The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   obstruction question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/43428-obstruction-question.html)

scroobs Thu Apr 10, 2008 09:56pm

obstruction question
 
r1 on 1st. b2 hits a ground ball to f6. r1 is obstructed by f3 on the way to second. f6 flips to f4 to force r1, who then throws to 1st for double play.
How would you call this action as a base ump?

Dholloway1962 Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by scroobs
r1 on 1st. b2 hits a ground ball to f6. r1 is obstructed by f3 on the way to second. f6 flips to f4 to force r1, who then throws to 1st for double play.
How would you call this action as a base ump?

When R1 was forced out, I have a dead ball (based on delayed dead ball). R1 is awarded 2nd and Batter-Runner gets first.

scroobs Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:24pm

thanks...do you always have a dead ball when an obstructed runner is put out between the bases that thet were obstructed?

LMSANS Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:25pm

Signal DDB, "Obstruction",
"out",
"out",
"Time out" "Obstruction, R1 stays at 2b"
"1 out"

Dholloway1962 Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMSANS
Signal DDB, "Obstruction",
"out",
"out",
"Time out" "Obstruction, R1 stays at 2b"
"1 out"

Disagree LM. Once R1 was forced the ball is dead. No other play can occur. R1 at 2b, BR (or R2 at this point) at 1 B...no outs

Dholloway1962 Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by scroobs
thanks...do you always have a dead ball when an obstructed runner is put out between the bases that thet were obstructed?

Most of the time yes. There are exceptions unless the runner committed another violation and that violation is being played upon, ie missing a base or leaving to earlier on a caught fly ball. Also interference or passing another runner committed by the obstructed runner.

LMSANS Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Disagree LM. Once R1 was forced the ball is dead. No other play can occur. R1 at 2b, BR (or R2 at this point) at 1 B...no outs

I sit corrected. Dholloway is correct, the ball becomes dead on the force out.

Dholloway1962 Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMSANS
I sit corrected. Dholloway is correct, the ball becomes dead on the force out.

Put this one in the record book...I got one right!!! :D

scroobs Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMSANS
Signal DDB, "Obstruction",
"out",
"out",
"Time out" "Obstruction, R1 stays at 2b"
"1 out"

thanks guys for clearing this up...my clinition likes LMSANS prior view on the ruling, which confused me re: killing it when the out occured on OBS runner...

CecilOne Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:35am

What if you judged that R1 would not have reached 2nd even w/o the OBS?

Dakota Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
What if you judged that R1 would not have reached 2nd even w/o the OBS?

Doesn't matter in this case, since the ball went dead with the supposed force out, the BR gets 1B, forcing R1 to 2B.

Dakota Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by scroobs
...How would you call this action as a base ump?

r1 on 1st. b2 hits a ground ball to f6. r1 is obstructed by f3 on the way to second.

DDB signal.

f6 flips to f4 to force r1,

"DEAD BALL" (arms up) "Obstruction - runner safe."

who then throws to 1st for double play. (irrelevant)

"batter to 1B."

SRW Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
DDB signal.

Don't forget to verbalize it when you signal it.


ASA Pg 117, 3rd line.

:)

strike4 Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:51am

Add another angle to the play
 
Would you kill the play if you had a runner on 2b who is rounding 3b to score when the obs runner is called out at 2b?

CecilOne Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Doesn't matter in this case, since the ball went dead with the supposed force out, the BR gets 1B, forcing R1 to 2B.

I was hoping someone less knowing would answer first, so I should have said so.
OK, how about OBS on R1 going to 2nd, BR out at 1st, then a tag play on R1? ITUJ, R1 somehow would not have reached 2nd, OBS or not.

Answer only if you have not seen snow in the past 2 weeks ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1