The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   What is the NFHS "Look-Back Rule?" (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/41868-what-nfhs-look-back-rule.html)

JEL Thu Feb 14, 2008 09:12am

[QUOTE=hawk65] If a defensive coach were to exclaim, "She can't 'look back' at the assistant coach!!" which rule/definition/case can I quote that clearly states that is not covered by the "look-back rule?"

QUOTE]

I doubt a coach would ever say that! If they do, "Sure she can coach" should be enough.

hawk, I hope you are not too seriously befuddled about this one. The "Look-Back Rule" is clear as a bell. In the FED book, 8-7-1 states when the rule is in effect, it IS then defined by articles 2, 3, and 4.

bkbjones Thu Feb 14, 2008 03:36pm

It's time to get the dead horse animation...

Skahtboi Thu Feb 14, 2008 05:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones
It's time to get the dead horse animation...

That's why the horse I led to water won't drink!!! :D

hawk65 Thu Feb 14, 2008 07:08pm

mea culpa!!
 
Okay, I finally get it!! Silly me!! I actually thought "look-back rule" would involve "looking" or "a look" or somebody taking a "look-back" at somebody or something! Instead it involves: location of feet within the 16-foot circle, stopping, starting, advancing, overruns, turns, direct moves, non-stop returns, etc., etc. -- none of which make any reference whatsoever to a "look" or "look back." This now makes perfect sense!! I'm going to go back to my book and see if "infield fly rule" involves "infield" or "infield fly."

I officiate only NFHS and have no reference to ASA or NCAA rules. Thanks to WMB for the brief historical reference and thanks to all of you for helping me finally understand. It took some prodding but this horse finally drank the water.

Dakota Thu Feb 14, 2008 08:03pm

If you want, you could investigate what is foul about a foul tip.

MichaelVA2000 Thu Feb 14, 2008 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
If you want, you could investigate what is foul about a foul tip.

And, there's also the discrimination against the outfield flies not having the same rules that the infield fly has. An investigation could be launched as to why these insects are being slighted based on their location on a ball field.:rolleyes:

CecilOne Fri Feb 15, 2008 04:39pm

It's a good thing hawk65 has a good sense of humor, at least I hope so. :)

NCASAUmp Sun Nov 27, 2011 04:10pm

Also reported.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Nov 27, 2011 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 800276)
Also reported.


This guy must have a problem with the LBR :rolleyes:

NCASAUmp Sun Nov 27, 2011 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 800278)
This guy must have a problem with the LBR :rolleyes:

He wouldn't be the first! :D

ENTDoc Sun Apr 16, 2017 07:17pm

There is a difference in the look-back rule in NFHS and ASA. In ASA, if the pitcher makes a play or fakes a throw on any player, the player is exempt from the penalty of being called out. This is a quote from the NFHS softball rules book in section 8-7:

"EXCEPTION: The runner will not be declared out if a play is made on another runner (a fake throw is considered a play), the pitcher no longer has possession of the ball within the 16-foot circle, or the pitcher releases the ball on a pitch to the batter."

So, if a pitcher makes a fake throw on a player to get her to return to her base, will not be exempt from the penalty of this rule. Also, if multiple runners remain between bases according to NFHS rules, only one may be called out in any given play.

RKBUmp Sun Apr 16, 2017 08:02pm

The lookback rule in NFHS and USA (formerly ASA) are virtually identical. If the pitcher makes a play in either or fakes a play in either the lookback rule is off. The only real difference is the requirements of the pitcher having the ball in the circle. In NFHS the pitcher only has to have possession. She can have the ball under her arm, between her legs, under her chin etc. If the pitcher physically has the ball in the circle the lookback rule is in force.

In USA, the pitcher must have possession and control, and control is defined as the ball being in the pitchers hand or in her glove. If she puts the ball under her arm, between legs etc she is not considered to have control and the lookback rule is not in effect.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1