The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   On-Deck Batter interferes with ball four (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/46423-deck-batter-interferes-ball-four.html)

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
In ASA I don't believe there is a dead ball return runner. ASA requires an out on an interference call. Some of the other organizations allow you to return a runner if there isn't a "play", but not ASA.

ASA does not require an out to be called on a blocked ball by the offense. There could be an out called if the umpire determines that the ODB did hinder the defense in making a play on the defense.

Quote:

A blocked ball, in this situation, would only pertain to offensive equipment not in the game wouldn't it? Not the on-deck batter.
The ODB is a non-participant at this point and my not, by rule, interfere with the defense's ability to make a play even if in the ODB's designated area.

whiskers_ump Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
ASA does not require an out to be called on a blocked ball by the offense. There could be an out called if the umpire determines that the ODB did hinder the defense in making a play on the defense.



The ODB is a non-participant at this point and my not, by rule, interfere with the defense's ability to make a play even if in the ODB's designated area.

The ODB is a non-participant at this point and my not, by rule, interfere with the defense's ability to make a play even if in the ODB's designated area.

If this was not the case, then it would be a great weapon for the offensive
team. :(

reccer Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:39am

Ball blocked by offensive equipment
 
Coach here.

I had a game recently where we are on offense and an errant throw from F4 to F3 hit one of our coaches buckets. Blue* called dead ball runner closest to home is out. I asked why he arbitrarily called the runner out, didn't he have some discretion as to determine if a play was being made on the runner. He said, no, that by rule, runner closest to home is out. He was the UIC so I dropped it.

I think he misapplied the rule.

Rule 8, Sec 5 G When the ball is live and is overthrown or is blocked: 3. If the ball becomes blocked due to offensive equipment not involved in the game. Effect: The ball is dead and runners are returned to the last base touched at the time of the blocked ball. If the blocked ball prevented the defense from making an out, the runner being played on is out.


*Blue. a colloquial term of endearment meant to convey respect to the men and women who keep the playing fields from descending into chaos. (I kinda lifted this from wilkopedia referring to officers.)

whiskers_ump Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by reccer
Coach here.

I had a game recently where we are on offense and an errant throw from F4 to F3 hit one of our coaches buckets. Blue* called dead ball runner closest to home is out. I asked why he arbitrarily called the runner out, didn't he have some discretion as to determine if a play was being made on the runner. He said, no, that by rule, runner closest to home is out. He was the UIC so I dropped it.

I think he misapplied the rule.

Rule 8, Sec 5 G When the ball is live and is overthrown or is blocked: 3. If the ball becomes blocked due to offensive equipment not involved in the game. Effect: The ball is dead and runners are returned to the last base touched at the time of the blocked ball. If the blocked ball prevented the defense from making an out, the runner being played on is out.


*Blue. a colloquial term of endearment meant to convey respect to the men and women who keep the playing fields from descending into chaos. (I kinda lifted this from wilkopedia referring to officers.)

Umpires first mistake was allowing the bucket.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by reccer
Coach here.

I had a game recently where we are on offense and an errant throw from F4 to F3 hit one of our coaches buckets. Blue* called dead ball runner closest to home is out. I asked why he arbitrarily called the runner out, didn't he have some discretion as to determine if a play was being made on the runner. He said, no, that by rule, runner closest to home is out. He was the UIC so I dropped it.

I think he misapplied the rule.

Rule 8, Sec 5 G When the ball is live and is overthrown or is blocked: 3. If the ball becomes blocked due to offensive equipment not involved in the game. Effect: The ball is dead and runners are returned to the last base touched at the time of the blocked ball. If the blocked ball prevented the defense from making an out, the runner being played on is out.


*Blue. a colloquial term of endearment meant to convey respect to the men and women who keep the playing fields from descending into chaos. (I kinda lifted this from wilkopedia referring to officers.)

Was the bucket "in play"? If so, dumb move coach. It is purely the umpire's judgment as to whether it is interference or not. Apparently, this umpire judged INT.

reccer Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Was the bucket "in play"? If so, dumb move coach. It is purely the umpire's judgment as to whether it is interference or not. Apparently, this umpire judged INT.


Yes he did judge interference. And yes dumb move coach. And now I don't have quite as much "help" on the sidelines as before :)

But, I believe he should have ruled an out on the runner that in his opinion was being played on. He arbitrarily ruled the runner closest to home out.

whiskers_ump Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by reccer
Yes he did judge interference. And yes dumb move coach. And now I don't have quite as much "help" on the sidelines as before :)

But, I believe he should have ruled an out on the runner that in his opinion was being played on. He arbitrarily ruled the runner closest to home out.

In most tournaments, now that BUCKET is the coaches "easy chair", around
here, UIC/TD's always have us tell coaches 'NO BUCKETS'. If used anway,
and not immediately caught by the umpire, then we penatlize the maximum.
There is no reason for a bucket on the field.

RKBUmp Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:28am

Similar situation to original post, what would you have called.

Runner on 3rd, wild pitch ricochets off catcher and goes to fence on 1st base side just about on extension of 3rd base line. Batter clears and goes all the way back to the fence on 3rd base side, runner is on dead run to plate. Pitcher comes in to cover plate, catcher gets ball, turns and throws without even looking, completely misses the pitcher and actually hits the batter in the leg clear over at the fence. Throw didnt come within 10' of the plate. For what ever reason I dont understand, the batter reaches down and picks up the ball, almost at the exact instant the runner crossed the plate and tosses ithe ball to the catcher. No other defensive players had come in on the play, so there was absoltely no chance that any play on the runner could have been made.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by reccer
Yes he did judge interference. And yes dumb move coach. And now I don't have quite as much "help" on the sidelines as before :)

But, I believe he should have ruled an out on the runner that in his opinion was being played on. He arbitrarily ruled the runner closest to home out.

Based on the definition of a blocked ball, any offensive player not involved in the game is treated the same as loose offensive equipment which calls for the runner closest to home to be called out should INT be judged.

Rule 7.1.D specifically addresses interference with the defense's opportunity to make an out on a runner. The EFFECT, also, specifically notes that in this circumstance, the runner closest to home be ruled out.

Dakota Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp
Similar situation to original post, what would you have called.

Runner on 3rd, wild pitch ricochets off catcher and goes to fence on 1st base side just about on extension of 3rd base line. Batter clears and goes all the way back to the fence on 3rd base side, runner is on dead run to plate. Pitcher comes in to cover plate, catcher gets ball, turns and throws without even looking, completely misses the pitcher and actually hits the batter in the leg clear over at the fence. Throw didnt come within 10' of the plate. For what ever reason I dont understand, the batter reaches down and picks up the ball, almost at the exact instant the runner crossed the plate and tosses ithe ball to the catcher. No other defensive players had come in on the play, so there was absoltely no chance that any play on the runner could have been made.

No play, so no interference. Dead ball. Run scores or not depending on timing.

CecilOne Mon Jul 21, 2008 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp
the batter reaches down and picks up the ball, almost at the exact instant the runner crossed the plate and tosses ithe ball to the catcher.

I just wonder whether there was someone there to give CPR to the coach. :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1