The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Base on Balls Issue. (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/44144-base-balls-issue.html)

GaryBarrentine Tue May 06, 2008 10:35am

Base on Balls Issue.
 
ASA, 14U Rec Ball, 5 runs per inning.

Bases loaded, 2 outs, offense team has scored 4 runs.

Batter receives a base on balls/walk, R3 advances and crosses plate, R2 advances and touches 3rd, DC calls in the defense, R1 advances but about 3/4 way to 2nd heads toward dugout and batter heads to and enters dugout without offering to head to 1st.

What is your call? Do the run go on the board?

Thanks

GaryB

Dakota Tue May 06, 2008 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GaryBarrentine
ASA, 14U Rec Ball, 5 runs per inning....

Yes. ;)

GaryBarrentine Wed May 07, 2008 08:06am

Dakota,

Are you saying the run goes on the board?

What about the batter not going to first? Doesn't the batter have to complete her base running duties before the run counts?

Thanks

GaryB

Dakota Wed May 07, 2008 09:13am

No, I'm saying (humorously... or maybe not.... ;))rec ball with a per inning run limit is pretty low level. It is something I just wouldn't "notice."

By rule, the run doesn't count.

GaryBarrentine Wed May 07, 2008 09:17am

Dakota,

Thanks, I agree it is low. But today we can not have blow outs where kids self esteem is hurt.

GaryB

cpa Wed May 07, 2008 09:38am

This play
 
I had this exact play earlier this year in exactly the same situation except it was only the runner from first to second who failed to advance properly. I called the runner out (without waiting for appeal) and then wrestled w/ it for 2 weeks after and finally came to the conclusion I made a horsesh--t call.

My reasoning -- I called the the runner from first to second out because she stopped 40 FEET SHORT of second base, removed her helmet, and ran in the dugout. Relying on the rules supplement, I reasoned there was no appeal play here -- the rules supplement says MISSING a base is an appeal play, not failure to touch. She did not "miss" the base -- she never got anywhere near it -- Instead of waiting for an appeal, I called her out immediately.

But if you go back to the actual rule book, it clearly says FAILURE TO TOUCH is an appeal play, NOT "missing a base".

There is a helluva lot of difference between the 2 -- I can't buy that stopping 40 feet short of second is "missing" second, but I can accept it as failure to touch.

So I think I got it wrong -- although I do think the rules supplement on appeals needs to change the verbage to conform to the actual rule -- "missing a base" means can mean something entirely different than "failure to touch"

wadeintothem Wed May 07, 2008 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GaryBarrentine
Dakota,

Thanks, I agree it is low. But today we can not have blow outs where kids self esteem is hurt.

GaryB

Plus it seems to make the games go by faster, which is good for us.

Dakota Wed May 07, 2008 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GaryBarrentine
Dakota,

Thanks, I agree it is low. But today we can not have blow outs where kids self esteem is hurt.

GaryB

I do plenty of games in this category every season, so nothing implied beyond the reality of the league. In the end, the per inning run limit warps the game anyway, so what does letting them have their 5 hurt? I wouldn't have a big issue ignoring the BR and letting the run score. But, the correct call is no run scores.

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 07, 2008 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GaryBarrentine
Dakota,

Thanks, I agree it is low. But today we can not have blow outs where kids self esteem is hurt.

GaryB

I kept looking for a smiley face on this post, but to no avail!

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 07, 2008 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota

By rule, the run doesn't count.

Why? Is the runner on 3B not entitled to advance to home base when a BOB was awarded the batter. 8.5.A

Dakota Wed May 07, 2008 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Why? Is the runner on 3B not entitled to advance to home base when a BOB was awarded the batter. 8.5.A

8-1-C-1
5-5-B-1
8-2-D

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 07, 2008 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
8-1-C-1
5-5-B-1
8-2-D

Nice citation, but off point. Your contention is that the BR is out. Mine is that the inning is over when R1 advances to his/her awarded base.

Besides, if you make that call after the defense has left the field and everyone believes the game is over, you deserve whatever you get from the fans :D

Dakota Wed May 07, 2008 01:10pm

I never said I would make the call.

Quote:

Mine is that the inning is over when R1 advances to his/her awarded base.
So, it is a timing play? ;)

wadeintothem Wed May 07, 2008 10:31pm

This is rec ball with a 5 run run rule...

This is what I do when working that (our rec has a 5 run up rule).

When R1 touches home for the 5th run, I yell "bring em in".

You cant be citing ASA rules on this because this is a league rule.

So, do what you want. I consider the ball dead and inning over once the runner touches home, so that is how I handle it.

Dakota Wed May 07, 2008 10:59pm

You guys are seriously humor deprived.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1