![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I'm gonna take a different approach on this...
Correct, no restriction on moving backwards on anyone except the BR... ASA 8.2.H. But a baserunner moving backwards, sideways, wherever - more than 3 feet from the base path to avoid a tag... I got me an out. ASA 8.7.A
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Suppose you have R1 on 2B, and B2 hits the ball to the shortstop. You're saying that R1 can't take a few steps, then retreat to 2B if the shortstop goes after him with the ball?
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning"
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Does that matter? Is the base path created when the runner is forced to advance? i.e.: in the OP, R2 on 2B set her path to 3B, then deviated (backwards) by more than 3 feet to avoid the tag. Just sparking discussion here... think like a protest committee ... prove to me that calling an out in the OP is incorrect.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
, I would have to report to the others that there is no rule forbidding a runner from retreating to a base, forced or not, even if to avoid a tag.I would like to know which rule YOU were exercising in ruling the runner out. (Key note: If you use the term "base line" in your reasoning, you probably just lost my ear, and possibly a game on the last day )BTW, I don't have to prove you wrong, you need to prove you are correct to the protest committee. |
|
|||
|
The "proof" is in the rule itself.
Read the rule that declares a runner out for deviating three feet from her basepath. It refers to running the bases in either forward or reverse order. The basepath is a "two-way street". It is the straight line from the runner's position when the tag is attempted to either the forward or reverse base. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Keep following me down the rabbit hole, Alice...er, Bret ![]() The base path is defined (Rule 1 - Base Path) as "a line directly between a base and the runner's position at the time a defensive player is attempting to tag that runner." If the "line" is now between 'X' and 3B, and suddenly the runner deviates backwards 3 feet from 'X', is this not a violation of 8.7.A? If the runner deviates 3 feet perpendicular to the base path, you have an out. Why not an out if the runner retreats 3 feet behind her starting position when the tag is attempted?
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
|
Why not? Because the rule states that it applies to a runner running the bases in either "regular (forward) or reverse order".
As long as that "reverse order" path is a straight line back toward the previous base (within the allowable three feet deviation), the runner has not committed a violation. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
IMO, this is a HTBT play, and the key issue is when is the runner avoiding a tag? Stopping, even retreating, when the fielder ahead has the ball is not avoiding a tag; you cannot be avoiding a hypothetical tag until one is attempted. AHA!! The key, I think, is that a tag must be attempted; once that happens, the base path is established, and the 3' variation avoiding the tag in any direction, including a reversal when forced, can be enforced.
Prior to the attempt, being forced doesn't require a runner to run into a future tag. After all, the play made may remove that force.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|