The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Quote:
Originally posted by Steve M
Dave,
Can't be a wreck - both players do not have the "right" to be in that particular spot at the same time. Since F6 is not in the act of fielding a ball(there's no play for F6 to make), it's not interference. Gonna have to call this obstruction and most likely put the runner back on second - F1 is moving to right and will have the runner as an easy putout at third.
On the wreck I definiately agree with Steve, It can't
be. Not to sure I can see obstruction however. To
visualize a play that F1 and F6 have an opportunity to field
a hard hit ball up the middle to F1's right, I would
feel that R1 was sorta, kinda, running in towards the two
fielders and probably slightly out of a norm path. Therefore,
I would lend more towards interference. OMHO

Most surely a HTBT play.

glen
Glen,

Remember, the obstruction call isn't to give away free bases, but to protect the runner from being put out due to a fielder impeding her. There is no question the fielder isn't protected, by rule. And it wouldn't exactly be fair to tell a runner knocked off stride, to the ground or whatever, tough noogies.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1