The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 114
LBR when does it start?

I had a situation that nearly resulted in an ejection. 12 and under ASA. R1 on 3rd base B/R walks and rounds 1st heading to 2nd pitcher has ball in circle. R1 was off 3rd base until B/R rounded 1st and broke for home. R1 scored and defensive coach went off. I really should have run him but our UIC has asked us to hold back ejecting a coach (Youth league politics ). My reading of the LBR is it doesn't come in to effect until B/R hits 1st. Am I correct in my interpetation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Yes. There was a thread on here discussing this very topic just a couple of weeks ago. The LBR is in effect when the pitcher has the ball in the circle and the BR reaches 1st. (Providing, of course, that the pitcher is making no play on any runner.)
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIIRISHMAN
I had a situation that nearly resulted in an ejection. 12 and under ASA. R1 on 3rd base B/R walks and rounds 1st heading to 2nd pitcher has ball in circle. R1 was off 3rd base until B/R rounded 1st and broke for home. R1 scored and defensive coach went off. I really should have run him but our UIC has asked us to hold back ejecting a coach (Youth league politics ). My reading of the LBR is it doesn't come in to effect until B/R hits 1st. Am I correct in my interpetation?
If you mean that R1 was not stopped after BR reached 1st, IOW ran immediately whne the LBR was in effect, then yes, in most rules. I'm also assuming you are saying the DC wanted R1 out for stopping, but it was before BR reached 1st.

I believe LL is different and maybe others in the endless alphabet game and is a relatively new aspect, however.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
If you mean that R1 was not stopped after BR reached 1st, IOW ran immediately whne the LBR was in effect, then yes, in most rules. I'm also assuming you are saying the DC wanted R1 out for stopping, but it was before BR reached 1st.
Really wouldn't make any difference since the runner is allowed one stop based on your assumption that the runner started immediately as the BR reached 1B.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 173
Under Little League's interpretation of their ambiguous lookback rule, on a walk, the runners are bound by the lookback rule as soon as the ball is returned to the pitcher in the circle, even if batter-runner has not yet reached first. Not so in Fed or ASA.
See post #4, by scroobs, of this thread: Little League Look-Back Rule
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Really wouldn't make any difference since the runner is allowed one stop based on your assumption that the runner started immediately as the BR reached 1B.
If my assumptions were correct, then my answer was correct, but wanted to confirm that, with the OP, to be sure not to mislead.

The wording "R1 on 3rd base B/R walks and rounds 1st heading to 2nd pitcher has ball in circle. R1 was off 3rd base until B/R rounded 1st and broke for home" is a little vague on sequence and timing.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 11:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
If my assumptions were correct, then my answer was correct, but wanted to confirm that, with the OP, to be sure not to mislead.

The wording "R1 on 3rd base B/R walks and rounds 1st heading to 2nd pitcher has ball in circle. R1 was off 3rd base until B/R rounded 1st and broke for home" is a little vague on sequence and timing.
R1 had taken her normal lead after the pitch. B/R was walked and jogging down to 1B. The ball was returned to pitcher in the circle.R1 was off 3B for 3 seconds and not moving until B/R hit 1B then R1 made a break for home. Coach's argument was R1 was out fror failure not to move while pitcher was in circle.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 27, 2008, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIIRISHMAN
R1 had taken her normal lead after the pitch. B/R was walked and jogging down to 1B. The ball was returned to pitcher in the circle.R1 was off 3B for 3 seconds and not moving until B/R hit 1B then R1 made a break for home. Coach's argument was R1 was out fror failure not to move while pitcher was in circle.
Speaking ASA, coach was wrong. R1 was not obligated to move until BR reached 1B.

re: "Little League's ... ambiguous lookback rule"

I don't have a LL rule book, but it was not that long ago that the ASA book was similarly vague. ASA only added the statement about the LBR not being in effect until the BR reaches 1B maybe 5 years ago?

I can recall this exact discussion several years ago on this board regarding ASA. The ASA interp that I recall was that the LBR went into effect for each runner individually, which would mean the coach would have been correct in making his argument above.

That's not the way it is now, though.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When does it start SoftBall011 Softball 7 Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:29pm
When do you start? refnrev Soccer 11 Fri Aug 24, 2007 04:31pm
Woo-Hoo...it's a start LarryS Basketball 13 Wed Feb 14, 2007 04:19pm
Right from the start tomegun Basketball 6 Mon Nov 06, 2006 10:09am
False Start? Suudy Football 10 Thu Aug 24, 2006 10:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1