The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Pesky after everything is done appeal! (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/42052-pesky-after-everything-done-appeal.html)

Linknblue Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:38am

Pesky after everything is done appeal!
 
Speaking ASA and HS. Based loaded. Batter hits HR out of park. Runner on 1st missed 2nd and when all is said and done....defense appeals. How many runs score?

Dakota Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:53am

How many outs were there?

MNBlue Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Linknblue
Speaking ASA and HS. Based loaded. Batter hits HR out of park. Runner on 1st missed 2nd and when all is said and done....defense appeals. How many runs score?

Same scenario, 2 outs, but base coach physically assists B/R to touch the missed first base.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Linknblue
Speaking ASA and HS. Based loaded. Batter hits HR out of park. Runner on 1st missed 2nd and when all is said and done....defense appeals. How many runs score?

Speaking ASA

Assuming there were two outs at the time of the batted ball (since there is no reason to pose such a question with anything less) and assuming the appeal by the defense is R5 missing 2nd base, 2 runs score.

Linknblue Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:16pm

Sorry, 2 outs

Dakota Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA

Assuming there were two outs at the time of the batted ball (since there is no reason to pose such a question with anything less) and assuming the appeal by the defense is R5 missing 2nd base, 2 runs score.

R5??? ;)

NCASAUmp Wed Feb 20, 2008 01:53pm

For me, this year, I've got no outs. Then again, that's a SP-only rule. ;)

Walk 'em off, guys. Next batter.

Otherwise, yeah. What Mike said.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Feb 20, 2008 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
R5??? ;)

Yep, went to a good school and learned how to count :p

argodad Wed Feb 20, 2008 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA

Assuming there were two outs at the time of the batted ball (since there is no reason to pose such a question with anything less) and assuming the appeal by the defense is R5 missing 2nd base, 2 runs score.


OK, I'll buy R5 on 1B (B1 and B2 made the two outs, and R3, R4, and R5 are on base) at the time B6 hits the HR.

But R5 was forced to 2nd. If she missed it and was properly appealed, then it's the third out and no runs score. Or am I completely wrong and confused?

Dakota Wed Feb 20, 2008 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by argodad
OK, I'll buy R5 on 1B (B1 and B2 made the two outs, and R3, R4, and R5 are on base) at the time B6 hits the HR.

But R5 was forced to 2nd. If she missed it and was properly appealed, then it's the third out and no runs score. Or am I completely wrong and confused?

You are incorrect in runner nomenclature. Unless you went to Mike's school, that is. ;)

Since it was a home run, there are no force outs available. BR does not score since she is a trailing runner behind the runner appealed for the third out.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:46pm

Boys and girls, I'm going to back up and change my call.

Thought too quick of this being a "dead" ball. However, in FP & Masters and Senior SP, they are still required to run the bases as if the ball were live.

With a proper appeal that determined the runner did not advance to the base forced by the batter becoming a BR.

I found the play above in last year's case book under rule 5. No runs score.

Dakota Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:08am

Oops... (for me, not Mike...)

NDblue Thu Feb 21, 2008 01:40am

My call would be determined if I actually saw the runner miss second base. If I don't see it, I can't call it even with a proper appeal. :eek:

fitump56 Thu Feb 21, 2008 02:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Linknblue
Speaking ASA and HS. Based loaded. Batter hits HR out of park. Runner on 1st missed 2nd and when all is said and done....defense appeals. How many runs score?

No scores.

Scooby Thu Feb 21, 2008 08:41am

No runs score.

Linknblue Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:30pm

Silly me! I'm now confused. Runner missing a base is an appeal call. Considered safe until appeal is made? Because the runner is "forced" to advance and running past the base, isn't that considered to be safe unless appealed? Same as leaving too soon on tag up ..... now becomes a timed play? I speaking FP, ASA. Where in book can I find the specifics on this?

IRISHMAFIA Thu Feb 28, 2008 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Linknblue
Silly me! I'm now confused. Runner missing a base is an appeal call. Considered safe until appeal is made? Because the runner is "forced" to advance and running past the base, isn't that considered to be safe unless appealed? Same as leaving too soon on tag up ..... now becomes a timed play? I speaking FP, ASA. Where in book can I find the specifics on this?

Which part? Appeal, force, time play, missed base, base left too soon.....

If you want specifics, you need to be the same, please.

NCASAUmp Thu Feb 28, 2008 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Linknblue
Silly me! I'm now confused. Runner missing a base is an appeal call. Considered safe until appeal is made? Because the runner is "forced" to advance and running past the base, isn't that considered to be safe unless appealed? Same as leaving too soon on tag up ..... now becomes a timed play? I speaking FP, ASA. Where in book can I find the specifics on this?

Mike's referring to 8-7-G and 5-5-B-1.

AtlUmpSteve Thu Feb 28, 2008 02:58pm

Considered safe until and unless properly appealed; but that DOESN'T change the fundamental nature of the play. A timing play remains a timing play, and the time is the time of the appeal. The failure of the batter-runner to safely reach first base with two outs means runs do not score. A base that must be touched as a result of the batter becoming a batter-runner remains a force if not touched, and the result of that force is unchanged.

NCASAUmp Thu Feb 28, 2008 03:02pm

And bear in mind there is a difference between R3 failing to touch 2B (but touches the rest) and R3 missing 3B (but touches 2B and HP). The first case is a force out, but the second case is not.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Feb 28, 2008 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Linknblue
Silly me! I'm now confused. Runner missing a base is an appeal call.

Yes Rule 1 Appeal Play; RS 1.A.1

Quote:

Considered safe until appeal is made?
Yes Rule 8.3.B

Quote:

Because the runner is "forced" to advance and running past the base, isn't that considered to be safe unless appealed?
Being forced is irrelevant to this portion of the play. Rest of the question already answered.

Quote:

Same as leaving too soon on tag up ..... now becomes a timed play?
Two different types of appeal. An appeal on a tag up is ALWAYS a timing play.

Quote:

I speaking FP, ASA. Where in book can I find the specifics on this?
Rules 1, 5 & 8; RS 1, 21, 46


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1