The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Clarification on Obstruction (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/45640-clarification-obstruction.html)

NCASAUmp Fri Jun 20, 2008 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
I was just "assuming" the OP said "before they can reach first base, ... snip ... slow down and alter their base path prior to reaching first base"

Well, as I said before, I'm looking at this as "the runner was obstructed while rounding first base." Splitting the hair of before vs. after, in this sitch, is taking it a little too far. I think I'd protect them between 1st and 2nd, as the OBS, in my judgment, occurred AT 1B.

AtlUmpSteve Fri Jun 20, 2008 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlitzkriegBob
For example, a batter gets a hit to the outfield, and before they can reach first base, they realize F3 is standing inches off the second base side of first base. They slow down and alter their base path prior to reaching first base. Are they now protected between home and first, or are they protected between first and second?

Cecil, I understand what you are saying; I also understand what Mike is saying.

If F3 is standing on 1st base, or, as stated, "inches off the second base side", I don't just rule based on the "slow down and alter prior to reaching first base." As I see this, the runner was hindered starting then ("prior to"), and continued to be hindered as she turned, and until she was again running in the path she chose, and at the speed she would have had absent the obstruction (and that includes SOME place after the base). So, even though I don't believe that BR is awarded 2nd unless I judge she would have made it, I do believe she needs to be protected if she makes that attempt.

I hope that is what Mike is trying to say; regardless, it is how I rule on any obstruction at or on a base, the one the NCAA calls "rounding" obstruction.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jun 20, 2008 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
Cecil, I understand what you are saying; I also understand what Mike is saying.

If F3 is standing on 1st base, or, as stated, "inches off the second base side", I don't just rule based on the "slow down and alter prior to reaching first base." As I see this, the runner was hindered starting then ("prior to"), and continued to be hindered as she turned, and until she was again running in the path she chose, and at the speed she would have had absent the obstruction (and that includes SOME place after the base). So, even though I don't believe that BR is awarded 2nd unless I judge she would have made it, I do believe she needs to be protected if she makes that attempt.

I hope that is what Mike is trying to say; regardless, it is how I rule on any obstruction at or on a base, the one the NCAA calls "rounding" obstruction.

Same idea, different words. Thanks

CecilOne Fri Jun 20, 2008 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
Cecil, I understand what you are saying; I also understand what Mike is saying.

Me too, and I also agree that the OBS would continue/reoccur after 1st.

It's just that if you don't say OBS affected the BR before 1st, there would be a possibility of a play making an apparent out at 1st. I guess not in the OP the way Bob presented it, but some balls to the outfield are played to 1st; not always expected by the BR.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1