The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Out or award base or bases (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/45634-out-award-base-bases.html)

canump Fri Jun 20, 2008 06:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Yes.


Rule book clearly says all runners get two bases from the TOP (8.5.I.Effect)



Well, intent is something you have to judge. Since the player was struggling to get control of the ball, I doubt she had control of herself. As I read the OP, is seemed that the gate being where she was heading is consequential.

However, you may be right, but since it wasn't clearly stated that it was intentional, I did not address it. If Canump comes back and states it seemed intentional, then we have another scenario with which to deal.

Good morning every one. Thanks to you all for your input. I did give the PU a call last night when I got home from work to get a little feed back on the play. As I had posted he's just starting out his career in umping.
He said that F7 was on a full run when she tried for the shoe string catch, started bobbling the ball immediately and was trying to straighten up at the same time, first touch was just about 2 steps from the edge of the infeild. She bobbled the ball about 5 or 6 times. So if you all can imagine, it was probably quite comical to watch. He said even as F7 gained some what control of the ball " even tho it was not in her glove or hand but controled between her arm and body with her arm in a craddle like position" she was only a good step and a half away from the gate opening of her bench and as she passed thru the opening she was still in a stumbling, full out right run trying to straighten up. I know this diamond well, the 2nd gate opening is 8' past the bag, the bench stops about 10' from the opening and there is no enclosure around the bench so as F7 entered the only obsticle would have been equipment bags etc.
The PU stated that he's sure there was no intent, he hesitated as to what to call, he didn't know the run diference but knew it was a lot, bottom of the 6th and raining. He wanted the out and called such. He said if it would have been close game he would have conferred with his partner as he was not sure what the right call is.
Thank you all for your input, as i read them I have changed my way of thinking, as IRISH says it was not a controlled catch by the book. So I figure batted fair ball going out of play, ground rule dble, 2 runs score.
BUT I do see where the kid was coming from wanting the out under those conditions.

Thanks

CecilOne Fri Jun 20, 2008 08:27am

OK, it took to post 12 to get the obviously correct answer.

Also, even though I joke about calls and SZ in rainy seventh innings, see below.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1