The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 34
out?

long time no chat...anyway...heres the sitch
asa slow pitch womens, bases loaded batter hits ground ball to short stop, all runners begin to advance due to the forces, as the short stop moves into the base line to tag the runner advancing from 2nd she stops and the moves backwards towards 2nd, my partner behind the plate calls here out and thats the end of the play so far as this sitch goes...coaches want to know why and the explanation given was cuz she was avoiding a tag, like running out of the base line...help me understand plz...I have not interpreted base line and force out sitches like this, except running to first
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 07:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Your partner was wrong. There are no restrictions on moving backward on anyone except the batter-runner between home & 1B.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 07:26am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtfreek
long time no chat...anyway...heres the sitch
asa slow pitch womens, bases loaded batter hits ground ball to short stop, all runners begin to advance due to the forces, as the short stop moves into the base line to tag the runner advancing from 2nd she stops and the moves backwards towards 2nd, my partner behind the plate calls here out and thats the end of the play so far as this sitch goes...coaches want to know why and the explanation given was cuz she was avoiding a tag, like running out of the base line...help me understand plz...I have not interpreted base line and force out sitches like this, except running to first
Could this have been the coach I ran into at nationals a while back?

R1 at 1B, ball hit to F4, about 10' from the 2B bag, F4 waits for R1 to run to her, but she just stops! F4 finally throws to F3 for the out at 1B, and R1 reaches 2B safely. D coach comes out and tells me "she (R1) is out, she can't do that" I asked "coach, what did she do?" "she stopped in the baseline, she can't stop or go backwards." All I said was "coach, how could she ever get in a rundown?" He looked a bit sheepish, and went back to his dugout.

Between innings he came and told me, "I knew that, but there were some parents saying she couldn't do that!"

Yeah, right.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 12:30pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
I'm gonna take a different approach on this...

Correct, no restriction on moving backwards on anyone except the BR... ASA 8.2.H.

But a baserunner moving backwards, sideways, wherever - more than 3 feet from the base path to avoid a tag... I got me an out. ASA 8.7.A
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
I'm gonna take a different approach on this...

Correct, no restriction on moving backwards on anyone except the BR... ASA 8.2.H.

But a baserunner moving backwards, sideways, wherever - more than 3 feet from the base path to avoid a tag... I got me an out. ASA 8.7.A
Am I the only one who thinks this is an absolutely incorrect call?

Suppose you have R1 on 2B, and B2 hits the ball to the shortstop. You're saying that R1 can't take a few steps, then retreat to 2B if the shortstop goes after him with the ball?
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Am I the only one who thinks this is an absolutely incorrect call?

Suppose you have R1 on 2B, and B2 hits the ball to the shortstop. You're saying that R1 can't take a few steps, then retreat to 2B if the shortstop goes after him with the ball?
No, you are not the only one. I think that is why SRW started his post the way he did.
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 03:57pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13
No, you are not the only one. I think that is why SRW started his post the way he did.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 03:57pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Am I the only one who thinks this is an absolutely incorrect call?

Suppose you have R1 on 2B, and B2 hits the ball to the shortstop. You're saying that R1 can't take a few steps, then retreat to 2B if the shortstop goes after him with the ball?
You have given a totally different scenario where R1 isn't forced to advance. The OP had bases loaded, where every runner is forced to advance.

Does that matter? Is the base path created when the runner is forced to advance? i.e.: in the OP, R2 on 2B set her path to 3B, then deviated (backwards) by more than 3 feet to avoid the tag.

Just sparking discussion here... think like a protest committee ... prove to me that calling an out in the OP is incorrect.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
Just sparking discussion here... think like a protest committee ... prove to me that calling an out in the OP is incorrect.
As the UIC on the protest committee , I would have to report to the others that there is no rule forbidding a runner from retreating to a base, forced or not, even if to avoid a tag.

I would like to know which rule YOU were exercising in ruling the runner out. (Key note: If you use the term "base line" in your reasoning, you probably just lost my ear, and possibly a game on the last day )

BTW, I don't have to prove you wrong, you need to prove you are correct to the protest committee.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2007, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
You have given a totally different scenario where R1 isn't forced to advance. The OP had bases loaded, where every runner is forced to advance.

Does that matter? Is the base path created when the runner is forced to advance? i.e.: in the OP, R2 on 2B set her path to 3B, then deviated (backwards) by more than 3 feet to avoid the tag.

Just sparking discussion here... think like a protest committee ... prove to me that calling an out in the OP is incorrect.
The basepath is the line between the baserunner and the base she's going to. There is NO RULE that says a runner (other than BR between home and 1st) cannot run toward her previous base. Retreating more than 3 feet to avoid a tag is CERTAINLY a legal move, as she is heading toward the previous base and still in her basepath to that base. Subsequent action could even allow her to run to and stop at that base, should a succeeding runner be put out at any point.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1