![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
Looks to me that F2 had the ball, so no OBS, she can block the plate. Doesn't look like a collision. Looks like the runner avoided it.
IMHO just an out.
__________________
"Experience is valued least by those without it." ASA, NFHS, PONY, USSSA, NCAA |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But in all 4 photos I don't see the runner alter or react so I would not rule OBS.
__________________
"Experience is valued least by those without it." ASA, NFHS, PONY, USSSA, NCAA |
|
|||
|
I want the see the other guy's photos.
(A) "picture doesn't show if the runner altered her stride ". If she did, clearly OBS. (B) "hard to tell if there was a tag by F2 ". If so, and not (A), out. (C) If safe, appeal for missing plate. (D) Ump needs cap, shirt, shorter pants, shoe polish, better position.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I agree that this is likely nothing as it would appear the the runner did not show anything that would indicate that she was hindered or impended until F2 had possession of the ball and applied the possible tag.
The only time I would be OBS would be if the runner, slowed down because F2 was blocking the plate and such change in speed cannot be determined from the photographs. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
What was actually called?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
First of all he's out of position. He needs to get on the other side of the plate.
As for a possible obstruction call, it's tough to tell with the still pictures. Just her being in the baseline without the ball doesn't make it obstruction. If the runner hesitated or changed her path any I've got obstruction. If not, I've got an out on the tag. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
|
If the runner's progress was not impeded by F2 being where she was, I've just got an out. If she was, then I might award home based on snapshots in time and not seeing the full progression of the play.
Speaking ASA, I've got no INT on this one. Sure, she didn't "give herself up," but she also didn't crash with the fielder holding the ball. Looks like they bumped, but it appeared to be a minor bump. I'm not one of those umps that says, "you have to slide or give yourself up, or else I toss you." Contact happens, and as long as it doesn't appear to be a big crash (lowering a shoulder, shoving, body-checking, etc.), I'm not going to eject you. She's already out on the tag, there appears to be no malicious contact, and looks like the catcher is ready to make a play on any other runners on base (if there are any). Ball's live, play on.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|