![]() |
Double swing
A local travel club is teaching its players to do a funky swing. On a drag bunt, the left handed batter swings early and allows her follow through to come around her back, with the bat switching behind her back from her right hand to her left hand and then tapping the ball for a bunt. This was done successfully on two occassions in an ASA tounament.
(POE 24 addresses this as illegal for ASA. I do not know if it is or is not legal in other organizations.) My question is regarding if this is done on the third strike. My understanding of POE 24 is that if it is done (intentionally) with less than two stikes and batters on base, the batter is out and all runners return. If there are two strikes on the batter, would the batter be out on the third strike and then the runner closest to home also be out. It does not specifically state. It does reference a different rule, which I'm not sure if is the proper reference or a typo on the numbering. |
Quote:
What you described (and I swear we cover this ad nauseum just recently) is designed to strike the ball on the wrap-around of the bat. The batter is not attempting to strike at the pitch on the initial action. It is designed to throw off the infielder's timing be getting them to relax after the initial movement of the bat. What you defined is a head game and nothing more. |
Quote:
Does that not directly address the action in the OP? WMB |
Quote:
That sounds right to me. |
I gotta stand by ole WMB on this one..
This does not seem to me to be a grey area in the rules.. and in fact is exactly the type of batting ASA has ruled against. If that pitcher throws and you swing.. thats a swing and attempt to hit the ball for rules purposes. I dont care that the swing was not made to actually hit the ball. All kinds of swings are made without intent to actually hit the ball.. late swings to protect runners, swings at pitches in the dirt to try to advance on D3K, etc .. and this double swing. This is a swing. RS24 applies. |
Quote:
You state RS 24 applies as fact. Do you know something that WMB does not? ;) |
Quote:
Good luck, please stay away from my tournaments. BTW, I have seen nothing from ASA on this issue in the five years that I have been aware of this "California Drag Bunt" has been seen on the field. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
;) Quote:
It seems pretty clear to me though. Maybe I'd have to see it... dont see this california drag bunt in CA .. at least I havent. |
I know a baton twirler who would probably be pretty good at that...I've seen one-handed drag bunts but not the behind-the-back switch-the-bat bunt.
|
It's not a swing.
There. Yelling it makes me feel better. Mike is right...we did discuss this ad nauseum, and I'm about to be nauseum again. If that means I have to go to Delaware, then so be it.;) |
Quote:
I'm gonna google it up this weekend and maybe see if I can take a looksee at it.. maybe I'll change my mind, especially with mike playing hardball with his umpire slots. I've had my heart set on Delaware since I found out it never gets above 12F and only stops snowing enough to rain. Plus I really enjoy contaminated water and 5 legged dogs. |
Not a swing. Actions in OP are legal. Why is this coming up again - didn't we resolve this recently?
|
Quote:
Back to point, check out page 221 of ASA Umpire Manual. Under the "check swing" is the closest thing I can find to define what ASA believes to be a swing. #2 states "swinging through the ball and bringing or drawing the bat back, unless drawing it back before the pitch gets to the bat. I read this as saying that it IS a swing, but only if the ball was actually there for the bat to strike. |
Quote:
On a 60 mph pitch that reaches the plate in less than a half second, there is no way in hell that a batter can wait until "the ball was actually there for the bat to strike" and swing twice and actually hit the ball. Obviously, the swing has to start early so as to get the bat around a second time. Fact is, the bat swing has to start before the pitch is even released. And if the batter is really good enough to hit the ball on the second swing, ASA says that is illegal - strike on the batter and return base runners. WBM |
Second "swing".... not second time the bat is moved. There is no requirement for the bat to remain stationary before the first swing.
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Preliminary swings are not swings at a pitch. Perhaps WMB has merely been fishing, ...I hope. :cool: |
You guys are offering your personal opinions, but you are missing my point.
WHY did ASA write that sentence? Why did they say "hit the ball on the second swing?" It is impossible to wait for the ball to reach a hitable zone and then swing twice. So what is ASA ruling against? WMB |
Quote:
A possible scenario: Waiting for a fastball the size of a pea, the batter makes an offer, but checks when the batter sees a fall-outa-your-umpire-stance change-up the size of a beachball and recocks and offers a second time. |
Quote:
|
I'm set, pitcher is begining a pitch, catcher is set and she swings.. bringing the bat around and grabbing it with her other hand.
This swing is dismissed as yet another practice swing and the "real" swing is when she bunts. Conceivably the batter could continuously perform this new Delaware Helicopter Swing and never stop swinging once in the box because until the ball is actually hittable, many dont believe its a swing by rule. This may be true by reading the rule book.. because at best it is unclear. I can find no reasonable definition of a swing and any alluding to such would not address swinging before the pitch at least is hittable. But that is a BS method of batting so perhaps ASA needs to address it. Thats the best I can find with a honest reading.. similar to gorilla gold.. ASA has no rule on it. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Do you suggest that the rules must be changed every time someone comes up with a little gimick? I believe most of the confusion comes from people reading too much into situations. |
Quote:
I think ASA should perhaps start by adding "Delaware Helicopter Swing" to the definitions section. (If it was wadeintothem that coined this, kudos.) |
Quote:
This sounds like a metaphor for sports officiating. Varying population densities |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
In between goofing with batter box sizes, changing wording of rules when ASA doesnt want them enforced differently (but word it differently)... I'm thinking the ASA could squeeze in some time to address these "gimmicks" and clarify unclear things. |
Quote:
As far as the hands, ASA also addresses application of a substance to the hands in the same rule. The only thing allowed to be applied is powdered resin. Unless GG is found to be a powdered resin, it is not allowed. AFAIC, the licking of the fingers should be dropped from the rule. There is nothing gained by a pitcher who wets their fingers and goes to the ball without wiping them off. Quote:
Quote:
Yes, sometimes things do not work out and are corrected. It happens and is usually the result of folks on the voting council not paying attention to the suggestion of the staff umpires. They look at the proposal and think it must be a good idea unless someone speaks out against it. Quite often, they just don't realize the repercussions of some proposed changes. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56am. |