Yes, NCAA still has the "about to receive" clause in the Obstruction rule.
I have been taught that "about to receive" is defined as the ball being closer to the fielder than the runner.
In this sequence, I would consider the runner impeded in either Pic #2 or #3.
In neither pic is the ball there, so I have Obstruction.
Watching this play live, the camera switched from the ball in the outfield and showed the runner sliding home and the umpire (either PU or U1) with the left arm out for the Obstruction call. I did not see the OBS happen. On the replay that followed the runner from second, you saw the entire play with the runner sliding between the catcher's legs and the obvious obstruction.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
|