![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Does that matter? Is the base path created when the runner is forced to advance? i.e.: in the OP, R2 on 2B set her path to 3B, then deviated (backwards) by more than 3 feet to avoid the tag. Just sparking discussion here... think like a protest committee ... prove to me that calling an out in the OP is incorrect.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
, I would have to report to the others that there is no rule forbidding a runner from retreating to a base, forced or not, even if to avoid a tag.I would like to know which rule YOU were exercising in ruling the runner out. (Key note: If you use the term "base line" in your reasoning, you probably just lost my ear, and possibly a game on the last day )BTW, I don't have to prove you wrong, you need to prove you are correct to the protest committee. |
|
|||
|
The "proof" is in the rule itself.
Read the rule that declares a runner out for deviating three feet from her basepath. It refers to running the bases in either forward or reverse order. The basepath is a "two-way street". It is the straight line from the runner's position when the tag is attempted to either the forward or reverse base. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Keep following me down the rabbit hole, Alice...er, Bret ![]() The base path is defined (Rule 1 - Base Path) as "a line directly between a base and the runner's position at the time a defensive player is attempting to tag that runner." If the "line" is now between 'X' and 3B, and suddenly the runner deviates backwards 3 feet from 'X', is this not a violation of 8.7.A? If the runner deviates 3 feet perpendicular to the base path, you have an out. Why not an out if the runner retreats 3 feet behind her starting position when the tag is attempted?
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
|
Why not? Because the rule states that it applies to a runner running the bases in either "regular (forward) or reverse order".
As long as that "reverse order" path is a straight line back toward the previous base (within the allowable three feet deviation), the runner has not committed a violation. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Believe it or not, this exact same scenario was presented to me by another umpire earlier in the year. The other umpire, a new guy we'll call Timmy, wanted to call the out for retreating on a forced runner to avoid the tag. When I explained to Timmy that ya can't do that unless it was the BR, he then tried to tell me R2 was forced to 3B, and had to run forward or stop, but couldn't go backwards to avoid the tag. He had a pretty much convinced himself he was correct until I explained that by rule runners can go backwards. That's why we have rundowns, and rules for two runners being on one base.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Why cant the BR run backwards on the basepath??
__________________
It's sad when you're at a baseball game and realize that you'll never have the money, status or talent that the guys on the field take for granted. And it gets even worse when the grounds crew gives way to the players. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
IMO, this is a HTBT play, and the key issue is when is the runner avoiding a tag? Stopping, even retreating, when the fielder ahead has the ball is not avoiding a tag; you cannot be avoiding a hypothetical tag until one is attempted. AHA!! The key, I think, is that a tag must be attempted; once that happens, the base path is established, and the 3' variation avoiding the tag in any direction, including a reversal when forced, can be enforced.
Prior to the attempt, being forced doesn't require a runner to run into a future tag. After all, the play made may remove that force.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|