View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 03, 2008, 10:03am
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy
Yes, NCAA still has the "about to receive" clause in the Obstruction rule.

I have been taught that "about to receive" is defined as the ball being closer to the fielder than the runner.

In this sequence, I would consider the runner impeded in either Pic #2 or #3.
In neither pic is the ball there, so I have Obstruction.
Still agree.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy
Watching this play live, the camera switched from the ball in the outfield and showed the runner sliding home and the umpire (either PU or U1) with the left arm out for the Obstruction call. I did not see the OBS happen. On the replay that followed the runner from second, you saw the entire play with the runner sliding between the catcher's legs and the obvious obstruction.
Either I missed the replay or forgot it when SRW posted the above.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote