The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   When do you call an Illegal pitch? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/46358-when-do-you-call-illegal-pitch.html)

BuggBob Tue Jul 15, 2008 09:02am

When do you call an Illegal pitch?
 
Okay I made a little girl cry. The pitcher steps on the pitcher's plate with her hands together (ball in glove, hand on ball). I immediately called an illegal pitch. The team protested my call, the UIC was summoned, the call was overturned. The other umpires at this tournament were about 50-50 split on if this was an illegal pitch or not.

The not illegal pitch camp said the pitch does not start until the hands separate, the pitcher could have corrected her error by stepping off the plate. But by me calling the pitch illegal she did not have that opportunity.

The it is an illegal pitch camp agreed with my call.

No mater the out come, after that the pitcher sure did remember the pitch timing elements.

Bugg

NCASAUmp Tue Jul 15, 2008 09:12am

What age group was this?

BuggBob Tue Jul 15, 2008 09:19am

Asa U14

wadeintothem Tue Jul 15, 2008 09:38am

Age group is not relevent to the rule of course.

You were incorrect if you stopped this pitch with an IP call. In any IP, Illegal pitch is a delayed dead ball. You didnt have an IP, there wasnt even a pitch. :)

3afan Tue Jul 15, 2008 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob
Okay I made a little girl cry. The pitcher steps on the pitcher's plate with her hands together (ball in glove, hand on ball). I immediately called an illegal pitch. The team protested my call, the UIC was summoned, the call was overturned. The other umpires at this tournament were about 50-50 split on if this was an illegal pitch or not.

The not illegal pitch camp said the pitch does not start until the hands separate, the pitcher could have corrected her error by stepping off the plate. But by me calling the pitch illegal she did not have that opportunity.

The it is an illegal pitch came agreed with my call. No mater the out come, after that the pitcher sure did remember the pitch timing elements.

Bugg

once a pitch is illegal, nothing can be done to make it legal

pitcher must step on the plate with hands apart - thats pretty clear

why did the UIC overturn the IP call? on what basis?

kcg NC2Ablu Tue Jul 15, 2008 09:56am

you do have to wait until the pitcher starts the pitching motion to call it. Thats partially why illegal pitches are delayed dead balls

Andy Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob
Okay I made a little girl cry....
Bugg

Bob - now you're ready to go umpire with Wade......:D

Dakota Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 3afan
once a pitch is illegal, nothing can be done to make it legal

pitcher must step on the plate with hands apart - thats pretty clear...

Actually, in ASA it is not that clear. We come to the conclusion in ASA that she must step on the plate with the hands apart because that is the only way she can complete a legal pitch. But, merely stepping on the plate with the hands together is not, by itself, illegal in ASA. (It is in NFHS - Rule 6-1-a).

In ASA, the pitcher is required to take (or pretend to take) signals with both feet on the plate and the hands separated (6-1-D). Then, in ASA, the pitch starts when the hands come together, and once separated, they cannot come together again and she must immediately deliver the ball (6-3-A, B). Obviously, she cannot do both of those if she steps on the plate with the hands together.

She can, however, step back off the plate before she separates the hands and start over.

IMO, you were premature to call the pitch illegal until she either took signs with the hands together (never separated them prior to the pitch) or double touched. She would have had to do one or the other.

AtlUmpSteve Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob
The not illegal pitch camp said the pitch does not start until the hands separate, the pitcher could have corrected her error by stepping off the plate. But by me calling the pitch illegal she did not have that opportunity.

Bugg

I am in this camp. It is not yet an illegal pitch, because the pitcher can legally disengage prior to separating her hands, thus prior to starting the pitch. This is the one and only action that she can do to avoid the illegal pitch; once she separates, starting a pitch, it is THEN an illegal pitch.

I have been told that at least one ASA NUS member (WS) has said otherwise, but see no backing in the rule book, RS, manual, casebook, or official ruling from OKC.

SRW Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
I have been told that at least one ASA NUS member (WS) ...

Would that be Walt, Walt, or Wild? ;)

AtlUmpSteve Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
Would that be Walt, Walt, or Wild? ;)

Does it help to know that the one I am referring to is quoted as making this statement in a Texas setting?

I may be paranoid, but prefer that I not be naming names that can be Googled.:eek:

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jul 15, 2008 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
Does it help to know that the one I am referring to is quoted as making this statement in a Texas setting?

I may be paranoid, but prefer that I not be naming names that can be Googled.:eek:

Take it from someone who knows about that, good move.

NCASAUmp Tue Jul 15, 2008 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Take it from someone who knows about that, good move.

Damn... I made y'all paranoid, didn't I? :eek:

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jul 15, 2008 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Damn... I made y'all paranoid, didn't I? :eek:

No, I have already had more discussions with OKC folks and associated staff than I care to.

ronald Fri Jul 18, 2008 12:31pm

Caebook that i got in January 2003, which I think is for 2002 but could be for 2003.

play 6f.1-3 (fp)

May the pitcher take his pitching wtith his hands already together?

Ruling: No. The pitchers (sic) hands must be apart when he steps onto the pitcher's plate and while taking the signal. An illegal pitch should be called [B]as soon as this occurs. [B] (6f-1b).

all the above may have changed but giving some info from asa.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jul 18, 2008 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald
Caebook that i got in January 2003, which I think is for 2002 but could be for 2003.

play 6f.1-3 (fp)

May the pitcher take his pitching wtith his hands already together?

Ruling: No. The pitchers (sic) hands must be apart when he steps onto the pitcher's plate and while taking the signal. An illegal pitch should be called [b]as soon as this occurs. [b] (6f-1b).

all the above may have changed but giving some info from asa.

No, it is still the same in the 2007 case book though the rule citation is 6.1.D which does not exactly support the interpretation. But that's why we have case book plays


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1