The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Obs (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/38227-obs.html)

tcblue13 Thu Sep 13, 2007 10:37am

Obs
 
Your favorite Ruleset

R1 on 1B 1-1
R1 Steals 2B where F4 is standing on the 1B side of the bag without the ball. F4's legs are a good 24" apart allowing plenty of room for a slide under. R1 slides but instead of sliding into the bag, she intentionally slides into the left ankle of F4 which is at least 6-8 inches off the bag injuring her. F2's throw sails into CF so that R1 would have easily made it to 3B.

Is R1 protected to 3B if you cal OBS?
Do you have USC or malicious contact?

I ask this because in a clinic (NFHS) we had last year, we were told that as long as the runner had access to the bag not to call OBS. That just does not feel or sound right to me. The injury thing was just an interesting caveat to better understand the rule and your ruling.

MD Longhorn Thu Sep 13, 2007 10:47am

It is OBS if two things happen - 1) fielder in the way without the ball, and 2) runner alters her path because of (1). (The statement that you don't have OBS if a fielder gives part of the bag is nonsense, and patently false. The runner chooses her basepath, and the fielder must be out of it.

We have (1). I'm not convinced we have (2) on this play. Having to alter her path to the base is one thing. Her altering her path intentionally AWAY from the base (which is what this sounds like) doesn't qualify. This one is EXTREMELY HTBT. If I was certain, after digesting all of the cues available, that the runner ran into the fielder ON PURPOSE, we have INT, not OBS.

Andy Thu Sep 13, 2007 10:56am

First of all, i agree 100% with Mr. Crowder. The runner has the right to the entire base, not just the part that the defense decides to "give" her.

To me, the key to your entire scenario is this:

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13

R1 slides but instead of sliding into the bag, she intentionally slides into the left ankle of F4 which is at least 6-8 inches off the bag injuring her.

I added the emphasis.

The runner cannot intentionally run or slide into the fielder to draw an obstruction call. If I was certain that the runner intentionally slid into the fielder, at minimum, I have nothing, at maximum, I have USC and malicious contact and an ejection.

I can imagine that this would be very tough to judge in real time.

MNBlue Thu Sep 13, 2007 11:03am

I agree with mbcrowder and Andy. Especially if R1 was wearing metal spikes.

Steve M Thu Sep 13, 2007 11:15am

Let me jump in & agree too. And, per Mark's comment - younger players are going to need to learn to deal with metal spikes now for Fed ball.
Like Andy said - you might just have an out & ejection and some paperwork.
Even an obstructed runner has got to run the bases legally.

TC - If you heard this correctly "I ask this because in a clinic (NFHS) we had last year, we were told that as long as the runner had access to the bag not to call OBS.", you were wrongly instructed. MB told you what you need for obstruction.

Skahtboi Thu Sep 13, 2007 11:53am

So far what has been said by all sounds correctly, though I agree that this is, in Mike C's words, an extremely HTBT call.

BretMan Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:14pm

With the fielder blocking full access to the bag, the runner sliding in a legal manner and making contact with the fielder's ankle, I'm having a hard time picturing interference or malicious contact.

"6-8 inches" off the bag doesn't sound like a wide enough tolerance to assume that the runner was "going out of her way" to make contact. I can picture that while rest of the runner's entire body is right in-line with the base.

I'm going to need to see more than that- the runner sliding away from the bag, slashing or kicking at the fielder, making contact above the knee- before you can convince me that a runner executing a legal slide is the guilty party here.

Guess that's why they call 'em "HTBT"!

Dakota Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:15pm

To all of the above, I would add that a legal slide is always legal contact. ASA does not define a legal or illegal slide. NFHS does.

How do you know it was intentional? Was the intent to injure the fielder? Did the runner still slide close enough to the bag to make contact with the bag? Other than your using the word "intentionally" - what about the slide was illegal?

NFHS legal slide, "If a runner slides, the runner shall be within reach of the base with either hand or a foot when the slide is completed."

NFHS illegal slide, "...d. the runner slashes of kicks the fielder with either leg, or
e. the runner tries to injure the fielder."

Notice it does not say "intentionally slides into" the fielder.

If the slide was otherwise legal, making contact with the fielder does not make it illegal. This was not crash interference. It was a slide.

BretMan Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:18pm

Tom,

Sounds like we both have the same take on this- posted one minute apart!

IRISHMAFIA Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13
Your favorite Ruleset

R1 on 1B 1-1
R1 Steals 2B where F4 is standing on the 1B side of the bag without the ball. F4's legs are a good 24" apart allowing plenty of room for a slide under. R1 slides but instead of sliding into the bag, she intentionally slides into the left ankle of F4 which is at least 6-8 inches off the bag injuring her. F2's throw sails into CF so that R1 would have easily made it to 3B.

Is R1 protected to 3B if you cal OBS?

Only if you, the umpire chose to protect her. Personally, I may feel that is a subsequent play and had the OBS not occurred, the runner probably wouldn't even contemplate heading to 3B.

Quote:

Do you have USC or malicious contact?
No, not if sliding where she did she still would have attained the base. After all, the runner did exactly what the rules state she can do to avoid a collision, slide.

Quote:

I ask this because in a clinic (NFHS) we had last year, we were told that as long as the runner had access to the bag not to call OBS. That just does not feel or sound right to me. The injury thing was just an interesting caveat to better understand the rule and your ruling.
You may be reading too much into what you believe you were told. Most likely, they were refering to a player who may have been stradling or standing behind, the base, not between the runner and base. This runner would have full access to the base. However, that does not mean OBS cannot be called if the runner chooses to go through the base and is then obstructed by the fielder without the ball.

David Emerling Thu Sep 13, 2007 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13
I ask this because in a clinic (NFHS) we had last year, we were told that as long as the runner had access to the bag not to call OBS. That just does not feel or sound right to me. The injury thing was just an interesting caveat to better understand the rule and your ruling.

NFHS-wise: If the runner was not hindered in his attempt to reach the base, then I would not call obstruction. You said F4's feet were 24-inches apart. Did that allow the runner access to the whole base? If so, I wouldn't call obstruction.

The runner still has the burden to slide legally. Under NFHS rules, it is an "illegal slide" if the "runner tries to injure the fielder." This is true even if the runner is obstructed.

I would not be quick to make this call, but if it seems very obvious that the runner was going after the fielder, for the expressed purpose of injuring him, I'd rule an "illegal slide" - the runner would be out.

Again, I'd give the runner a lot of latitude in this area, especially if F4 was "squeezing" the runner for access to the bag.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN

IRISHMAFIA Fri Sep 14, 2007 06:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Emerling
NFHS-wise: If the runner was not hindered in his attempt to reach the base, then I would not call obstruction. You said F4's feet were 24-inches apart. Did that allow the runner access to the whole base? If so, I wouldn't call obstruction.

The OP clearly states that the fielder was on the 1B side of the base. I don't care if she has here feet 72" apart, if it impedes the runner while not in possession of the ball, it is OBS.
Quote:



Again, I'd give the runner a lot of latitude in this area, especially if F4 was "squeezing" the runner for access to the bag.
Access to the base. Not access to the corner or "what you can get if you slide between my legs", etc. Remember, unless in possession of the ball or fielding a batted ball, the defender has no, zero, nil, zip, nada rights on the field as it pertains to runners or positioning.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN[/quote]

David Emerling Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
The OP clearly states that the fielder was on the 1B side of the base. I don't care if she has here feet 72" apart, if it impedes the runner while not in possession of the ball, it is OBS.

I agree with you, but the key phrase in your comment above is "if it impedes the runner."

I think an umpire could very well conclude that a runner was not impeded even if the fielder is positioned on the runner's side of the bag without possession of the ball.

Obstruction is not solely about the fielder's position. It is that plus the hindering of the runner. Those two have to come together.

If that weren't the case, then virtually every runner who found themselves in a rundown would be obstructed the instant the pursuing fielder threw the ball; because that would mean that a fielder was now standing between the runner and a base without possession of the ball.

Quote:

Access to the base. Not access to the corner or "what you can get if you slide between my legs", etc.
Agreed.

Quote:

Remember, unless in possession of the ball or fielding a batted ball, the defender has no, zero, nil, zip, nada rights on the field as it pertains to runners or positioning.
Zero rights "on the field" ???

I think you mean "to be positioned between the runner and the base." But even that's not obstruction unless the runner is hindered in some way. And, yes, I agree, giving the runner partial access to the base is still impeding the runner.

Example: R1 at 2nd base. Base hit to right field. R1 rounds 3rd and is attempting to score. F9's throw pulls the catcher 5-feet up the 3rd baseline. For a period of time, F2 is positioned 5-feet in front of home (between 3rd and home) while waiting for F9's off target throw.

This may or maynot be obstruction, depending on the location of R1 during the time period that F2 was positioned "illegally" without possession of the ball. If R1 was still far enough away (i.e. just rounding 3rd), the umpire could rule that F2's positioning wasn't a factor and R1 was not hindered because they were too far away.

I agree with everything you've said. I'm just making the point that it is not necessarily obstruction when a fielder is positioned between a runner and a base without possession of the ball.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN

MD Longhorn Fri Sep 14, 2007 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Emerling
NFHS-wise: If the runner was not hindered in his attempt to reach the base, then I would not call obstruction. You said F4's feet were 24-inches apart. Did that allow the runner access to the whole base? If so, I wouldn't call obstruction.

If we could wipe out all mention of "access to the base" in everyone's brain, we'd be much further along than we are.

Access to the base is MEANINGLESS Coach-speak. Forget it. Irrelevant!!!

There are two keys. 1) Fielder between the runner and the base she's trying to attain, without possession of the ball (assuming we're not talking about a batted ball here), and 2) The runner altering her path because of (1). It is no more difficult than that.

As to the OP - the fielder is obviously guilty of (1). the question is, however - did the runner alter her path because of that, with the disclaimer that a runner altering her path to intentionally draw an OBS call is not OBS - for example, moving TOWARD a fielder that was not previously in your way.

I took the OP at it's word - that the movement into the fielder's leg was intentional. You had better be SURE of this before ruling it. If it was not intentional, you have OBS.

Dakota Fri Sep 14, 2007 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder
I...and 2) The runner altering her path because of (1). ...

Small nit to pick. I don't like "altering her path" (although I know what you mean). I'd prefer to say what the rule says, "2) The runner was impeded because of (1)". Slowing down is being impeded, but may not be viewed as altering her path.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Sep 14, 2007 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder

I took the OP at it's word - that the movement into the fielder's leg was intentional. You had better be SURE of this before ruling it. If it was not intentional, you have OBS.

Even if it was intentional, so what? The rules specifically state that a runner can slide to avoid an INT ruling due to a collision. The fielder MUST be held accountable for moving into the runner's path without the ball.

AFA, legal slide, what else would you think would happen if a runner slides to avoid a collision other than making contact with the defender's legs? I'm talking about a runner prone and on the ground, not with her metal spikes raised above the runner's hips (please don't raise the issue of whether this is a viable focal point, that's not the issue at hand). And please, 24"? Don't think there are that many players who are old enough to learn a proper slide that could drop to a Figure-4 and fit in a hole that size.

David Emerling Fri Sep 14, 2007 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Small nit to pick. I don't like "altering her path" (although I know what you mean). I'd prefer to say what the rule says, "2) The runner was impeded because of (1)". Slowing down is being impeded, but may not be viewed as altering her path.

I would call obstruction on a fielder for simply complicating things for the runner. For all we know, the runner was trying to find access to the bag because her attempt to reach it was being "complicated" by the fielder's positioning on the runner's side of the bag.

For all the umpire knows, the fact that the runner slid into the fielder's leg was nothing more than the manifestation of a desperate attempt to get around the fielder - something she should not have to contend with.

If the runner's proximity to the base is so close that the fielder's position becomes an issue, obstruction is the likely call.

My previous points were that the fielder could be "blocking" the base, but it would not be an issue until ... well ... it became an issue. If the runner is still 30-feet away from the base, the fact that the fielder is "blocking" access to the base can hardly be considered a factor. The fielder can still correct their position without a violation. But as the runner gets closer, it becomes an issue and the fielder is likely guilty of obstruction at that time.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN

Dakota Fri Sep 14, 2007 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Emerling
My previous points were that the fielder could be "blocking" the base, but it would not be an issue until ... well ... it became an issue.

Agreed. There is no rule preventing a defensive player from being anywhere she wants to be whenever she wants to be there. OK, she can't be in foul territory before the pitch. OK, unless she is the catcher. But you know what I mean.

Also, as my much earlier post indicates, I am skeptical that this was an illegal slide. If it was a legal slide, then the contact was also legal.

rwest Fri Sep 14, 2007 09:04pm

Yes and No
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Remember, unless in possession of the ball or fielding a batted ball, the defender has no, zero, nil, zip, nada rights on the field as it pertains to runners or positioning.


As pertaining to this play, I would agree with this statement. But as a general statement, no. At least not according to NFHS. This year a runner can be called out for interference if they intentionally run into a fielder with or without the ball. Interference no longer requires the fielder to be fielding a batted ball.

Interference 2006: "...any act (physical or verbal) by a member of the team at bat who interferes with, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play..."

Interference 2007: "...any act (physical or verbal) by a member of the team at bat who illegally impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder...."

NFHS felt we weren't calling obstruction enough. Coaches were teaching their players to force the issue by purposefully running into the fielder. This was to get the obstruction call. NFHS now determines this to be interference. So, if they can avoid contact they have to. But we need to call the obstruction.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Sep 14, 2007 09:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
As pertaining to this play, I would agree with this statement. But as a general statement, no. At least not according to NFHS. This year a runner can be called out for interference if they intentionally run into a fielder with or without the ball. Interference no longer requires the fielder to be fielding a batted ball.

Interference 2006: "...any act (physical or verbal) by a member of the team at bat who interferes with, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play..."

Interference 2007: "...any act (physical or verbal) by a member of the team at bat who illegally impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder...."

NFHS felt we weren't calling obstruction enough. Coaches were teaching their players to force the issue by purposefully running into the fielder. This was to get the obstruction call. NFHS now determines this to be interference. So, if they can avoid contact they have to. But we need to call the obstruction.

The last two sentences just provides support for my comment. Just because a runner may be dumb enough to intentionally run into a fielder, it doesn't give the fielder the right to be there.

And I would agree with the coaches to some point. I have seen it on the field and read it in posts, "nothing was going to happen anyway." Personally, I consider that a statement of ignorance. How do you know nothing was going to happen? BR goes to round 1B and does so in an exaggerated manner and is cut-off by F3. Okay, R1 wasn't going to make it to 2B, so you don't call OBS. All of a sudden, there is a snap throw behind R1 and she is tagged out! What would you expect the umpire to do, ignore the OBS because "nothing was going to happen anyway", or make the ruling after the fact, with no signal and nothing but a shocked look on your face?

If there is OBS, call it. It's not brain surgery, almost as easy as ruling on an infield fly. It is a good practice and gives the umpire credibility among the players and coaches. They see the call, you announce the call. They are now aware that you know the rule and are not going to hesitate to make the call. It also shows that you are watching the runner, something that not all umpires do.

rwest Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:10pm

True, but...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
The last two sentences just provides support for my comment. Just because a runner may be dumb enough to intentionally run into a fielder, it doesn't give the fielder the right to be there.

And I would agree with the coaches to some point. I have seen it on the field and read it in posts, "nothing was going to happen anyway." Personally, I consider that a statement of ignorance. How do you know nothing was going to happen? BR goes to round 1B and does so in an exaggerated manner and is cut-off by F3. Okay, R1 wasn't going to make it to 2B, so you don't call OBS. All of a sudden, there is a snap throw behind R1 and she is tagged out! What would you expect the umpire to do, ignore the OBS because "nothing was going to happen anyway", or make the ruling after the fact, with no signal and nothing but a shocked look on your face?

If there is OBS, call it. It's not brain surgery, almost as easy as ruling on an infield fly. It is a good practice and gives the umpire credibility among the players and coaches. They see the call, you announce the call. They are now aware that you know the rule and are not going to hesitate to make the call. It also shows that you are watching the runner, something that not all umpires do.

Just because the fielder is dumb enough to be in the way, doesn't give the offense the right to run into her. If she can avoid contact she must. If she intentionally runs into her, that's interference and she's out.

I only hope the coaches have been thoroughly briiefed on this, because the first time I call a runner out for interference due to intentional contact with a fielder in her way, I'm sure I'm going to have to run the coach.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Sep 15, 2007 08:19am

Okay, there is a rule which allows umpires to rule interference even when there may not be any. Though I consider it ridiculous, I don't care, it isn't on point.

My comment was that the fielder has no "rights on the field as it pertains to runners or positioning." The statement is true no matter how you may want to skew.

MD Longhorn Mon Sep 17, 2007 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder
I took the OP at it's word - that the movement into the fielder's leg was intentional. You had better be SURE of this before ruling it. If it was not intentional, you have OBS.

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Even if it was intentional, so what? The rules specifically state that a runner can slide to avoid an INT ruling due to a collision. The fielder MUST be held accountable for moving into the runner's path without the ball.

My point was that the runner can't change her path to draw an OBS. I'm envisioning (from the OP) a case where the fielder is NOT directly in the path, and the runner changes her path to CAUSE a collision or contact, where her original path would not have created contact or collission. And I FULLY endorse that this is the exception, not the rule, hence the advice that you'd better be SURE that the movement away from the basepath and into the fielder was an intentional act by the runner.

Andy Mon Sep 17, 2007 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder
My point was that the runner can't change her path to draw an OBS. I'm envisioning (from the OP) a case where the fielder is NOT directly in the path, and the runner changes her path to CAUSE a collision or contact, where her original path would not have created contact or collission. And I FULLY endorse that this is the exception, not the rule, hence the advice that you'd better be SURE that the movement away from the basepath and into the fielder was an intentional act by the runner.

I am on exactly the same page as Mike C here. The runner cannot change her path to draw the OBS call. I'm seeing the play about the same as above. Due to the intentional actions of the runner, I DO NOT have OBS. As I stated before, I may have any call from nothing to USC, malicious contact, and an ejection. I will also be 100% sure before I make a ruling like this.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Sep 17, 2007 03:06pm

And I'm reading it that the fielder is 6-8 inches "off the bag" on the "1B side of the bag". To me, the places the fielder between the runner and the base. Allowing 24" to "slide under" reinforces my vision of the fielder being between the runner and base as if she wasn't there would be no reason to "slide under".

So, the runner now has a choice of running around or sliding in an attempt to reach the base. There is no requirement that the runner slide directly into a base. Since this is an attempted steal, would you not expect the runner to attempt to go to the outside part of the base? I would. For that matter, at some of the upper levels of softball you will see players actually running behind the baseline on a steal in an attempt to access the base from the outfield side of the diamond very much like a runner approaching the plate will do so from farther in foul territory than necessary.

Well, that would mean that would be where F4's left leg would be, so I'm just not seeing the big deal here. Again, at some point you have to hold the defense responsible for being in the wrong place.

Dakota Mon Sep 17, 2007 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder
...I'm envisioning (from the OP) a case where the fielder is NOT directly in the path, and the runner changes her path to CAUSE a collision or contact, where her original path would not have created contact or collission....

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy
I am on exactly the same page as Mike C here. ...I'm seeing the play about the same as above. Due to the intentional actions of the runner, I DO NOT have OBS...

I'm not disagreeing in principle, only in specific. You are both seeing something in the OP I don't see at all, absent the use in the OP of the word "intentionally." Here is the description from the OP (striking out "intentionally"):
Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13
R1 on 1B 1-1
R1 Steals 2B where F4 is standing on the 1B side of the bag without the ball. F4's legs are a good 24" apart allowing plenty of room for a slide under. R1 slides but instead of sliding into the bag, she <s>intentionally</s> slides into the left ankle of F4 which is at least 6-8 inches off the bag injuring her.

Notice, the fielder is straddling the path to the bag, with her feet 2 feet apart. The bag is 15 inches across, meaning her feet are each within a half foot or so of the width of the bag. I'm sorry, but I'm having a hard time seeing this as anything other than a somewhat inaccurate slide, especially given that the runner was forced to slide between the feet of the fielder to reach the base. This was not a fielder way off to the side of the bag. The fielder was on both sides of the bag, and was between the runner and the bag. Find me anywhere in the rule book where sliding into a fielder, even intentionally, is illegal so long as the slide itself is legal.

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
You are both seeing something in the OP I don't see at all, absent the use in the OP of the word "intentionally."

And therein lies the rub. It is this word you are deleting from the post that makes all the difference. If you take away "intentionally", then I agree with you and Mike - obvious obstruction, no thought of interference, MC, USC, or any of the rest. And I stressed at least twice that if you, the umpire, are going to call INT on this play, you'd better be 1000% sure that the contact was created by the runner, and it was intentional, and it was not an attempt to reach the base.

The thing I saw in the OP that lead me down that path was that word, "intentionally". I took OP at his word that this contact was indeed intentional, but emphasized that he'd better be sure.

Quote:

"R1 slides but instead of sliding into the bag, she intentionally slides into the left ankle "
This implied to me a change of direction AWAY from the initial path toward the bag, and TOWARD the left ankle. If, as Mike implies might be the case, the runner was already outside the bag and didn't change direction INTO the fielder, but instead merely contacted an ankle that was in or near her original path, then I too have OBS.

bkbjones Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Notice, the fielder is straddling the path to the bag, with her feet 2 feet apart. The bag is 15 inches across, meaning her feet are each within a half foot or so of the width of the bag.

I see this whole string as much ado about...

Let's say it is six inches of total clearance...so three inches on one side and three inches on the other side. Or, five inches on one side and one on the other...or four and two. Whatever.

Is it just me, or ...

How can this be anything other than obstruction? The runner has the right to go to any part of the base the runner wants. It is the prerogative of the fielder without possession of the ball to get the heck out of the road.

Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, without possession of the ball, impedes the progress of a runner.

Steve M Wed Sep 19, 2007 03:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones
I see this whole string as much ado about...

Let's say it is six inches of total clearance...so three inches on one side and three inches on the other side. Or, five inches on one side and one on the other...or four and two. Whatever.

Is it just me, or ...

How can this be anything other than obstruction? The runner has the right to go to any part of the base the runner wants. It is the prerogative of the fielder without possession of the ball to get the heck out of the road.

Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, without possession of the ball, impedes the progress of a runner.

John,
I agree - chances are really good that you have obstruction. BUT, the runner is still required to run legally. The OP said, "R1 slides but instead of sliding into the bag, she intentionally slides into the left ankle of F4 which is at least 6-8 inches off the bag injuring her."
Now, I'm going to have to be very sure that there was intent to go after & injure. And, if I am that sure, I've got USC and an ejection.
If, and it's a really big if, it is so painfully obvious that R1 intends to go after
F4 with this slide - chances are pretty good that most will recognize that and "reward" R1 accordingly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1