The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Pesky after everything is done appeal! (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/42052-pesky-after-everything-done-appeal.html)

Linknblue Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:30pm

Silly me! I'm now confused. Runner missing a base is an appeal call. Considered safe until appeal is made? Because the runner is "forced" to advance and running past the base, isn't that considered to be safe unless appealed? Same as leaving too soon on tag up ..... now becomes a timed play? I speaking FP, ASA. Where in book can I find the specifics on this?

IRISHMAFIA Thu Feb 28, 2008 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Linknblue
Silly me! I'm now confused. Runner missing a base is an appeal call. Considered safe until appeal is made? Because the runner is "forced" to advance and running past the base, isn't that considered to be safe unless appealed? Same as leaving too soon on tag up ..... now becomes a timed play? I speaking FP, ASA. Where in book can I find the specifics on this?

Which part? Appeal, force, time play, missed base, base left too soon.....

If you want specifics, you need to be the same, please.

NCASAUmp Thu Feb 28, 2008 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Linknblue
Silly me! I'm now confused. Runner missing a base is an appeal call. Considered safe until appeal is made? Because the runner is "forced" to advance and running past the base, isn't that considered to be safe unless appealed? Same as leaving too soon on tag up ..... now becomes a timed play? I speaking FP, ASA. Where in book can I find the specifics on this?

Mike's referring to 8-7-G and 5-5-B-1.

AtlUmpSteve Thu Feb 28, 2008 02:58pm

Considered safe until and unless properly appealed; but that DOESN'T change the fundamental nature of the play. A timing play remains a timing play, and the time is the time of the appeal. The failure of the batter-runner to safely reach first base with two outs means runs do not score. A base that must be touched as a result of the batter becoming a batter-runner remains a force if not touched, and the result of that force is unchanged.

NCASAUmp Thu Feb 28, 2008 03:02pm

And bear in mind there is a difference between R3 failing to touch 2B (but touches the rest) and R3 missing 3B (but touches 2B and HP). The first case is a force out, but the second case is not.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Feb 28, 2008 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Linknblue
Silly me! I'm now confused. Runner missing a base is an appeal call.

Yes Rule 1 Appeal Play; RS 1.A.1

Quote:

Considered safe until appeal is made?
Yes Rule 8.3.B

Quote:

Because the runner is "forced" to advance and running past the base, isn't that considered to be safe unless appealed?
Being forced is irrelevant to this portion of the play. Rest of the question already answered.

Quote:

Same as leaving too soon on tag up ..... now becomes a timed play?
Two different types of appeal. An appeal on a tag up is ALWAYS a timing play.

Quote:

I speaking FP, ASA. Where in book can I find the specifics on this?
Rules 1, 5 & 8; RS 1, 21, 46


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1