The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Did I witness the (in)famous fist pump? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/45822-did-i-witness-famous-fist-pump.html)

LMan Thu Jun 26, 2008 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stat-Man
Last night's Co-Ed Softball Game:

We had a fairly decent umpire (if one ignores the usual "deep" and "hit the plate" stuff anyways. :D )

A few times, though, I noticed him signalling where he put his fists together as if he was holding an imaginary bat and banging them together twice. All I could think of was "Is this the first-pumping I read about on the officiating forum?"

I'm not quite sure what it means, but my top two choices would be:

(1) Pitch is a ball because it jammed the player, or
(2) Ok guys, I'd like to get a chance to bat, too. ;)

I had a guy who did that to signal a 3-2 count. Of course, as he was banging his fists together over his head, he was yelling, "Full boat! Full boat!" :rolleyes:

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe
After tonight, I might be starting to understand why some of these guys need things like this explained to them in greater detail.

In one of tonight's men's games, I had an R1 at 2B with 1 out. Batter hits a fly to center, which is caught. R1 tags and runs for third, arriving there safely without a play. The pitcher calls for the cut off and goes to appeal that R1 left too soon.

Speaking ASA SP.

Stop right there. A lot of this depends on the timing. If R1 is just standing on 3B when the pitcher receives the ball in the infield and there was no OBVIOUS play (and I'm not talking about the appeal), the ball should be dead.

Quote:

R1 panics and leaves 3B, sprinting back to 2B. R1 runs past the pitcher, and the pitcher doesn't think to tag him. The pitcher steps on 2B to appeal and I rule the runner safe just as R1 steps on 2B without being tagged. The pitcher then turns his back to R1, who has stepped off the bag towards 1B (his dugout is on the 3rd base line so I have no idea what in the Hades he is doing). R1 realizes I never called him out and steps back on 2B.
If the ball is still live to where an appeal is made, after the appeal, the umpire should most likely kill play.

Welpe Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA SP.

Stop right there. A lot of this depends on the timing. If R1 is just standing on 3B when the pitcher receives the ball in the infield and there was no OBVIOUS play (and I'm not talking about the appeal), the ball should be dead.

I agree, and I did not explain the scenario well enough. As the pitcher was calling for the ball (still in the outfield), R1 started retreating towards 2B. R1 was about half way back to the bag when the pitcher received the ball in the infield.


Quote:

If the ball is still live to where an appeal is made, after the appeal, the umpire should most likely kill play.
Good point and something I will be more vigilant for next time. Calling time in SP is still an adjustment from FP and baseball that I am getting used to. :o

Skahtboi Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
...he was yelling, "Full boat! Full boat!" :rolleyes:

Aces over eights. :eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1