The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Infield Fly question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/37587-infield-fly-question.html)

Julio Caliente Tue Sep 04, 2007 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
I am wondering how these two explained themselves to the OC.


I have no idea on that explanation, but after some of the things the UIC told them and the way they took it I am going to say not too good.

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 04, 2007 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Emerling
Are you also saying that the Infield Fly Rule cannot be invoked if a ball, easily catchable by an infielder, is actually caught by an outfielder - For instance, a high popup just a few steps behind F4, is caught by F9 who calls F4 off?

David Emerling
Memphis, TN

He's an idiot, and I'm all for the dogpile... but unfortunately that's not what he said at all. He said CAN, not IS.

Dakota Tue Sep 04, 2007 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
I am wondering how these two explained themselves to the OC.

They explained that it was not a time out signal, but an overhead double fist pump.

Skahtboi Tue Sep 04, 2007 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
They explained that it was not a time out signal, but an overhead double fist pump.


But....wouldn't that mean that the ball hit the plate......twice?

Julio Caliente Tue Sep 04, 2007 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
But....wouldn't that mean that the ball hit the plate......twice?

Just wait until I write "The Ugly" from this weekend.


These two umpires along w/ their daughter will be part of it.

Andy Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Julio Caliente
...Say you were the BU and the PU signaled with both hands in the air or vice versa, what would you do?

Since no one answered your question yet......

I'm declaring the batter out, and placing the runners back on the bases they were on when the ball was hit.

From your description, it's obvious that the runner reacted to the umpires dead ball signal and was placed in jeopardy from it.

Oh yeah....and I'm going to have some words for him/her after the game also.

David Emerling Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy
Since no one answered your question yet......

I'm declaring the batter out, and placing the runners back on the bases they were on when the ball was hit.

From your description, it's obvious that the runner reacted to the umpires dead ball signal and was placed in jeopardy from it.

Oh yeah....and I'm going to have some words for him/her after the game also.

If the umpires explained that they did not give the "Time/Dead Ball" signal, then it wasn't - even if the runners thought it was. After all, they didn't say "Time!", did they? They didn't say "Dead Ball!", did they?

Did the umpires say, "Infield fly, batter's out!"?

If so, then that's what it was!

The offense bears the responsibility of knowing what it means when an Infield Fly is declared.

As unorthodox as the umpires' gestures may have been, if they (the umpires) felt that it did not unfairly put the runners in jeopardy, then the call stands. The runner is out.

Now, if the umpires thought that they did, in fact, signal inappropriately -and- as a direct result of their signals the runners were unfairly put in jeopardy -then- I could see calling the batter out and putting the runners back.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN

MNBlue Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Emerling
Now, if the umpires thought that they did, in fact, signal inappropriately -and- as a direct result of their signals the runners were unfairly put in jeopardy -then- I could see calling the batter out and putting the runners back.

If their mechanics are bad enough to signal dead ball during an IFF, what is the liklihood that any of this is actually going to happen?

NCASAUmp Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Emerling
If the umpires explained that they did not give the "Time/Dead Ball" signal, then it wasn't - even if the runners thought it was. After all, they didn't say "Time!", did they? They didn't say "Dead Ball!", did they?

Did the umpires say, "Infield fly, batter's out!"?

If so, then that's what it was!

The offense bears the responsibility of know what it means when an Infield Fly is declared.

As unorthodox as the umpires' gestures may have been, if they (the umpires) felt that it did not unfairly put the runners in jeopardy, then the call stands. The runner is out.

Now, if the umpires thought that they did, in fact, signal inappropriately -and- as a direct result of their signals the runners were unfairly put in jeopardy -then- I could see calling the batter out and putting the runners back.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN

Yeah, I'm going to have to disagree with you somewhat on this...

What we've got here is a fustercluck due to two umpires making a bad visual call. However, it is NOT up to the runners to know that ONLY an IFF was called when two umpires gave the dead ball signal. Maybe the batter's foot was completely out of the box. Maybe, somehow, the ball contacted the bat twice. Maybe a plane was about to crash land on the outfield fence. Runners can't see these things, and so they rely upon us umpires to make the right call, both verbal and visual.

I'm a particularly loud umpire, and despite this fact, there are times when verbal calls are not heard due to dozens of spectators and participants yelling a million different things. This is why verbal calls are almost always accompanied by visual calls, especially for situations such as these. When the wrong visual call is given, runners are placed in jeopardy. At this point, the Offensive Coach should have protested the game, and those two umps should be sent to the next clinic (or maybe to this forum).

I had an IFF the other night that went unheard due to everyone screaming, but I sure as hell threw up my right fist (and ONLY my right fist) and came out from behind the plate.

David Emerling Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Yeah, I'm going to have to disagree with you somewhat on this...

What we've got here is a fustercluck due to two umpires making a bad visual call. However, it is NOT up to the runners to know that ONLY an IFF was called when two umpires gave the dead ball signal. Maybe the batter's foot was completely out of the box. Maybe, somehow, the ball contacted the bat twice. Maybe a plane was about to crash land on the outfield fence. Runners can't see these things, and so they rely upon us umpires to make the right call, both verbal and visual.

I'm a particularly loud umpire, and despite this fact, there are times when verbal calls are not heard due to dozens of spectators and participants yelling a million different things. This is why verbal calls are almost always accompanied by visual calls, especially for situations such as these. When the wrong visual call is given, runners are placed in jeopardy. At this point, the Offensive Coach should have protested the game, and those two umps should be sent to the next clinic (or maybe to this forum).

I had an IFF the other night that went unheard due to everyone screaming, but I sure as hell threw up my right fist (and ONLY my right fist) and came out from behind the plate.

Yeah, that's a pretty good analysis.

Like I said, the umpires have to be convinced they signaled incorrectly and created the situation. If the umpires thought they signaled appropriately, they shouldn't allow the coach or players talk them into what THEY thought the umpire signaled.

This reminds me of the old urban legend (not sure if it's true). During a big game with thousands of fans, the runner slides into a base on a close play and the umpire signals "out" yet says "Safe!". The runner, lying there confused asks, "Well, am I safe or out?" to which the umpire replies. "I know you're safe. You know you're safe. But 20 thousand people think you're out. So you're out." :)

David Emerling
Memphis, TN

bigsig Wed Sep 05, 2007 01:02pm

Did a LL tourney Monday. Bases loaded, no outs. Fly ball hit to 2B, I call and signal IFF. 2B drops the ball and runner from 3B scores to win the game.

Coach comes out and argues runner from 3B didn't tag up. I tried to explain to him that the ball was dropped and no tag up was required. He still insists that LL rules require a runner to tag on an IFF even if the ball is not cought.

TD rejected his protest.

Dakota Wed Sep 05, 2007 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Yeah, I'm going to have to disagree with you somewhat on this...

What we've got here is a fustercluck due to two umpires making a bad visual call. However, it is NOT up to the runners to know that ONLY an IFF was called when two umpires gave the dead ball signal. Maybe the batter's foot was completely out of the box. Maybe, somehow, the ball contacted the bat twice. Maybe a plane was about to crash land on the outfield fence. Runners can't see these things, and so they rely upon us umpires to make the right call, both verbal and visual.

I'm a particularly loud umpire, and despite this fact, there are times when verbal calls are not heard due to dozens of spectators and participants yelling a million different things. This is why verbal calls are almost always accompanied by visual calls, especially for situations such as these. When the wrong visual call is given, runners are placed in jeopardy. At this point, the Offensive Coach should have protested the game...

I'm with you up to that last sentence. Unfortunately, poor umpire signals is not a protestable situation. Neither is failure to apply rule 10-3-C protestable (none of rule 10 is protestable). They got jobbed, but other than "protest" to the UIC and hope he oversteps his authority and overrules his crew, they have no real recourse.

Julio Caliente Wed Sep 05, 2007 01:35pm

Well, here is what happened.

-The play stood

-Nobody protested

-UIC was flabbergasted but realized there was nothing he could do.

-The top umpire (not UIC, but the umpire regarded as the best one there) went to discuss with them their mechanics, judgement, and uniforms but they were having non of it. Told the umpire that he was wrong and they were correct.

Skahtboi Wed Sep 05, 2007 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Julio Caliente
Well, here is what happened.

-The play stood

-Nobody protested

-UIC was flabbergasted but realized there was nothing he could do.

-The top umpire (not UIC, but the umpire regarded as the best one there) went to discuss with them their mechanics, judgement, and uniforms but they were having non of it. Told the umpire that he was wrong and they were correct.

So...go ahead and hit us with "the ugly."

Julio Caliente Wed Sep 05, 2007 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
So...go ahead and hit us with "the ugly."

Ask and you shall receive.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1