The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 24, 2008, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
Saw the game but didn't see that particular play. Doesn't sound like OBS to me, either. Even under ASA's stricter rule, if the runner didn't slow down or alter her stride or have to avoid, there's no OBS. From the description, it's hard to believe this qualified under NCAA rules.
Just had a non-call at the plate in game two. The talking heads kicked the rule (shocker ).

Before you tell me they still have the about-to-receive, I am very much aware of that. The talking heads noted that the catcher (Balko) has every right to block the plate as long as the ball is on the way. Well, I don't believe that is true unless the NCAA completely changed the interpretation of the rule.

Even with that allowance, watching a shot from behind the runner, the umpire could (not "should") have called OBS as the runner seemed to have changed her path long before the ball even got close to the catcher. But the umpire isn't going to see that from his position and the ball did get to the catcher prior to the runner passing behind her. Please note, I'm not questioning the umpire's call, just an observation how much of a difference there is with the about-to-receive allowance vs. possession requirement.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1