![]() |
Tripple Play STOPPED
Please someone settle this argument.
It's the top of the 6th, they have no out's runners at 1st and 2nd and I am playing short stop. the ball is hit low and hard. I could of dived to catch it, but i saw at least a double play, the ball bounced at my feet. I intended to tag the runner from 2nd, step on the 2nd base then throw to 1st. TRIPPLE PLAY. but as I tagged the runner, he pushed my glove away knocking the ball out of my hand. He then deliberatly ran and stood between me and the ball, he then ran to 3rd. The umpire said that i did not have control of the ball. But i did. surly he could not knocked it out of my hand delibratly and get away with that. I though he should of been out the umpire should of given the runner out from 1st to 2nd as i would of easily got that out. Any comments ?? |
In all honesty, this sounds like something only a replay camera can settle, and that just ain't happening. It's not that I doubt your word, but I don't think this can be solved online. It's a HTBT-with the right angle.
|
Quote:
My reading of your description implies that is the case, but apparently the umpire saw it as lack of control, which means no tag, no outs at all. If the runner then "ran and stood between me and the ball"; the umpire would have to judge that as deliberate and that would be hard to judge versus being confused or thinking he was out, etc. |
So just image for one minute, the umpire saw the player deliberately knock the ball out of my glove, then this would be interference, therefore he would be given out ? Yes ??
would the umpire then judge that i would of also got the runner out at 2nd ? I personally felt that i would of got all three. |
Quote:
|
Is there a rule about runners knocking balls out of gloves, or a rule that cover this incident ?? So i can look it up ???
|
Quote:
Note: the out at 2nd could be because the tagged runner is now out and as a "retired" runner "deliberately" attempted to prevent a double play. The triple play would be a real stretch on the umpire's part. |
As an aside, "would've" does not equal "would of," but rather "would have." Just a pet peeve of mine.
|
As long as we are providing grammar corrections, how about triple play, not tripple play.
It takes a village!!:) |
Come on you guys, ease up. :o
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
If it was SP, a "Ripple" play would have been more apt.
|
Quote:
If runner does this deliberately, then it is interference, and the interference rules apply. "Deliberately" is entirely in the judgement of the umpire. If the runner swipes at your glove with her hand (ala A. Rod.), that's pretty obviously deliberate. But if the runner simply runs hard into the glove with no other motion to dislodge the ball, then it's probably your bad for failing to control the ball during the tag. |
Thanks for getting the thread back on track.
He was a new player and he quite clearly pushed the glove out of the way to stop me tagging him. A big argument kick off after the game about it, between the sides and email have started flying around. I was just looking for some rule to quote to end this argument |
In that case, all you can quote is the rules on interference as mentioned by previous posters. But because they don't explicitly mention that interference includes deliberately knocking the ball out of the glove, the people you're trying to convince may not find this compelling.
On such a play, though, it is entirely the judgement of the umpire that matters, and there are two judgements that need to be made. The first is whether there was interference. If what you described as "he quite clearly pushed the glove out of the way" is accurate (this is very subjective, btw), then it sounds like interference to me. If there was interference, then the second judgement is the likely outcome of the play had there not been interference. In your case, a double play seemed obvious, so if interference had been called, two outs would be the minimum penalty. But a triple play is never as obvious, and the umpire would have to be convinced that such an outcome was likely before giving a three-out penalty for the interference. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55pm. |