![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Quote:
But, in a normal dead ball situation where an appeal could be allowed, I still think that I would have accepted that.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
And no ... the coach can't make the DBA. I guess we don't "all know" this, since it's false.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
There is my one to miss on this board for the year. Now back to work.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
what is a 'weak' safe call?? --puzzled--
__________________
It's sad when you're at a baseball game and realize that you'll never have the money, status or talent that the guys on the field take for granted. And it gets even worse when the grounds crew gives way to the players. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
If my mechanics in this situation are wrong I am open to suggestions. |
|
|||
[QUOTE=Julio Caliente]I use a "weak" safe call when something like this happens. Basically, I do not verbalize safe and its kind of a half-hearted motion. In my opinion she had "attained" the plate. Her entire body (legs, feet, and all) had passed the plate before they was an attempt to put her out, actually there never was an attempt to put her out. I signaled safe and that point it was up to the defense to either tag her or appeal. I treated it the same way I would have if a runner had "attained" first base (entire body past the bag) before the throw arrived, but didn't tag the base. In that situation I would wait to make sure that the runner did not hit the base with their trailing foot, make a weak safe call, and then wait for a live ball appeal. If the runner comes back and retouches first before the live ball appeal then there can be no appeal.
In all my little-league, major, pony, high school playing in the catchers position I do not remember an umpire calling someone safe who didn't touch the plate, even if the runner clearly beat an attempted tag. I remember umpires making no call and that usually alerted the coaches, or the catchers to try to tag the runner out before he does touch the plate. In those more rare times when a runner misses the 1st base bag but clearly beats the throw a safe call would be made and if no live ball appeal comes before the runner retouches there remains no more appeal available. Is a missed plate in softball treated the same as a runner that misses 1st base? Are we to call the runner safe when she missed the plate just because no tag was attempted? I ask for more comments and direction from the board to help clear up my understanding. I have two years under my belt umpiring and three years coaching but the more I think I know the more I realize I have a whole lot to learn. .. Al |
|
|||
[quote=Al]
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Worked at the PFX tour this weekend - Part II: The Good | Julio Caliente | Softball | 14 | Thu Sep 06, 2007 02:36pm |
Worked at the PFX tour this weekend - Part I: The Bad | Julio Caliente | Softball | 9 | Wed Sep 05, 2007 04:08pm |
manchester united tour asia | xeno | Soccer | 0 | Tue Jul 19, 2005 02:01am |
Tour de France | reffish | Basketball | 16 | Fri Jul 08, 2005 07:29am |
Ugly, Ugly Game | rockyroad | Basketball | 9 | Thu Feb 20, 2003 02:16pm |