The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Just Makin Sure

So we got R1 on 1B. Pitch is thrown R1 does the little lead off dance , F3 puts herself clearly between the runner and the base. Without a doubt she was impeding the progress of the runner . Contact was made. So I do the OBS deal but it doesn't amount to a hill of beans. Turns out we're going to do this drill for every runner that makes it to first.

Do you say something to the coach when you get a chance or just go with the OBS call all night ?

My partner thought I should explain to player/coach what's going on, kind of a warning deal. I tend to fall into the camp of thats coaching....

Your thoughts ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
are they making a play on the runner all night?

I dont say anything.. if they are making a play and there is OBS, call it all night. He'll get the idea.

I agree with you that its coaching.. many umpires like to coach.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
It depends on a lot of things. If it is a low level team, might mention it to a coach with a hint of safety in the conversation, "coach I would hate to see your F3 get her ankle smashed by a sliding runner especailly when it is OBS anyway for being in the way like that" again depends on a lot of things, level of teams, attitude of coachs and by that I mean do they appear open to this type of conversation, if they arent I will let is go and just make sure that I am positioned where I am sure they can see my DDB signal from their dugout.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
So we got R1 on 1B. Pitch is thrown R1 does the little lead off dance , F3 puts herself clearly between the runner and the base. Without a doubt she was impeding the progress of the runner . Contact was made. So I do the OBS deal but it doesn't amount to a hill of beans. Turns out we're going to do this drill for every runner that makes it to first.

Do you say something to the coach when you get a chance or just go with the OBS call all night ?

My partner thought I should explain to player/coach what's going on, kind of a warning deal. I tend to fall into the camp of thats coaching....

Your thoughts ?
If it is deliberate (IMJ), I would warn F3 to cut it out. Usually, they will adjust to the warning. If they don't, an ejection will send the message home. If it is ineptness (IMJ) and I believed it was a safety issue, I'd speak to the coach about it from a safety perspective, but also telling him that it is illegal and they have no chance at getting an out with that technique.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
So we got R1 on 1B. Pitch is thrown R1 does the little lead off dance , F3 puts herself clearly between the runner and the base. Without a doubt she was impeding the progress of the runner . Contact was made. So I do the OBS deal but it doesn't amount to a hill of beans. Turns out we're going to do this drill for every runner that makes it to first.

Do you say something to the coach when you get a chance or just go with the OBS call all night ?

My partner thought I should explain to player/coach what's going on, kind of a warning deal. I tend to fall into the camp of thats coaching....

Your thoughts ?
You act as the authority figure and that is not coaching.

When it is obvious the player is not making a play, but just being an annoyance, explain to the coach that there is nothing to be gained by constantly moving into the runner's path as described above.

Therefore, the only possible result of this cat-and-mouse game continuing is an unnecessary injury to either his or the opponent's player. Therefore, if it continues, and in the umpire's judgment, there is no valid play, it is going to be treated as unsportsmanlike conduct. You then remind the coach of the results of such a ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 21, 2008, 03:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 109
Would depend on which rule set. NCAA has a solution to this activity.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 21, 2008, 07:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orange County NY
Posts: 698
Send a message via Yahoo to ASA/NYSSOBLUE
We have a school around here that will actually TEST an ump they perceive to be new by doing that exact thing.....
__________________
www.chvbgsoinc.org
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 21, 2008, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
irish is probably right on this one.. I havent had that happen where there was intentional and continual OBS by a fielder.. if I did it would surely get tiring quick, and I wouldnt consider it coaching to zap them.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Fri Mar 21, 2008 at 08:07am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Makin' $$$ for the homies theshortbaldref Basketball 5 Sun Mar 16, 2003 08:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1