![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
FED states it's illegal unless F2 is "attempting a play."
ASA states "an attempted put out." F2 possibly anticipated a steal attempt. May have even be instructed to by a coach who thought he had stolen a steal sign. Perhaps the runner movement convinced F2 she "was going." Seems as if she were attempting a play. Another note of interest is ASA states this rule (throwing to an un occupied base) "does not apply with a runner(s)on base" The "ball" call was incorrect. |
|
|||
|
Using the NFHS ruleset, I would probably allow this, as the defense could have been making a play. Keeping a runner from advancing IS making a play, and that is one sure way to do it. Personally I wouldn't have penalized the defense.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
|
Well, since NFHS recognizes a throw to F3 after a base on balls as a play for purposes of the interference rule (running lane violation) - the argument being to prevent the runner from continuing to run to 2B, they would certainly recognize a throw to F5 with the runner on 2B as making a play, following the same argument, wouldn't they?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Well, I will file this under "over-officiating" in my head and put a memo on it to NOT repeat that call with runners on bases.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
runner never moved on second base.... I took this as a "brain fart" by the catcher although she has probably been coached to instinctively throw to third to halt any attempt.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Larry Sansevere SUA, NJFOA & NJWOA |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
This shouldnt be called.
If you have a runner on you have to give the benefit of the doubt to the defense. The intent of the rule is to prevent unnecessary delay by throwing it around in between pitches. That wasnt what the catcher was doing. Judgement as to intent, meaning, and spirit of the rule is required, not just simply reading black and white words and running out to enforce a rule just read.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Never missed a clinic in my life... for future reference.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|