![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Granted it is your judgement, but do you really think the batter/runner would have made 3rd with no OBS?? How many "normal" hits to the fence end up in triples? Not that many but a double is pretty much granted (sure there are a few extreme speedsters but those are exceptions). I'm protecting her to 2nd and then out as she advanced with liabilty to be put out.
It is your judgement, and I would back you on the play if that was your judgement, but if you put her at 3rd that is one argument I don't want to witness!! LOL Last edited by Dholloway1962; Sun Feb 24, 2008 at 10:23pm. |
|
|||
|
Well, that's why we get paid to do our jobs.
![]() It's our job to make those judgment calls, and we get paid for our impartial opinions. If you think the runner should only have gotten 2B, then there you go.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
I dont feel like there would be an argument at all.. maybe a ticked off coach and me explaining it.. then me going back to get the ball game back on. Thats about as long as this would last unless the coach had a six pack in his SUV in the parking lot he was in a hurry to get to.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Well I made it a triple so I had a play where the Batter was stopped at 2nd and then the ability to have the "delayed" award of OBS, since that was what was bothering me....
Irish, Are you getting at awarding R1 home if she was slowed by the OBS? Is that why you are asking about the play at the plate? If R1 was at first and B2 gets a triple, then R1 would be awarded home based on the OBS award for B2? Interesting thought, but I don't remember where we can protect another runner based on the OBS....award home if she stops at 3rd and I am awarding B2 a triple sure....but can we protect R1 going into home? Wierd cause in this case if we don't protect R1 then she can be out based on the play if she tries for home, but would be awarded home if she stayed at 3rd....seems kind of like a loop hole huh??? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
So I guess to sum it up for the OP, OBS protection ends when the runner has advanced to the awarded base. If you think they've got 3rd, then give them 3rd.
The rules supplement go into a lot of depth on the subject. Give it a read if you haven't already. It's RS #36, I believe.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|