The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 23, 2008, 10:37am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
What happens now?
The umpire enforces ASA Rule 7-2-E and its EFFECT.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 23, 2008, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
The umpire enforces ASA Rule 7-2-E and its EFFECT.
Well, yeah, but first he slaps himself upside the head.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 23, 2008, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
E. The batting order for co-ed shall alternate the sexes. Co-ed play will use an 11-inch red-stitch ball when the female bats and an 12-inch red stitch ball when the male bats.
EFFECT: If the wrong ball is used, the manager of the offensive team has the
option of taking the result of the play or having the last batter bat over and assume the ball and strike count prior to the wrong ball being discovered.
I don't understand that last part of the EFFECT at all. When is "prior to the wrong ball being discovered"? Presumably, it is brought to the umpire's attention as soon as it is "discovered" - that is, bringing it to the umpire's attention is what "discovered" means, right? Are they trying to say the manager can choose to remove the result of the most recent pitch? So, in the sitch offered, correct ball is put into play and the count is 1-0?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 23, 2008, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
I don't understand that last part of the EFFECT at all. When is "prior to the wrong ball being discovered"? Presumably, it is brought to the umpire's attention as soon as it is "discovered" - that is, bringing it to the umpire's attention is what "discovered" means, right? Are they trying to say the manager can choose to remove the result of the most recent pitch? So, in the sitch offered, correct ball is put into play and the count is 1-0?
Does a pitch meet the definition of a play?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 23, 2008, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Does a pitch meet the definition of a play?
My initial thought was along those lines, but if you look at the definition in the ASA book, it explicitly states that a pitch is not a play.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1