The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
And....a verbal only appeal must be during a dead-ball period. Otherwise, the plate or player would have to be tagged for the appeal to be valid.

If the coach would have instructed F2 to step on the plate with the ball I would have rung her up, or if they had announced they were making an appeal and made a proper appeal I would have rung her up.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
I remembered one more.....


Runner on first and third (I still need to get the nuances of SB down with the R3, R2, etc) with an obvious bunt coming. F5 is playing way in, so in that she covered home on a passed ball. BU calls time and tells F5 she cant play that close. I have no idea what rule he was quoting or what. When I asked him after the game all he said was that he felt it was unsafe for her to play that close. Now, it might have been but I don't think that is his call.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 06:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julio Caliente
I remembered one more.....


Runner on first and third (I still need to get the nuances of SB down with the R3, R2, etc) with an obvious bunt coming. F5 is playing way in, so in that she covered home on a passed ball. BU calls time and tells F5 she cant play that close. I have no idea what rule he was quoting or what. When I asked him after the game all he said was that he felt it was unsafe for her to play that close. Now, it might have been but I don't think that is his call.
Speaking ASA

The only rule an umpire could take action upon as it relates to the fielder's position (other than in fair territory) would be under 6fp.5.B, Defensive Positioning. However, the umpire would have to judge that the fielder was in the batter's line of vision or in an unsportsmanlike intent act in a manner to distract the batter. However, it isn't repositioning of a player, but an ejection.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA

The only rule an umpire could take action upon as it relates to the fielder's position (other than in fair territory) would be under 6fp.5.B, Defensive Positioning. However, the umpire would have to judge that the fielder was in the batter's line of vision or in an unsportsmanlike intent act in a manner to distract the batter. However, it isn't repositioning of a player, but an ejection.
This was not the case for sure.


There were also quite a few double calls that game on pop flys and fly balls in that game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worked at the PFX tour this weekend - Part II: The Good Julio Caliente Softball 14 Thu Sep 06, 2007 02:36pm
Worked at the PFX tour this weekend - Part I: The Bad Julio Caliente Softball 9 Wed Sep 05, 2007 04:08pm
manchester united tour asia xeno Soccer 0 Tue Jul 19, 2005 02:01am
Tour de France reffish Basketball 16 Fri Jul 08, 2005 07:29am
Ugly, Ugly Game rockyroad Basketball 9 Thu Feb 20, 2003 02:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1