The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Foul tip? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/41348-foul-tip.html)

greymule Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:35pm

Foul tip?
 
ASA FP. B1 swings and nicks a pitch, which goes sharp and direct off F2's hand and then deflects off her shoulder to become lodged behind the chest protector. F2 reaches inside the protector, removes the ball, and holds it securely.

Is this a foul tip?

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
ASA FP. B1 swings and nicks a pitch, which goes sharp and direct off F2's hand and then deflects off her shoulder to become lodged behind the chest protector. F2 reaches inside the protector, removes the ball, and holds it securely.

Is this a foul tip?

I would say yes, but you are going to get one helluva argument if there are baserunners advancing during this period. It won't be a valid argument, but when has that ever stopped a coach?

3afan Fri Jan 25, 2008 01:23pm

its not a foul tip - must go directly from bat to glove

Dakota Fri Jan 25, 2008 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 3afan
...a foul tip - must go directly from bat to glove

..or hand.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jan 25, 2008 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
..or hand.

which is what the scenario offered.

Dutch Alex Fri Jan 25, 2008 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
which is what the scenario offered.

It can't be direct into the hand if it was lodged into the protector (as the scenario offered...).

greymule Fri Jan 25, 2008 06:11pm

It can't be direct into the hand

But it can be direct to the hand, and that's the word the rule book uses. Every code I know is the same as far as that part of the foul tip rule is concerned. Any differences usually lie in whether a defensive player other than F2 can catch a foul tip. What I'm trying to find out is whether straight from the bat to the hand/glove and then into uniform or equipment is still a foul tip, and whether various codes differ on this aspect of the rule.

greymule Fri Jan 25, 2008 06:35pm

I spoke too soon about "every code I know." The NCAA rule [A.R. 11-6] is almost unbelievable in its ambiguity:

"A ball travels directly from the bat, in a straight line, to the glove or bare hand and is deflected straight up into the air. If the catcher then legally catches the ball without moving her feet forward or sideways, it is a foul tip. If it is not caught by the catcher or the rebound is off a body part other than the catcher's glove or bare hand, it is a foul ball, not a foul tip."

So the catcher cannot move her feet (plural? how about one foot?) sideways or forward and still catch a foul tip.

1. Nicked ball goes straight to the glove and pops a few inches out to the side. F2 moves her right foot to the side and catches the ball. Foul ball, I guess. Or maybe moving one foot is OK.

2. Does "rebound off a body part other than the catcher's glove (that's a body part?) or bare hand" mean the first rebound? How about bat to glove to chest to hand?

3. Not long ago somebody asked whether a foul tip could be caught in fair territory. In NCAA softball, only if the catcher doesn't move her feet forward or to the side.

4. How about bat to glove to chest protector to hand if the catcher moved both feet before making the catch?

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jan 25, 2008 07:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dutch Alex
It can't be direct into the hand if it was lodged into the protector (as the scenario offered...).

That would be true if that is what the rule stated, but it doesn't.

SRW Fri Jan 25, 2008 07:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
I would say yes, but you are going to get one helluva argument if there are baserunners advancing during this period. It won't be a valid argument, but when has that ever stopped a coach?

You wouldn't treat it as a blocked ball? ASA 8-5-G & R/S17?

bigsig Fri Jan 25, 2008 08:19pm

Definitions: "Foul Tip: A batted ball that goes sharply and directly from the bat to the catchers hand(s) or glove/mitt and is legally caught by thwe catcher."

So in this situation if you ruled it was a legal catch it is a foul tip.

SWFLguy Fri Jan 25, 2008 08:39pm

^^^^^^

Correct ! Foul Tip--runners may advance at their own risk.

I had a similar protest situation years ago in men's fast pitch. I was the local UIC and it I was eventually involved in a 3 way conference call with then ASA UIC Tom Mason.
There is no time limit between the ball going directly/sharply to the catcher's hand/mitt and being legally caught. The ball could even bounce upward for some time before the catcher made the catch.

BretMan Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:46pm

The problem with calling this a "blocked ball" is that it does not fit any part of the "blocked ball" definition found in rule 1.

For that matter, it doesn't fit any of the requirements found in rule 8-5-G or R/S #17 either! A properly worn chect protector is neither loose equipment nor detatched equipment.

Baseball- the other white meat- has rules that cover a ball entering a player's uniform or becoming lodged in the catcher's gear. From previous discussions I seem to recall that ASA has no such rule and my quick flip through the rule book didn't turn one up.

Absent such a rule, I guess this is just a plain old foul tip- which may go from sharply and directly from the bat, first touch the catcher's hand or mitt, rebound from any part of the catcher's person or equipment, then be securely held in a manner which meets the legal requirement of "a catch".

IRISHMAFIA Sat Jan 26, 2008 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
You wouldn't treat it as a blocked ball? ASA 8-5-G & R/S17?

No, because it isn't a blocked ball (as BretMan noted).

The ball became stuck in official equipment properly worn by the DEFENSE over which the DEFENSE has total control. Now, if the ball entered and became lodge, stuck or took on any status to which the defense did not have immediate and unrestricted access to the ball, then it is a Dead Ball.

Check out 8.5.M

Steve M Sat Jan 26, 2008 04:00pm

Mike,
Didn't the original post state that the ball was lodged, and that the catcher reached in & got it? Maybe nit-picking, but if it's lodged I would think it should be dead.

SRW Sat Jan 26, 2008 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
No, because it isn't a blocked ball (as BretMan noted).

The ball became stuck in official equipment properly worn by the DEFENSE over which the DEFENSE has total control. Now, if the ball became entered and became lodge, stuck or took on any status to which the defense did not have immediate and unrestricted access to the ball, then it is a Dead Ball.

Check out 8.5.M

I stand corrected. Gotta read far enough. :)

AtlUmpSteve Sat Jan 26, 2008 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M
Mike,
Didn't the original post state that the ball was lodged, and that the catcher reached in & got it? Maybe nit-picking, but if it's lodged I would think it should be dead.

Which rule reference would you use that says a ball lodged in defensive uniform or equipment that is not loose meets the definition of a blocked ball, or any rule defining a dead ball? Everyone I see relates to either loose equipment or an offensive uniform.

I'm looking at 8-5.G, 8-5.M, RS-17, and Blocked Ball (definition). They all seem to NOT apply when lodged in defensive equipment still worn. I think this is one where one may assume it SHOULD apply, but actually doesn't.

Dakota Sat Jan 26, 2008 06:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
which is what the scenario offered.

which was my point.

greymule Sat Jan 26, 2008 07:45pm

if it's lodged I would think it should be dead.

ASA 8-4-H

"Runners are entitled to advance with liability to be put out . . . when a live ball becomes lodged in a defensive player's uniform or equipment."

From case play 8.4-9

". . . the ball remains live while it is entangled in a defensive player's uniform or equipment."

BretMan Sat Jan 26, 2008 08:46pm

greymule,

There- you found something that addresses a ball entering a uniform or equipment. Good job! I must have read right past it a couple of times.

That rule tells us that the ball remains live upon entering the uniform/equipment (ie: runners may still advance and outs can still be made).

With respect to the foul tip in question, the rule you cite combined with the definition of a catch tells us that this is a legally caught foul tip.

Under the definition of catch, we see: If the ball is merely held in the arms or prevented from dropping to the ground by some part of the fielder's body, equipment or clothing, the catch is not completed until the ball is in the grasp of the fielder's hand(s) or glove.

So, a live ball entering the uniform/equipment of a defender remains live and may be extracted, then securely held for a legal catch. That means the catcher on our play did legally catch a batted ball that first went sharp and direct to her hands or mitt.

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z...14/foultip.jpg

IRISHMAFIA Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M
Mike,
Didn't the original post state that the ball was lodged, and that the catcher reached in & got it? Maybe nit-picking, but if it's lodged I would think it should be dead.

Yes, it did say it was lodged, in a defender's legal and properly worn gear. The defense allowed the ball on which they were making a play become lodged, not the offense. If a runner is stealing, are you going to put them back on 1B and penalize the offense for a defensive faux pas? The is the defense's problem, no one elses. There is no ASA rule supporting ruling this ball dead, at least none that I can find.

greymule Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:37pm

Well, I guess we've established that the OP is indeed a foul tip. Thank you all for your input.

Now:

Bases loaded, nicked ball goes hand to shoulder to lodged behind the protector. Offensive coach knows to send all the runners while the catcher is struggling with the protector, and all three cross the plate. You, of course, watch to see whether the catcher ever gets secure possession.

The pitcher decides to give the catcher some help and comes in and lifts the protector away from F2's body, and the ball falls out into the pitcher's hand.

OK. Everybody back on your bases!

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jan 27, 2008 03:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
Well, I guess we've established that the OP is indeed a foul tip. Thank you all for your input.

Now:

Bases loaded, nicked ball goes hand to shoulder to lodged behind the protector. Offensive coach knows to send all the runners while the catcher is struggling with the protector, and all three cross the plate. You, of course, watch to see whether the catcher ever gets secure possession.

The pitcher decides to give the catcher some help and comes in and lifts the protector away from F2's body, and the ball falls out into the pitcher's hand.

OK. Everybody back on your bases!

That would be a foul ball

greymule Sun Jan 27, 2008 10:12am

That would be a foul ball

Right. For the play to be a foul tip, F2 would have to catch the ball. But since F1 is the one who secured the ball, it's simply a foul. That's why all runners would return.

Now let's posit that in the confusion with the ball lodged behind the protector and the coach exhorting the runners to advance, one of the runners passed another. Would she still be out if the potential foul tip didn't materialize and the ball became simply a foul?

CecilOne Sun Jan 27, 2008 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
That would be a foul ball

Right. For the play to be a foul tip, F2 would have to catch the ball. But since F1 is the one who secured the ball, it's simply a foul. That's why all runners would return.

Now let's posit that in the confusion with the ball lodged behind the protector and the coach exhorting the runners to advance, one of the runners passed another. Would she still be out if the potential foul tip didn't materialize and the ball became simply a foul?

The ball was live until F1 touched it, so anything that happened would seem to remain. But, a foul ball is a foul ball, so nothing happens. Wait, the ball was caught in flight, batter out, runners may advance after tagging. So, all base running rules apply.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jan 27, 2008 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
That would be a foul ball

Right. For the play to be a foul tip, F2 would have to catch the ball. But since F1 is the one who secured the ball, it's simply a foul. That's why all runners would return.

Now let's posit that in the confusion with the ball lodged behind the protector and the coach exhorting the runners to advance, one of the runners passed another. Would she still be out if the potential foul tip didn't materialize and the ball became simply a foul?

No.

Dholloway1962 Sun Jan 27, 2008 03:24pm

There is a question like this (the original post) on ASA test this year about lodged equipment :p

16) When a live ball becomes lodged in a defensive player’s equipment the ball is dead and all runners are awarded one base

greymule Sun Jan 27, 2008 04:51pm

16) When a live ball becomes lodged in a defensive player’s equipment the ball is dead and all runners are awarded one base

Just on the chance that somebody unfamiliar with the test might think this is a ruling or something, it is a statement to be judged true or false (and the answer is "false").

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jan 27, 2008 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
There is a question like this (the original post) on ASA test this year about lodged equipment :p

16) When a live ball becomes lodged in a defensive player’s equipment the ball is dead and all runners are awarded one base

That would be true.......if the defensive player walks into DBT with the ball ;)

Steve M Sun Jan 27, 2008 08:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Yes, it did say it was lodged, in a defender's legal and properly worn gear. The defense allowed the ball on which they were making a play become lodged, not the offense. If a runner is stealing, are you going to put them back on 1B and penalize the offense for a defensive faux pas? The is the defense's problem, no one elses. There is no ASA rule supporting ruling this ball dead, at least none that I can find.

Mike,
As I stop and think - I know novel thought - the ball is live and the ruling makes sense and I have even made that call in the past. Dunno what I was thinking, but obviously it was soemthing else.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jan 27, 2008 08:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M
Mike,
As I stop and think - I know novel thought - the ball is live and the ruling makes sense and I have even made that call in the past. Dunno what I was thinking, but obviously it was soemthing else.

Must have been jet lag :rolleyes:

ukumpire Mon Jan 28, 2008 05:05am

Foul Tip / Catcher
 
ISF: Rule 1 ~ Definitions ~ 39 ~ Foul Tip
Sec. 39 FOUL TIP.

A foul tip is a batted ball which
a. Goes directly from the bat to the catcher's hands.
b. Goes not higher than the batter's head, and c. Is legally caught by the catcher.
NOTE: It is not a foul tip unless caught; and any foul tip that is caught is a strike. In Fast Pitch the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball first touched the catcher's hand(s) or glove.

Okay so the play is Not a Foul Tip and cannot be a valid Catch after touching the Protector.

But it Remains Live (Although I have no Rule to back this up with!!

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jan 28, 2008 07:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ukumpire
ISF: Rule 1 ~ Definitions ~ 39 ~ Foul Tip
Sec. 39 FOUL TIP.

A foul tip is a batted ball which
a. Goes directly from the bat to the catcher's hands.
b. Goes not higher than the batter's head, and c. Is legally caught by the catcher.
NOTE: It is not a foul tip unless caught; and any foul tip that is caught is a strike. In Fast Pitch the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball first touched the catcher's hand(s) or glove.

Okay so the play is Not a Foul Tip and cannot be a valid Catch after touching the Protector.

But it Remains Live (Although I have no Rule to back this up with!!

Cannot be. If not a foul tip, it must be a foul ball and that cannot be a live ball.

However, the half of the sentence you did not highlight betrays your conclusion and reasoning.

ukumpire Mon Jan 28, 2008 09:02am

OOppss!
 
Yeah ofcourse you are right. Serves me for trying to reply at 08h00!! Foul Ball it is then

ukumpire Mon Jan 28, 2008 09:02am

OOppss!
 
Yeah ofcourse you are right. Serves me for trying to reply at 08h00!! Foul Ball it is then

Dakota Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ukumpire
ISF: Rule 1 ~ Definitions ~ 39 ~ Foul Tip
Sec. 39 FOUL TIP.

A foul tip is a batted ball which
a. Goes directly from the bat to the catcher's hands.
b. Goes not higher than the batter's head, and c. Is legally caught by the catcher.
NOTE: It is not a foul tip unless caught; and any foul tip that is caught is a strike. In Fast Pitch the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball first touched the catcher's hand(s) or glove.

Okay so the play is Not a Foul Tip and cannot be a valid Catch after touching the Protector.

But it Remains Live (Although I have no Rule to back this up with!!

Note the word in red... ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1