The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2002, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 197
Question

I would like an opionion on the following play for both Fed and ASA.

Runners on 2nd & 3rd 2 outs.
Base hit by B/R
R3 comes home but misses home plate
R2 advances to 3rd before R3 goes into dugout.
Catcher chases R3 into dugout to try and tag R3 for missing home. Catcher takes the ball into dead ball territory.

What are the base awards for carrying the ball into dead ball territory by the catcher intentionally?


After the awarded bases, defense appeals R3 for missing home plate.

Does R2's run count because the award was made prior to the appeal?


Our local UIC insists that awarded bases take precedence over the appeal and the rule that states no succeeding runs score if the preceding runner is out because of missing a base or not tagging up. I cannot find any rule that tells me that an awarded base takes precedence over an appeal.
__________________
R.Vietti
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1