The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   You Call It (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/41851-you-call.html)

Thurman15 Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:44pm

I don't have an NFHS Rule Book, and I don't see anything in the Look Back Rule Thread addressing a runner advancing a base on a foul ball and not returning to the correct, previous base before the next pitch.

So I will re-ask my question: Can the runner, who advanced to the next base on a foul ball, be declared out for failing to return the correct, previous base before the next pitch?

Skahtboi Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thurman15
I don't have an NFHS Rule Book, and I don't see anything in the Look Back Rule Thread addressing a runner advancing a base on a foul ball and not returning to the correct, previous base before the next pitch.

So I will re-ask my question: Can the runner, who advanced to the next base on a foul ball, be declared out for failing to return the correct, previous base before the next pitch?

Actually, you rephrased the wording of your original question, which stated:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thurman15
Is there any way the runner can be declared out for failing to return to 1B before the next pitch?

But to answer both questions, yes. Rule 8:7 of the NFHS rule basically states that when the pitcher has possession of the ball within the circle, the ball is live, the BR has attained first, and a runner remains off their base, then they will be called out.

However, when a runner has advanced on a foul ball, as in the OP, then the umpire should insure that she returns to the base she should legally occupy. It is unfair to call this runner out if the umpire has failed in his duties. I have often seen at the HS level, runners so focused on advancing to that next base that they are unaware the ball is foul, and have to be told a few times by both umpire and coach that the ball is foul and they need to return to their proper base.

NM FP Ump Thu Feb 14, 2008 11:41am

Where is BU?
 
I am just wondering. If R1 went to 2nd base on the foul ball, that would mean that, at the TOP, BU was in position 2, with his eyes on the runner. BU takes his eyes off the runner to check for the swing, sees the foul ball, but loses the runner????? How can that happen? Is BU looking at the foul ball roll along the backstop? I don't know. Okay, we have a foul ball, time for BU to send the runner back to 1st, but no action by the BU. Where is the attention of the BU? The foul ball is returned to the pitcher, in the circle; now where is the BU? Still in position 2??, or has he/she moved to position 3??? (sarcasm alert!)

In answer to the OP, I have "no pitch", send the runner back to 1st, give the DC a warning (3-6-9) and a wink, then I have a quick word with BU and tell him/her to get on his game, because we just lost all credibility.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Feb 14, 2008 07:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones
(just kidding...NMT is a heckuva school with a major requirement that you have more brains than common sense for just about all of their programs.)

Then you may have been right. I'll take common sense over "brains" any time.

Dholloway1962 Sat Feb 16, 2008 01:13pm

All I can say is there must have been some really nice scenery in the stands for that to have happened:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1