The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   You Call It (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/41851-you-call.html)

whiskers_ump Tue Feb 12, 2008 06:27pm

You Call It
 
NFHS GAME

R1 on 1B, no outs. Batter fouls off the first pitch with R1 moving to 2B unnoticed by
each BU, Or PU. Pitcher is in circle, has sign and is just about to throw when the defensive
coach starts holloring "time, time".

What would your call be?

wadeintothem Tue Feb 12, 2008 06:56pm

hmmm.. not so clear there whiskers...
Quote:


NFHS GAME

R1 on 1B, no outs. Batter fouls off the first pitch with R1 moving to 2B unnoticed by
each BU, Or PU. Pitcher is in circle, has sign and is just about to throw when the defensive
coach starts holloring "time, time".

What would your call be?

So..

I'm thinking.. foul ball.. pitcher taking sign without the ball.. am I in whisker ump land?

or doesnt that runner need to go to 1b..since its db?

or ok time, go talk with coach (I'll call time when pitcher taking sign)? Besides its a foul ball..

but I have no clue what you are getting at with your scenario...

whiskers_ump Tue Feb 12, 2008 07:00pm

so maybe a bit unclear.

R1 advanced to 2B on the fould, neither umpire saw her thus leaving her at
2B. Pitcher is in a legal pitching position with the now returned ball. Receives
her signal, starts her motion and with hand back to deliver the ball, the coach
begins yelling "time, time". Her coach.

wadeintothem Tue Feb 12, 2008 07:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by whiskers_ump
so maybe a bit unclear.

R1 advanced to 2B on the fould, neither umpire saw her thus leaving her at
2B. Pitcher is in a legal pitching position with the now returned ball. Receives
her signal, starts her motion and with hand back to deliver the ball, the coach
begins yelling "time, time". Her coach.

is this the same one as the other one?

If so, maybe delete this one ore something.

Same thing as other thread throw?

wadeintothem Tue Feb 12, 2008 07:11pm

Well if I didnt notice, then I'm quite sure I would not grant time and would be awaiting delivery of the pitch at this point.

SRW Tue Feb 12, 2008 07:26pm

NFHS:

I got a "no-pitch". 6-2-4-e. Although this rule implies that it's the OC calling Time, it doesn't specify OC or DC.

After that, I'm gonna go remind the coach to not interrupt the game by doing that... then I'll ask him what his concern is. When he points out the runner on 2B, I'll put her back on 1B and continue the game. 8-5-1

Skahtboi Tue Feb 12, 2008 07:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
NFHS:

I got a "no-pitch". 6-2-4-e. Although this rule implies that it's the OC calling Time, it doesn't specify OC or DC.

After that, I'm gonna go remind the coach to not interrupt the game by doing that... then I'll ask him what his concern is. When he points out the runner on 2B, I'll put her back on 1B and continue the game. 8-5-1

That pretty much sums it up.

CajunNewBlue Wed Feb 13, 2008 08:53am

call time... put runner back on first....... warn first base coach to make sure their players are starting legally (grin).... kick the dog and slap a baby.....refund my game fee cuzz i dont get paid to sleep on the job.

MGKBLUE Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:10pm

I have a different take.

I am unlikely to grant time to the coach if as stated the pitcher has already started her delivery.

In that case, as the pitcher stopped, I have an illegal pitch. As a pitch has been thrown, whether legal or illegal, I cannot correct the mistake.

As a result, I have an additional ball on the batter and advance the runner to third base.

Get ready for a whole lot of yelling.

Skahtboi Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MGKBLUE
I have a different take.

I am unlikely to grant time to the coach if as stated the pitcher has already started her delivery.

In that case, as the pitcher stopped, I have an illegal pitch. As a pitch has been thrown, whether legal or illegal, I cannot correct the mistake.


As a result, I have an additional ball on the batter and advance the runner to third base.

Get ready for a whole lot of yelling.

How can you have this when a coach or player cannot call time in order to cause the pitcher to be illegal???

MGKBLUE Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:28pm

I do not believe that Rule 6-2-4-e applies as time was not called "for the obvious purpose of trying to make the pitcher commit an illegal pitch" but rather to correct a mistake.

DaveASA/FED Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:36pm

Well I hope it wasn't as it was the DC that called time, if he is trying to get his pitcher to get an illegal pitch called he needs to be evaluated as a coach!

Steve M Wed Feb 13, 2008 04:07pm

I can see the reasoning behind most of the responses. Since this is high school ball, I'm going along with SRW & Scott. And, should this happen again in this game, I've probably got unsportsmanlike conduct - believing that once could be a mistake but a second time is intentional.

Thurman15 Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:32pm

Is there any way the runner can be declared out for failing to return to 1B before the next pitch?

Skahtboi Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thurman15
Is there any way the runner can be declared out for failing to return to 1B before the next pitch?

Refer to the thread on the look back rule, or, refer to rule 8:7 in the NFHS rule book.

Thurman15 Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:44pm

I don't have an NFHS Rule Book, and I don't see anything in the Look Back Rule Thread addressing a runner advancing a base on a foul ball and not returning to the correct, previous base before the next pitch.

So I will re-ask my question: Can the runner, who advanced to the next base on a foul ball, be declared out for failing to return the correct, previous base before the next pitch?

Skahtboi Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thurman15
I don't have an NFHS Rule Book, and I don't see anything in the Look Back Rule Thread addressing a runner advancing a base on a foul ball and not returning to the correct, previous base before the next pitch.

So I will re-ask my question: Can the runner, who advanced to the next base on a foul ball, be declared out for failing to return the correct, previous base before the next pitch?

Actually, you rephrased the wording of your original question, which stated:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thurman15
Is there any way the runner can be declared out for failing to return to 1B before the next pitch?

But to answer both questions, yes. Rule 8:7 of the NFHS rule basically states that when the pitcher has possession of the ball within the circle, the ball is live, the BR has attained first, and a runner remains off their base, then they will be called out.

However, when a runner has advanced on a foul ball, as in the OP, then the umpire should insure that she returns to the base she should legally occupy. It is unfair to call this runner out if the umpire has failed in his duties. I have often seen at the HS level, runners so focused on advancing to that next base that they are unaware the ball is foul, and have to be told a few times by both umpire and coach that the ball is foul and they need to return to their proper base.

NM FP Ump Thu Feb 14, 2008 11:41am

Where is BU?
 
I am just wondering. If R1 went to 2nd base on the foul ball, that would mean that, at the TOP, BU was in position 2, with his eyes on the runner. BU takes his eyes off the runner to check for the swing, sees the foul ball, but loses the runner????? How can that happen? Is BU looking at the foul ball roll along the backstop? I don't know. Okay, we have a foul ball, time for BU to send the runner back to 1st, but no action by the BU. Where is the attention of the BU? The foul ball is returned to the pitcher, in the circle; now where is the BU? Still in position 2??, or has he/she moved to position 3??? (sarcasm alert!)

In answer to the OP, I have "no pitch", send the runner back to 1st, give the DC a warning (3-6-9) and a wink, then I have a quick word with BU and tell him/her to get on his game, because we just lost all credibility.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Feb 14, 2008 07:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones
(just kidding...NMT is a heckuva school with a major requirement that you have more brains than common sense for just about all of their programs.)

Then you may have been right. I'll take common sense over "brains" any time.

Dholloway1962 Sat Feb 16, 2008 01:13pm

All I can say is there must have been some really nice scenery in the stands for that to have happened:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1