![]() |
|
|||
This is in high school fast pitch softball. With a runner on first, the batter hits a pop up on the first base foul line. The catcher tries to make the catch but misses the ball. The plate umpire calls a foul ball, however the batter continued to first and the base runner to third. The offensive team argued that the catcher touched the ball in fair territory. The umpires conferred. The field umpire thought that the catcher touched the ball in fair territory, so the plate umpire allowed the batter to remain on first, but sent the base runner back to second. Is this the correct call? If so, how can play be continued any at all when an umpire calls "foul ball" if that is considered the signal for a dead ball?
|
|
|||
Quote:
The PU's partner should have reinforced the PU's resolve to stick with the call. Even if wrong, this is one you have to live with once it is made. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Once "foul ball" was called, it was a foul ball. This was not subject to appeal.
If the PU missed the call, he needs to eat it and deal with the consequences. The BU should have told the PU this. |
|
|||
BU Position ???
I'd like to know where the field umpire was that he/she would think that they had as good a look at the position of the ball to foul line that the plate umpire would have ?
|
|
|||
![]()
Something like that happened to me not long ago.0 to O and nobody on and the batter hits a blur that screams down the line and into foul territory.I mean to say it was moving and I barely got a look i did my best and signalled fair.Well by the look of the third base coach and the reaction of the defensive coach I believe I blew it.Here comes the coach and he asks if it was to fast for me to see so I said coach thats the end of it we are going with it.The bottom line is right or wrong that was my call and I'm not asking the b.u. for help.
|
|
|||
We have had looooong discussions over similar situations on McGriff's board the last few days.
refjef - If I understand your post, you called a foul ball fair. If you honestly believe you blew this call, reverse it, put any runners back where they were, and bring the batter back to the plate with an 0-1 count. This is exactly what the situation would have been had you made the correct "foul ball" call. One more thing to consider, try to do this yourself, before a coach brings it up. You never want to give the impression that a coach talked you into changing your call. |
|
|||
Fair or foul is never appealable; you should avoid even the appearance of an appeal being successful.
Having said that, calling a foul ball fair is always reversable, because the correct call (foul) is a dead ball, so nothing can happen. Put the runners back on their bases, make the proper call on the batter (strike or count stays at x-2, depending), and proceed. Calling a fair ball foul is almost never reversable, since either the offense or the defense will almost certainly react to the call, and it will be difficult / impossible to place the teams in the situation they would have been in with the correct call. 99.999% of the time, ya gotta live with the call. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|