. I don't do much LL softball, but I educated myself on this rule on this forum earlier this year, and it was the subject of at least two threads.

My understanding and conclusion is that the LBR in LL is the same as ASA, except that it goes into effect as soon as the pitcher gets the ball in the circle, even if before the walked batter reaches first. It is still a one-stop rule, so the batter-runner can round first (without stopping), but that runner on third is supposed to retreat or advance once the pitcher has the ball in the circle. That makes the BR-draw-a-throw-so-Rx-at-third-can-score play more difficult to execute.

dmore Thu Nov 06, 2008 07:47pm

Let me clarify when I said
"SO none of the stuff that deals with player stopping once and making a decision is there, LBR is not on until a walked batter makes it to first.


WHat I meant is that none of that is clarified in the rule. SPecifically that there is nothing there about a player stopping once and making a decision, there is nothing in the LL rule about the LBR being on (or not on) until the walked batter makes it to first.

Grasp of the rule is right command of the language isn't so clear at times.

bkbjones Thu Nov 06, 2008 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dmore (Post 548913)
There is not much to this rule, which provides no end to the debates:
7.08 Any runner is out when - ...
... Penalty: The ball is dead. "No Pioch" is declared and the runner is out. Eight (8) foot radius circle must be properly marked. (redacted dropped third strike APPROVED RULING)

so if I am reading this LL drivel correctly, according to the penalty "no pitch" is declared. Does that remove the base on balls on the batter?

Dakota Thu Nov 06, 2008 08:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones (Post 548960)
so if I am reading this LL drivel correctly, according to the penalty "no pitch" is declared. Does that remove the base on balls on the batter?

Yes, but that is true in ASA & others as well. Since the ball is dead on the infraction, and the infraction by definition happened before the ball left the pitcher's hand, there was no pitch. I suppose the reason it is explicitly stated in the LL rule is because the younger kids have to wait until the ball reaches the batter.

SethPDX Fri Nov 07, 2008 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones (Post 548960)
so if I am reading this LL drivel correctly, according to the penalty "no pitch" is declared. Does that remove the base on balls on the batter?

This is what you get when an organization uses modified OBR for its baseball rules, then adds some softball-type stuff to the modified OBR to make its softball rulebook.

Dakota's explanation sounds all right to me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1