The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 14, 2008, 07:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by THREE
Base runners on 2nd & 3rd.
1 out
1 strike on batter
next pitch--batters swings and misses pitch and ball gets past catcher.
Coach(s) and fans are hollering "run-run-run" for the runner at third to come home. Batter who now has only 2 strikes starts running to first. The first baselady is running toward home plate to cover plate for runner advancing from third. Catcher and first baselady has no chance of outing runner advancing from third. Question--if batter who is running towards first and firstlady who is running towards home to make play on runner advancing from third "collide", what do we have (if anyting)?
That would depend on whether there was a play to be made at home and, in the umpire's judgment, F3 was the one who would have made that play. If that is the case, interference would be the call.

BTW, I don't feel that the softball field is any place to "out" anyone, even if she is one the "other" team.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 14, 2008, 07:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
I am not sure what you mean by "a play to be made". Obviously there was a play or else there would be no reason to ask the queston. As stated there "was no chance of outing the runner advancing from third".
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 14, 2008, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by THREE
As stated there "was no chance of outing the runner advancing from third".
This is what Mike is referring to. If no one has a chance of making a play, then there is no play upon which INT can be called.

Remember, interference is the act of a member of the offense that HINDERS someone's ability to make a play on a runner. If there's no chance in he11 to successfully make a play, then you have no interference.

Take this example. R1 on 1B with no outs. The ball's hit to the shortstop (who has a very weak arm), who tags 2B for the force out. B2 is a fast runner and has already crossed 1B. Shortstop throws to 1B, but R1 is in the way and swats the ball down (in a defensive move, as the ball was going towards his head). Would you call interference on that? No, because there's no chance in he11 there could have been a play at 1B - the runner's already there.

That's what Mike is getting at. If there's no play that could be made, then you have nothing.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 14, 2008, 07:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 14, 2008, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
That would depend on whether there was a play to be made at home and, in the umpire's judgment, F3 was the one who would have made that play. If that is the case, interference would be the call.

BTW, I don't feel that the softball field is any place to "out" anyone, even if she is one the "other" team.
Dang thats rough!! but as for the comment not related to politics your dead on
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1