The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   BR Fails to Advance (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/43371-br-fails-advance.html)

MNBlue Wed Apr 09, 2008 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Like I said, make it a 3 man crew. Better yet, make it the big school state championship final, with 1B umpire yelling out DEAD BALL just before R1 is tagged, and have the next batter up successfully execute the sac bunt. I'd bet this rule would get some attention then.

If it was like last year's big school state final, the 1B umpire would not have seen it. :eek:

I think the point you are trying to make is a good one, but I also think it is 'small potatoes', since the liklihood of it happening is almost nil.

argodad Wed Apr 09, 2008 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
How's this situation grab everyone?

R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, no outs, bottom of 7, tie score. BR attempts a sac bunt into the infield on the 1B side. F1 fields the bunt, throws to F2 to stop R1 who is charging home. R1 gets into a run-down between 3B and home and appears to be a dead duck. BR runs into the dugout, preserving the runner on 3B. Dead ball, BR out, R1 back on 3B.

Sounds fair to me.

If you're worried about who the umpire is watching, make it a 3 man crew.


OK, OK Dakota. It's theoretically possible. However, this extremely savvy coach and his amazingly smart team (who should also be excellent base runners) could have R2 and R3 advance during this run-down to 3B and 2B by "normal" means. Same result. 1 out, runners on second and third.

Or maybe the extremely smart and savvy team is also extremely slow and cautious.

Dakota Wed Apr 09, 2008 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue
If it was like last year's big school state final, the 1B umpire would not have seen it. :eek:

There must be a story there... ;)

youngump Wed Apr 09, 2008 03:12pm

It's only a minor stretch here to call this interference with a double play. Since the runner is not advancing to first, the double play tag throw is still in order.

The problem with this interpretation is that the note on Double Play interference is specifically under 8-2-F and the particular interference is under 8-2-D.

Similarly 8-2-G could apply but you have to make the same stretch. In any case, I guarantee I will not see the BR leave until the tag is made.
________
Prilosec attorney


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1