The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
"Blue, did she miss home plate?"

That's a good enough appeal for me.
Speaking ASA, I disagree. The coach cannot make this appeal.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Speaking ASA, I disagree. The coach cannot make this appeal.
And....a verbal only appeal must be during a dead-ball period. Otherwise, the plate or player would have to be tagged for the appeal to be valid.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Welcome to softball. Things are little different on this field. Runners and batters are designated in the order they batted. IOW, if the bases were loaded with no outs, R1 would be on 3B, R2 on 2B, R3 on 1B and B4 at the plate.

Also, any "free" food may not be the concession's issue. Those folks are basically a business and in many cases, are accountable for their inventory. Those running the tournament would be to address on this issue as to whether they made any arrangements for the umpires. Done different ways all over.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Wed Sep 05, 2007 at 05:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Welcome to softball. Things are little different on this field. Runners and batters are designated in the order they batted.
IOW, if the bases were loaded with no outs, R1 would be on 3B, R2 on 2B, R3 on 1B and B4 at the plate.
Or maybe still on deck.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 05:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Or maybe still on deck.
Thanks, nice catch.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 10:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Welcome to softball. Things are little different on this field. Runners and batters are designated in the order they batted. IOW, if the bases were loaded with no outs, R1 would be on 3B, R2 on 2B, R3 on 1B and B4 at the plate.
Thanks for the tip.....

I am still going to mess it up though.......
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
And....a verbal only appeal must be during a dead-ball period. Otherwise, the plate or player would have to be tagged for the appeal to be valid.
Mike, This might be worth consideration for a rule change. Allow the same verbal appeal that Fed does.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M
Mike, This might be worth consideration for a rule change. Allow the same verbal appeal that Fed does.
Not from me. With all the daddy-coaches, scorekeepers and parents all screaming at the same time.

Nope, I'm quite happy waiting on a player to make the proper appeal and if she is being coached from the dugout, that's fine with me, too.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
And....a verbal only appeal must be during a dead-ball period. Otherwise, the plate or player would have to be tagged for the appeal to be valid.

If the coach would have instructed F2 to step on the plate with the ball I would have rung her up, or if they had announced they were making an appeal and made a proper appeal I would have rung her up.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
I remembered one more.....


Runner on first and third (I still need to get the nuances of SB down with the R3, R2, etc) with an obvious bunt coming. F5 is playing way in, so in that she covered home on a passed ball. BU calls time and tells F5 she cant play that close. I have no idea what rule he was quoting or what. When I asked him after the game all he said was that he felt it was unsafe for her to play that close. Now, it might have been but I don't think that is his call.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 06:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julio Caliente
I remembered one more.....


Runner on first and third (I still need to get the nuances of SB down with the R3, R2, etc) with an obvious bunt coming. F5 is playing way in, so in that she covered home on a passed ball. BU calls time and tells F5 she cant play that close. I have no idea what rule he was quoting or what. When I asked him after the game all he said was that he felt it was unsafe for her to play that close. Now, it might have been but I don't think that is his call.
Speaking ASA

The only rule an umpire could take action upon as it relates to the fielder's position (other than in fair territory) would be under 6fp.5.B, Defensive Positioning. However, the umpire would have to judge that the fielder was in the batter's line of vision or in an unsportsmanlike intent act in a manner to distract the batter. However, it isn't repositioning of a player, but an ejection.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2007, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA

The only rule an umpire could take action upon as it relates to the fielder's position (other than in fair territory) would be under 6fp.5.B, Defensive Positioning. However, the umpire would have to judge that the fielder was in the batter's line of vision or in an unsportsmanlike intent act in a manner to distract the batter. However, it isn't repositioning of a player, but an ejection.
This was not the case for sure.


There were also quite a few double calls that game on pop flys and fly balls in that game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worked at the PFX tour this weekend - Part II: The Good Julio Caliente Softball 14 Thu Sep 06, 2007 02:36pm
Worked at the PFX tour this weekend - Part I: The Bad Julio Caliente Softball 9 Wed Sep 05, 2007 04:08pm
manchester united tour asia xeno Soccer 0 Tue Jul 19, 2005 02:01am
Tour de France reffish Basketball 16 Fri Jul 08, 2005 07:29am
Ugly, Ugly Game rockyroad Basketball 9 Thu Feb 20, 2003 02:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1